Exploring Tokyo - Abstracts & Thoughts on Photography

in #photography7 years ago

abstracttop1.jpg

As a fan of photography I own a number of cameras to aid me in the process of taking pictures and expressing myself in the best possible way. Recently I've been analysing the need for such an extensive collection, thinking about my footprint and how I can make the process more simple, striving to focus on the art of making rather than the equipment itself.

Saying that, there are some benefits to owning various film and digital cameras. I think you can get to know which ones suit you and those that don't, I think I'm on the path now to whittle them down to just two cameras. On my last trip to Japan I lumped around the heavy Pentax LX, a camera that's always been fun to shoot with and has a special place in my heart.

Here are a few from this camera that I took in Tokyo. Yes, they are a blurry and grainy, also abstract in nature, but I like the aesthetic this camera gives off. Whether I will hold on to this camera is another matter, but it will live on in the photographs that I have taken with it. Here's to the future.


sensoji-2

sensoji-3

More from my Travels in Japan:

Exploring Tokyo - A Visit to Sensoji Temple in Asakusa
Exploring Kyoto - Tenryuji Temple & Grounds
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Fushimi Inari Shrine
Exploring Kyoto - A Visit to Japanese Potter Kawai Kanjiro’s House
Exploring Kyoto - Inside Nakamuraken Sweet Shop
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - Climbing Mount Misen
Exploring Miyajima in Japan - The Temple Grounds of Daisho-in
Exploring Miyajima Island in Japan - 500 Rakan Statues at Daisho-in
Capturing Osaka Castle and the Surrounding Area

Please follow me @oen :)

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=oen
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=exploring-tokyo-abstracts-and-thoughts-on-photography


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

I like the second shot in your piece alot.

:)

I used to have a fantastic and very basic Pentax K1000 which I bought when I was 16!

I loved it but some git stole it when we were ransacked and burgled the other year.

:(

These days I just use my phone for ease of performance.

I used to post alot on Instagram but now post my images on Steepshot ~ do you?

Happy snapping.

xox

Hey @ldacey-laforge. I have a Pentax K1000 too! It is so basic but works like a charm. Just check the light meter and snap away. A little heavy but basically the perfect film camera.

Oh, Steepshot? I've not heard of it. Kind of like Steemit for photography? I will investigate 🤔 thanks!

Yeah no finesse with the K1000 but a brilliant piece of kit nonetheless.

Do checkout Steepshot, when you post it automatically syncs with your Steemit account which I can't actually decide whether i like or not!

:)

The good thing is you get upvotes and a little/lot o' cash potentially.

xox

Ah I see. I will try it out. Seems like it might clutter up the blog page a bit, might of been better as a a separate app. Thanks though, see how I get on. :)

M

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66