Butterflies: Map

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

The map (Araschnia levana), landkaartje in Dutch, gets its name from the pattern on its wings:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/320s

This butterfly has two generations per year, and the funny thing is, that these two broods look very different, like two different species. The spring form looks like this:


Olympus Stylus1s, 300mm, ISO200, f5.6, 1/160s

The summer form looks like another butterfly entirely:


Olympus Stylus1s, 300mm, ISO200, f7.1, 1/125s

No wonder these were initially classified as two different species.

If you see one unelegantly hanging from the bottom of nettle leaf, it is probably depositing eggs:


GF, Samsung GT-I9100

They lay eggs on nettles, so if you want to see more of these butterflies, stop treating nettles as unwanted weeds; butterflies are born there.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: Purple Admiral.

Sort:  

Great photos, as well as an interesting read about their two distinct colors. I totally get why people would think they were two different species!

if you want to see more of these butterflies, stop treating nettles as unwanted weeds

It's also a great herb to use for salads, or soup, of you remember to bring some thick gloves before picking them.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.21
Server time: 10:18:40
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 245.57/400.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 14
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You have an amazing photo on your portfolio! I'm very impressive! Color, deph of field, composition and sharpness is perfect! I'm fan!

Butterflies with its amazing colours,, this is beautiful

Beautyful photography thanks for sharing... .

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 12 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Thats so kind of you.

Thanks so much for the information quite interesting.

Beautiful butterflies, only just spotted the one in the bottom photo!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61334.44
ETH 2694.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50