Butterflies: Purple Admiral

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

The purple admiral (Apatura iris), grote weerschijnvlinder in Dutch, is rare in The Netherlands, but more common in Central Europe and some parts of Asia. It is relatively large, with a wingspan of about 75mm (3").

These butterflies live high up in the canopies of oak trees, like the purple hairstreak does, the difference being that the purple admiral inconveniently picks very tall oak trees, where they feed on tree sap and honeydew secreted by aphids.

I haven't ventured up these high oak trees for photos, sorry about that, but fortunately these butterflies sometimes come down to forage on the forest floor and roads, as they also feed on dung, urine and animal carcasses. Not cute, but at least you can photograph them then, although the background usually isn't the most attractive.

Over the years I managed to get two photos of this butterfly, both with the right angle to show the blue sheen on the wings the males have:


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f5.6, 1/80s


Olympus XZ-1, 112mm, ISO100, f8, 1/125s

These photos were taken near the Aamsveen, a peat bog in the east of The Netherlands.

Thanks for watching!

Previous in series: White Admiral.

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #animalphotography

You have earned 6.00 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.20
Server time: 09:47:34
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 232.52/400.00
Total Photos: 32
Total comments: 13
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This really is a dream! Fantastic shot, beautiful colors! congratulations, my dear friend ocrdu !!!

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 11 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Photografhy the best

So pretty, I love the purple colours on its wing!

From most angles, they are just brown. Funny stuff.

Yeah! So beautiful, its iridescent!

It's wonderful to see that you are such a passionate photographer and show enthusiasm for all kinds of insects! :)
Insects are especially interesting to me, for in my next life time the planet I'll be born onto will be full of plants and insects, the latter of which are going to be much bigger in size:-) in the dream state I have been travelling there quite often already and I encountered a "normal" fly which was about as big as one hand. Every thought, interest or passion is a result of our Soul's history in the Time-Space continuum.
Thanks for your beautiful photos! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59700.98
ETH 2415.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43