Discovering Croatia #2 - Visiting Rastoke Waterfalls - MyPictureDay Submission

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

You’ve probably heard about the Plitvice Lakes National Park in Croatia. Well, you could consider Rastoke as a warm up for Plitvice. It’s close to Plitvice, smaller but equally beautiful.

It is a place located on the suburb of the town Slunj. It features a crossing point of rivers Slunjcica and Korana. The root word of the name Rastoke is “rastociti”. Translated to English, that should be “to dissolve”.

So, what’s being dissolved here is a series of small waterfalls and streams, and all of this is happening around houses. Most of these are guest rent houses and apartments, so if you want, you can spend a couple of days here, listening to the constant hum of flowing water.

Inside the village, there’s a restaurant which has it’s own miniature trout farm. If you are into freshwater fish, it doesn’t get any fresher than this…

I went for a road trip with my family to visit the place and I made a couple of shots which you can check out below.

I used my Nikon D750 with the Samyang f1.4 / 24mm prime lens. Fantastic lens by the way...
I also used ND8 filter and a CPL for the long exposure shots.

Typical sight within the village…
20180414-_NKE3826.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 50 / 2.5s / f22 / Samyang 24mm f1.4 (Also used ND8 + CPL filters)

Same spot from a slightly different angle...
20180414-_NKE3832.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 50 / 2s / f22 / Samyang 24mm f1.4 (Also used ND8 + CPL filters)

You can see here how the water flows in between the houses. On this one I made a different edit which I think suits more the atmosphere of the picture, with these old houses in the background…
20180414-_NKE3839-Edit.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 50 / 3s / f22 / Samyang 24mm f1.4 (Also used ND8 + CPL filters)

Would you mind having your coffee here?
20180414-_NKE3775.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 100 / 1/200s / f5.6 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

The old watermill… And another good example of how streams and houses coexist in this place…
20180414-_NKE3779.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 100 / 1/400s / f5.6 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

That was a day well spent...
I hope you like it and I give you my regards with these two :)
20180414-_NKE3820.jpg
Nikon D750 / ISO 100 / 1/200s / f5.6 / Samyang 24mm f1.4

Cheers,
Nino.

Sort:  

Legit!! I'm liking the waterfall stuff.
BTW how far away do you live from Belgrade? I may be there next month

A bit too far for one day trip and I doubt I would be able to combine to visit Belgrade for a couple of days... Job, family, etc...
However, if you happen to be somewhere closer, make sure to let me know. I am from Rijeka, Croatia…

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

Postingan yang sangat bagus.dan juga komentar yang sangat mengagumkan saya.vote balik kawan ya

You got a 2.13% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @nkera!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 1.83% upvote!
I was summoned by @nkera. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...


woosh

A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.


Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

This post has received a 2.97 % upvote from @boomerang.

Beautiful pictures, also the long exposure filters brings the whole beauty out of the waterfalls. I have never been in Croatia but lately I am seeing a lot of nice place that one day I would like to visit.

Croatia is a beautiful country. People mostly visit the coast during the summer holidays, but the continental part has it's fair share of wonders also.
Thank you for your comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31