Hey guys, I'm Nick Tribuno and I followed a dream when people told me I couldn't.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

File Jul 03, 8 33 32 PM.jpeg

Growing up in a tourist town usually means at some point in your life, you’ll more than likely find yourself working at a restaurant. With that said, I ended up getting my first job at 14 bussing tables. At that point in my life I had no idea what I wanted to do as a career and college was quickly approaching. Senior year of high school, I came across my dad’s old portfolio and became interested in photography. That was all well and good, but everyone told me I couldn’t make a living off it and I should have a back up plan. It was now 2012 and I found myself at a community college while still working at a restaurant, trying to take photos whenever I could and still didn't have a clue what I wanted to do. I had always liked the idea of traveling and one day thought it’d be cool to travel around the country with a camera and document everything. I forget what I was searching for, but I came across a page online where people were converting work vans into small campers. That idea intrigued me very much and now I had a goal. Over the next several years, I continued working at a restaurant, bussing tables and cooking with the hopes of one day having enough money saved to get a van of my own. In 2015 I finally had enough money saved and headed to the dealership ready to trade in my paid off sports car for a work van and a car payment. After getting the Ford Transit, I spent the next year or so still working at a restaurant, taking photos when I could and selling some of my work at shows hosted by local businesses. I can’t even remember what happened, but one day while at work I got mad and said to myself, now or never and told my boss when my last day would be. About 4 days after my last day, I left Maryland by myself with a few hundred dollars, some clothes, a month supply of food and a lot of camera equipment and told myself I would never work for someone again and that this was what I'd be doing for the rest of my life. Here I am almost a year later and shooting photos and now video full time and loving every minute of it. Sure I'm not a millionaire, but I have a million stories about the places I've been, the people I've met and dumb dangerous situations I've put myself into. I guess really what I'm trying to say, is that you can do whatever you put your mind to and work hard at it because trust me, one day it's going to pay off.

Feel free to watch the video below to see what my past year has looked like.

If you'd like to check out some of my work, feel free to click the link below and if you want to see any more of my work feel free to follow along on instagram @nicktribuno

http://www.nicktribuno.com

Sort:  

Hello @Nicktribuno!! Glad to see more people like you - here joining steemit! Becoming a steamian is a great adventure! Here you can win money while bloging! At the beginning it wouldn't be easy, but it isn't impossible. So just write from your heart and everything will be allright. Wish you much luck! Greetings, @khunpoom!

Welcome to Steem @nicktribuno I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Inspiring story, Nick! Sounds like you've been on a lot of adventures and, like you said, you probably have millions of stories to share. I'd like to hear more about your travels. I'll follow you. Welcome and good luck in this new journey or in all of the many journeys ahead. Cheers

Thank you so much, looking forward to sharing some of my adventures on here!

"And told myself I would never work for someone again and that this was what I'd be doing for the rest of my life." BOOM. That resonates like crazy. This too is my standard/commitment! Great writing!

Welcome! Followed. Follow me back 😘

Welcome to Steemit, @nicktribuno!

Hope you enjoy being here!

This message was written by my introduceyourself bot, but I'm a real user :)

Shall you have any questions, feel free to reply to me. I'll gladly answer your questions :)

You can also go to https://steemit.chat and chat with the Steemit Community over there!

Welcome @nicktribuno !! hope you enjoy here as much as i do ! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @mekong

Welcome to Steemit @nicktribuno!
I'm a bot-helper, and I'm created to help. Congratulations on the registration on Steem - you really like it here! If you like me, make an upvote of my comment and follow me. Your upvote will allow you to give more money to new users, such as you. Let's make Steem better together!
I follow you, and to get more upvote and resteem - follow me!
All the money I earn will be donated to charity.
Steem on!

Welcome and Thank You for being with us!! Following your Blog now

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89