myday #25 - Taking Photos of People From Above

in #photography7 years ago

2017_0624_10473700.jpg

I was in Adelaide yesterday walking the streets with a friend after we had decided to meet up for a photo shoot. It was my second time in the musical city and I was keen to hear what the place had to offer from a local’s point of view.

2017_0624_13032300.jpg

We met at the lobby of the hotel and decided to walk to Rundle Street Mall, a historic street that was the first place in Australia to have powered lighting. Passing through the heritage mall we immediately went to the top level to capture the view.

2017_0624_10363500.jpg

The above balcony looking down proved to be the perfect vantage point as I watched people read their papers and magazines while enjoying their coffee and a late breakfast. This was the perfect opportunity for a new photo series.

2017_0624_10384300.jpg

2017_0624_10501500.jpg

2017_0624_10472500.jpg

All photographs taken by me
Captured using the medium format Fujifilm GFX 50S and GF110mmF2 lens.

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens._

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Recommended Reading

Sort:  

No problemo. Thanks for commenting!

Beautiful pictures with beautiful people. 😁 Thanks for sharing with us.

I appreciate your kind words @globalfoodbook! Thanks for commenting!

It is my pleasure 🤓

Unusual angles are always interesting @myday, upvoted & resteemed.

Thank you as always @photo-trail! I appreciate the upvote and resteem!

these are just perfect images....great job

Why thank you @shemabukhari! That's a lovely comment!

i really loved this perspective

Nice work! Those looking below shots are so well framed!

Thank you @chrissymchavez. The focal length of the lens certainly helped me get close enough :)

What kind of lens was that?

I used the Fujifilm GFX 50S with GF110mm lens.

oh duh you said that in your post didn't you lol anyway, great shots! thanks for sharing!
I can't wait to get myself a telephoto! (or something a bit more powerful than the 16-50 I'm rocking now

Yeah a longer lens does change the game, I'm thinking you might have the XC 16-50mm, if thats the case check out the XC 50-230mm or more expensive XF 55-200mm.

I'm actually using a Sony kit, but yeah a 200mm is something I have my eye on!

Thank you @photooftheday. I'm a huge fan of your photos too!

Really nice photos! I especially like the one with the oranges because of the strong orange colour. Good contrast.

Thanks @eamyvz! I was debating to make the one with the oranges the leading image... now that you have commented I think I should have!

Oh these shots reminded me when I was attending this Panda Toys Tour Fest for panda survival awareness. I also shot mostly from the second floor.
Will need to look through to archives to show case later! That was the first time I tried out my D90 after acquiring it.
upvoted

Thanks @littlenewthings! Hopefully I see them one day :)

I like the one with the oranges the best and also enjoy doing over head shots! My favorite to date is from a crane above a building while they're finishing concrete! How do you like your med format Fuji?

Thanks for your comment @timelapse. The photo you described sounds incredible!! Loving the medium format. It is exactly like the X-T2: but the files are stunning!


Recommended Reading
myday - #31 Exploring Perth

I can imagine - last time I had a medium format was the Mamiya 645AFD... big slow beast, but amazing results.

Haha yeah I have shot with that camera as well. The GFX is super fast compared with that!

awesome my friend!

you welcome, check out my post, I hope you like it

I certainly will. Thanks for the invitation :)

thanks! and check out my brother's first post @realitylvn he is really talented, I kept nagging him to come here and post, he has a pretty good following in Instagram.

He is quite talented. Thanks for mentionong him.

thank you for taking the time to check his post, people like you make this place awesome.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63209.62
ETH 2570.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76