myday #21 - 114℉ in Australia + A Dusty Vehicle = One Epic Journey - Part TwosteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago

Tom Price Railway Road 006.jpg

I felt like I was the master at the wheel, the captain at the controller. I had previously passed my Heavy Rigid vechile licence so I could drive buses, trucks and the like, so I felt like a highly competent driver in this punishing terrain.

Tom Price Railway Road 002.jpg

Off the sealed road the gravel tracks were tough with rough corrugations designed to break any car not equipped with four wheel drive and a comforting suspension. My gaze was occassionally drawn to the empty discarded wrecks unable to withstand the scorching Pilbara conditions, my unforgiving engine showed no mercy, propelling me past the silent metal graveyards. The road was long, dusty and the journey to Karijini was becoming tiresome.

old-car-004-2.jpg

My destination felt like it was at the end of a out of control treadmill. I needed to stop and stretch. Fortunately the landscape had changed and the photographer inside of me kicked into gear.

Tom Price Railway Road 009.jpg

I pulled off the road to disembark in an unused gravel pit. It was situated next to a blacked set of tarnished railway tracks. The red rocky hills around me formed a valley with train tracks meandering through the lower contours. Spinifex, the prickly shrub of the Pilbara was abundant and could be seen as far as the eye could see. Without hesitation I knew I needed a higher vantage point. I had in my mind to capture a sprawling train, filled with rich iron ore, chugging its way through the north of Western Australia.

I started to assend with a camera and a set of filters in hand. My mission was to get to the top.

Fighting my way through loose rock and spiny spinifex I gravitated toward the top, finishing in shadow of the large martian hill. The rocks here were bareable as a place of rest, on the other side they were like a hot pan waiting for a fried egg. I could take my time here and wait for a train to fall into my composition.

Tom Price Railway Road 005.jpg

Tom Price Railway Road 006.jpg

Around thirty minutes later the distant rumbled filled the horizon. The locomotion along with it 100 or so carriages were coming into the picture. I had planned the shot and all I needed to do now was complete it.

Tom Price Railway Road 007.jpg

After the rest stop was over I climbed back into my vechile and continued my outback adventure. Before I knew it I was stopping all over the place like a good hop scotch game with rewards at every mile. The colours of the north intreged my inner artist. Rich blood reds, burnt yellows and flurecent oranges were a delight to my colour blind eyes. The sun had truly influenced the pallet here and it was my turn to be the painter.

Tom Price Railway Road 003.jpg

Tom Price Railway Road 001.jpg

Tom Price Railway Road 004.jpg

Eventually I did arrive at Karijini, my home for the night where exploring its beauty would overcome my memory card with its detail and natural wonder, but don't worry you will get to see and experience this ancient world in part 3…. to be continued…. ;)

All photographs were captured by me.

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens._

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace - @photooftheday then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

Your truly a road master, you have fun traveling long distance. I love the pictures and the way you presented your trip experience. good job, keep it coming.

Thank you @hynet. Yes the drive was certainly a long one to get to the final destination. I feel like I didn't do the landscape the photographic justice it truly deserves. I will have to go back one day.

Okay, your welcome

awesome
you doing great by sharing this....keep it flowing

Another great post @myday! I like the rusty orange colors in your photos!

Thank you @kotturinn! I'm glad you enjoyed reading it!

Awesomeness! , man so jealous, those oranges must be so nice once the sun start going down to contrast with the blue sky.

Yeah they are. They actually have signs by the side of the road warning drivers not to look at the sun during sunset because it's so bright!

man, Australia, when even the Sun tries to kill you.....

Yep it's a deadly place!!

Great Post My Friend!
You Capture Amazing Photographs.

Wow.... I never get the chance to travel that extent in Australia so these are really eye opening shots! Thank you so much for showcasing to us who might never have a chance to see it with our bare eyes.
upvoted

Thank you @littlenewthings. I will be sharing the final part of their series in a few hours :)

Are you on Shutterstock? I have a small portfolio. Its a little bit of extra cash- you might like it too- your pics are good
https://www.shutterstock.com/g/chrisdouglas123?language=en

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46