myday #19 - 114℉ in Australia + A Dusty Vehicle = One Epic Journey - Part OnesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

The smell of petrol in a hired four-wheel drive is an instant reminder to me that an open road is a place for exploring. Here at @myday, I'm not afraid to go on the odd adventure, and this time it was to the north-west of Australia.

_DF_8208.jpg

When you arrive and hire a vehicle from 'Budget', in the north, the first thing you will notice is the copious amounts of red dust stuck to it. The fine red dust gets everywhere! I was even expecting to see a cloud of red dust arise from the seat when I sat in it, fortunately though, at the hire company they figured out a way to clean the seats!

_DF_8363.jpg

Turning the keys on the wreck for a better turn, coughed the engine into life. I was finally on the road.

The parched long stretches of straight highway basked in the burning sun through my cracked windscreen. The distant horizon appeared as a stormy sea, covered in a mirage of hope.

_DF_8379.jpg

My journey was going to be a long one, so I prepared myself for my zombie state at the wheel. I wanted to get to my destination as fast as I legally could before the kangaroos, cows, bulls and camels decided that the open road was a better place for them than the outback. Hours past and I thought to myself; this isn't a place where I wanted to break down. Maybe I should have got the upgrade vehicle!

_DF_8219.jpg

Having done some research, I knew where I wanted to go - I was off to Karijini a place filled with gorges and wildlife that drove photographers like me mad. The local flora and fauna were uniquely Australian; it was an oasis. It was just like being at a water trough I passed, expect natural and much much much bigger :)

Little Corella 020.jpg

Part one was just getting there, and these were my views.

With temperatures exceeding 114℉ (45℃) I knew Australia was outside of the dusty air-conditioned comfort of the 4WD. By the looks of the roadside, it was clear to see that either lack of water or a truck took the life of this one.

_DF_8215.jpg

_DF_8211.jpg

Passing on a bit further I noticed a creek, that seemed to have a bit of water in it. Stopping to take a break, stretch and observe the surrounds I was perplexed to witness an old car in a tree. What? I thought. How the hell? Then I quickly remember this area was prone to flash flooding something that devastated the area and the roads!

_DF_8355.jpg

_DF_8354.jpg

I had to pull out my camera and take a photo. Call it what you want, but I like to think of the scene as rural art!

_DF_8353.jpg

Eventually, I arrived at the next town before having to stop and take a short test at the tourist centre. The test was the same one the local miners took before they could assess a short cut road which the mines operated on. It took me through what to do when an oncoming car was coming, how not to roll your car on a gravel road and a bunch of other no-brainer general knowledge questions.

I passed the test with flying colours and then continued on my journey to Karijini. To be continued...

All photographs were taken by me.

Are you a photographer or a traveller like me?
Use #myday to share your posts and let's see where this goes!

LeighandGrace002.png

I'm Leigh, from Sydney Australia and through @steemit I'm seeing what its like to explore @myday. Not in any particular order, or particular time frame but just parts of @myday through my eyes and sometimes the cameras lens._

If you are interested in reading about myself and my beautiful partner Grace then have a read of myday #0 where everything is explained. If you enjoyed reading this post I welcome you to upvote this article and follow me. Please drop me a comment as I would love to hear from you!

Sort:  

Very interesting. I look forward to hearing the rest of the story. Great job leaving me wanting more.

Haha, yeah not a huge cliff hanger but hopefully enough to keep people wondering what the next photos will be.

Very nice Thank you

I'm glad you enjoyed it @nezaigor.

yes. Cool pictures

Hey thanks @neaigor. I'm glad you stopped by and commented. Hope you like Part 2 tomorrow!

Really solid post dude, pictures are amazing :) I especially like the "rural art" :)

Cheers #the-sassy-owl. i apperciate your comment. I just wish I didn't forget my circular polariser as I lost some of the sky in a few images. Thanks for stopping by!

looks like a roadkill...and you see more death kangaroos along the road then live ones.....
.....very nice pics anyway......sorry didnt want to sound rude.....just me remembering of the pilbara.....driving up and down from PH to Newman..on the highway....along the railway....

Not rude at all! Driving that road is long and can certainly be an interesting one for many photographers. For me I was always looking up at the sky looking for birds of prey to photograph!

it is a very interesting area..i loved it..very unique.....but when i worked there,its always the same and you dont have always the time and power to stop and make pictures....which i somehow regret now....i have some and will share......one day.....lol....

btw...why not come and join TEAMAUSTRALIA?sorry forgot it to mention before.....im just a human.....lol...

Thanks for the invite @urs. I have no idea how to join. It's my first week here in steemit.

...ha im red in my face now....you got me....i think you read my post from today about team AUS,then you know the basics...sort of.....
our official lady is:
https://steemit.com/teamaustralia/@choogirl/introducing-team-australia-s-new-executive-manager-for-member-recruitment-me

you can have a look there too...just join us,support us and help us grow together....and have fun with us..

cheers

Urs

I'll check it out! Thanks for sharing :)

no worries mate...cu then on teamaustralia

You will. I'll have some spare time tomorrow to go through it.

too pity that a big bull or cow like that left like that. but that is life isn't it.

45C is really hot. had experienced that once or twice and made my head spinning

It is a shame @ekavieka. It certainly does get hot in that part of the world. Sun protection is a must!

i never know that Australia can be that hot.

Trust me it gets hotter in some parts!

ouch. . if only i have a chance, i will choose a cooler part of australia. 😃

Really nice post mate ! Beautiful pics and interesting explanation. What better ?!
Upvoted & Followed ;)

@mazar thanks for your comment, the upvote and follow!

Great photos of your road trip!! I want badly to go to Australia to see how Acacia dealbata and others grow in its natural environment (as they are aggressive invasives here). I think that is in the South, anyway I'm happy now to know a bit more of NW Australia :)

Thank you @liliana.duarte. I'm going to have to look that species up! Thanks for reading this post!

Your photos are always very appealing to my eye :)

Thanks @liliana.duarte I have the better set hopefully posting in the next 12 hours! Part two is on its way :) Thanks for dropping a comment :)

wow, looks hardcore to travel over there.

It can be and the other thing I forgot to mention was the crazy expensive fuel prices!

Hi im interestet on some Pics of Australia like the Aborigines!

Me too! I'll try my best!

If you haven't Register your membership , please do so.

This post have been Prove Read , Upvoted & Manual Curated.
Thanks for using #whalepower Tag and share with the Whale Power Community, Upvote , Reblogged , comment when ever you can.
Curated By @paul-gillbanks for #whalepower Tag
Founder @bullionstackers
Latest Blog – Please Click to Read

Thanks @paul-gillbanks! I'm travelling at the moment but will certainly do this!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60209.45
ETH 3212.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43