Simple Lifestyle in Valizas, Uruguay | Would you live there?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Goooood morning readers! How are you? In between my long story telling posts I'd like to bring questions.


Since I've started traveling I feel more and more hooked to a simple and sustainable lifestyle - I'm yet to find where and how, but it's getting closer to become real for me.

It doesn't mean I want to relegate comfort and technology at all. However, I do feel strange looking arount in my flat and realising most of the stuff I have I don't even use or touch, they are there... gathering dust. My living room? I can count how many times I stay there doing something, normally it's just another space. I'm sure I could live in a more compact and cozy area, and you?

As an engineer I also feel like pursuing a more sustainable and innovative way to live, less dependent of a provider system; I could generate my own electricity, or collect water, or find better ways to have clean fresh food. Sounds easy, but in reality it's a challenge.

This photo was taken in Valizas, Uruguay, and I believe it summarizes the idea of a simplistic and happy lifestyle by the beach.

Valizas is a simple 400 inhabitants village, with predominance of young couples who raise their young children and dogs in the midle of nature and in direct contact with land and water. Isn't it so simple? Would you live there?

Simple Lifestyle - Valizas, Uruguay.


books
Click image to enlarge!

Would you relegate a city life to live in there? Drop a message down below, I'd love to hear you.

If you liked this post, please, consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

Bedside Books: Sharing Knowledge Through Fun Contests

Brazil - Bicycle Lane For What?

Monday Morning Quote: "The most fantastic things in life are on the other side of fear."

Mighty Steem Explorer Game! Discover the Location & Win the SBD

[Blog #12] Beautiful Cycling Day | Who brings a sofa to the trail?

A proud member of:

Sort:  

Where can i sign up? 😉

But in all seriousness, even though the thought is romantic, I probably wouldn't survive a whole week. These people really live on the brink of survival; something many people nowadays cannot even comprehend.

But I feel like for humanity to have a future, we need to find that middle ground in between comfort and sustainability.

These people really live on the brink of survival; something many people nowadays cannot even comprehend.

Yeah, in more extreme cases it's true and I wouldn't live like that too!
I guess the grand majority of people in my city would just die by not knowing how to cook in case of a catastrophe hahaaaha
Have you seen the trucker's strike in Brazil? A lot of people freaking out because there was no gasoline... which is not even that important for general public.

That's why I've left mechanical engineering life, I see things though a more sustainable point of view - where products go through a complete life cicle, returning to raw material. Doesn't work all that well. The guys want production and in some cases, if that means hurting nature, then hurt nature.

Slowly things are changing over here with adoption of wind turbines, but it's not enough to overcome the usage of thermal for example. A lot to be learnt from the old continent -Europe.

That's why I've been dreaming about living in a sailboat. It's a place where I can optimize space and storage; it's sustainable and relatively clean to move; it's not full time connected to the system (that is expensive and dirt to run).

uff, long text. Thanks for bringing that topic to the comments @lakesnmountains

Man, you're putting more effort into your comments than many people here seem to put into their posts... 🙂

What should I write now to make it even? 😀

I actually tend to get upset thinking about suistainability and the future of humankind. On one hand, there are so many great people who really want to make a change; but then I think that as long as we have things like corrupt politicians, nationalist movements and religion-based conflicts, this species is going nowhere except towards its own downfall.

See? I'm getting upset again. 🙄

I do agree with you when it comes to politics and conflicts - what could we do to solve it, possibly not much.

However, we can do our best to think on a more sustainable lifestyle, and actually try it out. We can also spread the word, specially to the kids... they are the ones to change this world.
I had a friend ask me the other day "Why would I share sustainability on social media? Most of the people I know don't care" - But if at least one gets curious, then it's one small win.

Guess I'll share with you some sadness. What makes me sad is telling you all this, when in reality I'm the one stuck in a completely not sustainable appartment - no solar pannels, no rain water colectors, no LED lights.

It's a good idea. Maybe you should buy a van too, using solar cells and an something to save the rain water... .
I'm tired of living in a big city... it's noisy, crowded, air pollution, light pollution. Many of my friends, (as a result of living in a big city) haven't seen the milky way with their own eyes. Just imagine that...

Nice shot using Nikon D7100. well done.

Hello there @sina-adventure, a pleasure having you here.

With our gas prices going to the moon? I'm not touching a van any time soon hahhahaha I'm more into a sailboat life for now. Let's see what life brings on when I get to Paraty this year.

You see the gigantic difference it makes from the cheap Samsung? Guess I'll have to negotiate the camera with my brother.

thanks a bunch

instead you don't need to pay for electricity or water. It might worth it, in fact, as an engineer, you should find a way to make it profitable. :)

Yeah... much better even in day light.

Yeah, off the grid is the way! Just need to put in a paper all the costs of a van x boat.
I'm pretty sure a van is less expensive to maintain if something breaks, but again, gas costs are to high over here, and it's inevitable. In a boat however, you just need the wind and occarional diesel for the engine.

Sign me up!

Since I've started traveling I feel more and more hooked to a simple and sustainable lifestyle - I'm yet to find where and how, but it's getting closer to become real for me.

Travel taught me to live simpler and more sustainable. Staying in one place tend to make me consume too much stuff I don't really need. Meanwhile, during my travel suddenly I consume enough stuff (food and even entertainment), nothing excessive.

I am fed up with skyscapper lifestyle. I think that people here sometime forget they are blessed with natural resources and beautiful landscapes. They destroy it all to provide housings and useless park made of concrete semen instead trees. I really want to live somewhere simple, away from pollution and traffic jam.

Sorry if it took me so long to answear your lovely comment @macchiata, life's been kinda busy.

I agree with you and I'm also fed up with this modern "parks". They are building a new neighborhood in my city where they claim to be "modern", yet I don't see any projects turned to sustainability - Solar panels? Rain water collectors? Nope, haven't seen.

So why calling it modern? Just because it has some curves and glass windows? Pfff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62568.36
ETH 3010.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89