Photo Series #67: Lighthouse | Trying to Learn Editing | B&W

in #photography6 years ago

Goooood day readers! How are you? Today I've decided to play around with Photoshop.


So.. I've decided that if I wanna document all the lighthouses on the coast, I better learn photography. I'm not a professional and I'm not even close to it, all I do is to try to take a good photo using different settings on my 'point and shoot' camera. Shhhhh don't tell them this one was taken with my brother's master blaster Nikon D7100

Anyway... this time I took some time to experiment with Photoshop. It's so exciting to discover all the functions by trial and error, see what works and what doesn't work, using tools that are meant for other things but that you can adapt to make that effect you pictured in your head. This is what I did with this photograph.

Note that I have posted this photo before, however this time it's here with a little bit of work on it. I think it turned out super cool.

Cabo Polonio Lighthouse


farol
Click image to enlarge!

So... what I did here was quite simple actually. I took the original photo and turned it into Black and White using Photoshop, then I played around with the colors to make it look like the way I wanted.

After that I thought - how cool it would be if I could emulate light on it. My solution was to improvise. I found a nice tool to make Flash effects, so I placed it where the light should be, then I placed another on on top of it, then another one, until it got the way I've imagined it.

To finish it all I removed some elements that were kinda ugly, if you comapare the two you'll notice, it's subtlee though.

I'm a true believer of improvisation, if it works, then it works...

What do you, the master blaster professional photographers think? Please, sincere opinion

Original Photo


farol
Click image to enlarge!

I hope you've enjoyed this photo series. If you liked it, consider giving your upvote for a hot coffee.

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer:  The author of this post is a convict broken backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

You may also want to read:

19th Century Shipwreck Story | Prince of Wales | Tension Between Brazil and UK

Discovering Lighthouses | Photography | Share Yours Down Below

Photo Series #66: Itaimbezinho Canyon | Brazil | Would you step there?

Travel Story: 10 Hours Boat Trip to Chiloé - Chile

Photo Series #65: Feeling Like An Old Nail

A proud member of:

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-23T17:53:30
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 551.61/800.00
Total Photos: 62
Total comments: 48
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

That light is super cool! The tree to the left is so creepy looking!!!

Awesome, thanks Flo. It looks kinda 'dead' in there, right? hahahaha

Hi! I liked Your experiment! It looks very original, but the most interesting thing is that it has a very unusual effect for me. I think it's a mockup. It's like a replica of a real lighthouse. It's like it's made of cardboard. I liked the effect of the light on the lighthouse. I would also like to try to play with this effect.

Heyho @madlenfox thanks a bunch for the feedback!

I like to try crazy things, I didn't know how to make a light effect, so I found that 'flash' effect and used it instead, a bunch of them one on top of the other. However I do want to learn photography, without major editing.

good job .... photoshop too complicated for my old and tired brain. Come, Come now .... where is the next "Where is this thing" competition.

Hey thanks @themagus!
Photoshop is pretty easy, get the basics on how to open a photo, then run through the tools and press the ones you think are cool: If it doesn't explode, check what happens. HAHAHAH
That's how I learn.

As for the pirates, they are sailing now. Will arrive somewhere on Sunday.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66278.74
ETH 3072.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68