Snow in Australia?

in #photography7 years ago

Did you know that it snows in Australia. Many people I've spoken to from overseas are unaware of this. The holiday brochures like to entice people with Australia's reputation for sunshine, blue skies, tropical beaches, and outback deserts. But Australia is a big country with many climate zones. Here in Tasmania (the island underneath Australia which is missing on many maps) spring has arrived and so has an antarctic blast from the south bringing snowfalls down as low as 100 metres asl. In fact, in the time I've lived here, it has usually been September and October (spring here) that has brought the lowest level snowfalls. The Bureau of Meteorology predicts more of the same for the next few days.

This morning I rugged up and ventured out to take a few photos.

( All photos, videos, and text on this blog are by @mostly.nature )

The first four shots were taken at the old mining town of Waratah.
Waratah Tas Snow n2 2017-09-05.jpg

Waratah Tas Snow n1 2017-09-05.jpg

Waratah Tas Snow n3 2017-09-05.jpg

Waratah Tas Snow n4 2017-09-05.jpg

...and this one was taken at Highclare just south of Burnie on the north-west coast.
Highclere Tas Snow 2017-09-05.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, please consider upvoting, commenting , following or resteeming. Thank you!

HR


Binalong Bay (Bay of Fires)

The Old Waratah Post Office

The Shy and Camouflaged Bassian Thrush

Can You See What is Odd About This Bird?

Sort:  

Nice photos thanks for sharing

Wow, I didn't know you got that much snow.

Well Tasmania is pretty far south. However from southern Queensland down through New South Wales, Victoria, and Tasmania it will snow.Further north, only in the mountains but down here it can snow at sea level on occassion.

I didn't know that you got snow. I don't know whether I should be happy or sorry for you! I came from the frozen north so I probably have a different view of snow. lol Nice photos.

I enjoy a bit of snow although I did see plenty of it when I lived in the north of Scotland :-)

Snow in Australia? :o
What a strange country... So when the spring comes and turns to summer you get snow?

Up in the high country it snows often throughout winter but for some reason snow at lower elevations seems to be more common in late winter and early spring. (that's been my own experience in the last eleven years at least)

At least you get to see snow :D Not a snowflake where I am now...

I did know it snowed... although not near sea level; friend of mine lived in Jindabyne NSW for a few years and they'd get a dusting or two in the winter, but that's at 900m.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66011.09
ETH 3480.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.17