PhotoDiary-8, The Colorful People of India – Individuals (Images and Reality)

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Almost all the subjects in the photos below are from the lower classes of Indian society. Wherever you travel in that vast country, these are the people you will see most often. (As I will clarify below, about 80% of India’s population consists of the lower classes, owing to the country’s caste system and its great wealth gap.)   

The population of India comprises a very diverse mix of people. It includes over 2,000  ethnic groups speaking hundreds of different languages and following a number of different religions. There really is no other nation that has the range of ethnic and cultural diversity that India has.  

India’s Massive Income Disparity 

But none of the aforementioned differences in Indian society compare to the nation’s massive wealth gap. The disparity in wealth and income is the major distinction in Indian society. In terms of Gini Coefficient (a measure of the wealth distribution among a country’s residents), India ranks 135th, far below China, Russia, and Brazil, and even below the Philippines and Vietnam. And just above 136th place Cambodia. 

In terms of income, the top 20% of Indians (Quintile 5, in the below graph) account for close to 45% of all aggregate household disposable income in the country. On the other hand, the bottom 80% (Quintiles 1–4) earn only 55% of that total.   

So while the top 20% accounts for close to half of all disposable income, the share of income for the next quintile (61%–80%) is suddenly cut in half, meaning that they account for only 22.1% of the income. And the bottom 3 quintiles (1%–60%) earn the remaining 33% of household income.  Without a doubt, that leaves only meager incomes for those on the lower parts of the scale.  

Essentially, the few people at the top have plenty of money. The many (indeed, very many – over 1 billion people) have much less. As we go down the scale, the number of people increases, while the amount of wealth decreases – exponentially, in both cases.

No Middle Class 

When travelling the country, and when walking about on the hot, noisy, and dusty streets, you will not see many of the top 20% of Indians – that is, the white-collar, English-educated elite. Those fortunate few are comfortably ensconced in their tall condos, or in their large, 3-storey, air-conditioned homes, or else riding in their air-conditioned cars on the way to the nation’s new, air-conditioned malls or office buildings.    

Essentially there is no middle class – at least, nothing like the middle classes in Europe, North America, and other developed nations. If any Indian claims to be from the middle class, he’s probably ranked somewhere in the top 80%–95%. And he can conceivably be grouped with the wealthy 5% above him as part of the elite. He may call himself “middle class,” but he lives in comfort, and has a cook, a cleaning lady, and someone to wash his car every morning. That’s really not middle class. In any other society, it’s close to upper class.   

Some will say that India’s “middle class” comprises the uneducated, primarily rural population. But again, that is not really how one normally defines middle class. So, it’s reasonable to say that India consists of an elite comprising the top 20%, while the bottom 80% consists of a massive underclasses. With no middle class to be found anywhere. 

Caste System ­– Perpetuated by Who? Whom? Humans. 

To a large extent, the vast income inequality that separates Indians from each other is based on the caste system. Anyone born in India is immediately ranked in the caste of his parents and his other progenitors, and nothing he ever does will change his position in society.    

There are four main castes. The highest and most dominant is the priestly Brahmin caste, while the lowest is the Shudra class of laborers. Within those four major castes there are many sub-castes. As indicated above, you cannot escape the caste that you were born into; if you were born into a Shudra sub-caste of street-sweepers, then it’s pretty certain that you too will be a street-sweeper.   

This discriminatory system has its roots in ancient Hinduism, and consequently, today’s Hindu majority is often criticized for perpetuating the discrimination (practically, if not officially). But in fact, the Hindus are not the only ones who are responsible for the abhorrent caste system. Both the Mughal Empire and the British colonizers found the caste system to be a very convenient way of keeping the people in their place – and in check. 

Essentially, the caste system was established by and has been perpetuated by humans, against other humans. 

Conflict and Violence 

With such a diverse population as India has, there have inevitably been conflicts. In the northwest, there’s conflict between the Hindus and Kashmiris, whose region is essentially occupied by the Indian armed forces. In the northeast, it’s the mass migration of Bengali Muslims into Assam that has caused resentment and instability. 

Since the partition of India from Pakistan, it seems that there has been no end to the tension and the violence in India, whether it’s anti-Muslim violence, anti-Hindu violence, anti-Christian violence, or any other type.   

Even in the land of Ghandi, one of the world’s prime purveyors of non-violent resistance, there are many of all stripes who turn to violence when they feel that they have been subject to injustice.  

The Liberated Ones 

The one group of Indians who are not subjugated by either the caste system or the wealth gap, and who are not the victims of any racial conflicts, are the sadhus. A sadhu is a religious ascetic or holy person, usually of the Hindu or Jain faith, who has renounced the worldly life and is striving for spiritual liberation (moksha). 

These sadhus have no permanent home, and travel from place to place. They are generally respected by most Indians, from whom they received small donations on which they subsist.  

One evening in the town of Rishikesh, just outside my guesthouse, I met a sadhu who spoke English. As we chatted, I shared some of my Old Monk rum with him, and offered to buy him breakfast the next morning. He slept in his blanket on the sidewalk outside the guesthouse (his choice), and the next morning, we met up and went to an open-air shop for breakfast.    

He declined my offer to buy him food, and told me that all he needed to start his day was a nice hot cup of chai, before he got on the train to his next destination (the holy town of Pushkar). When I offered to give him a bit of cash for train fare, he again declined, saying that sadhus were generally allowed to ride the trains for free, and therefore he had no need of my money.   

I never saw him again. However, as he travelled round northern India with his small bagful of possessions, he would occasionaly phone me, just to say “Hello,” and maybe to tell me where he was living at the time. I would invite him to drop in at my home, so that I could treat him to another cup of chai or maybe even a full breakfast. I would have loved to meet up with him, but unfortunately, we never did. He remains one of the finest people I met during my 4-year stay in the country.

The Wealth Gap, Revisited 

The above numbers (regarding the income disparity) do not take into account the population figures of those 5 quintiles. The current population of India is 1.324 billion. Simple math indicates that 80% of that is still more than 1 billion people.    

Most of that 80% live on less than half of the elite’s incomes. And many of them live on just a tiny percentage of what the elite make.    

As the following graph states in no uncertain terms, “92% of Indian adults have wealth of less than $10,000.” And, without a doubt, the bottom portion of that 92% are eking out a living on far less than $10,000.   

The Builders, Producers, and People Who Get Stuff Done 

The people of the underclass are the ones who built India. They are the ones who constructed all its buildings and all its infrastructure, and who produce all its products and manufacture all its goods. They are the ones who work on the farms and in the processing plants, who grow all the food that feeds the country, and who distribute and prepare the food.

To a large extent, they are also the ones who prepare all the food; clean all the homes, offices and shops; repair your cars and appliances; drive the cars and taxis and busses and trains that move people around; and do all the dirty, dangerous, and laborious work. And they do it all for only a very meager percentage of the country’s wealth. 

The Booker Prize-winning writer Arundhati Roy once stated that, for all intents and purposes, India’s elite have seceded from the nation. In many way, that is true. The top percentile live in their comfortable, 3-storey homes or in large, imposing condominiums with landscaped gardens and swimming pools. Their neighborhoods or condos consist of gated communities, with several guards on duty round the clock, lest anyone from the underclass dare to step, uninvited, into their private territory. And as the elite seceded, they’ve taken much of the wealth with them.    

But the top 20% could never take the heart and soul out from the country’s bottom 80%. Nor could the elite ever erase the brilliant colors of the “rich” lives of the downtrodden. 

Sources –

http://www.livemint.com/

http://www.livemint.com/Politics/AvHvyHVJIhR0Q629wkPS5M/Indias-richest-20-account-for-45-of-income.html

http://hdr.undp.org/en/content/income-gini-coefficient

Sort:  

I really enjoyed this. Thank you. Quality work, and I learned something while getting lost in the stories/photos. Resteemed.

Very pleased that you enjoyed it. I spent a bit of time doing a bit of extra research and then writing it, so it's great to hear that the effort was worthwhile. And thanks for the resteeem!

nice good @abdulsalim

Great Eye-grabbing post! It is very sad that India Aims to be a nuke-wielding world power yet can't lift most of its poor out of poverty.

Awesome work!

It has everything: great photos, well documented facts, valuable opinions, but the best of all... hard work, passion and dedication in putting all togheter.

Today I have learned a lot about such a beatiful country, its culture and people. What a good trip!

Thank you friend :)

You're very welcome. It also brought back many memories of the 4 years I spent in India (mostly working, but as you can see, much travelling also.)

Yes, I spent a fair bit of time compiling the post and then uploading it, but it was a labor of love. In fact, pretty much everything I do on Steemit is a labor of love – cuz it certainly is not yet a labor of SUSTENANCE. :-)

But these days are still early days for Steemit. I'll be uploading more and more varied content over the months to come. And probably over the years to come. I hope to be here to watch and take part in its growth.

Cheers, and Full Steem Ahead.

Brilliant post @majes.tytyty! That's the kind of stuff that makes me happy to have signed up to steemit. Tons of info, personal experiences, relevant photos to illustrate, original formatting... I can tell you must have spent hours on it. Glad to know I'm not the only member of the endless-screen-staring club!
If I may, I strongly recommend that you enter the #culturevulture challenge this month or any other time you write a post of the sort. You could win and get some extra exposure 😊

Great to hear that. Yes, this is probably the one post that I spent the most time on. I really like the way it came out, and I've been very pleased with the reaction of the Steemians who've seen it.

As for the endless-s-s club, I spent my first month on Steemit by doing nothing more than content creation (I have a large chunk of it, which I'm still refining before upload).

Then a follower advised me to get out there and "network," as they say. I did, and was glad to find out that it's much more pleasant to "build a community on Steemit (as I refer to it). So I try to spend plenty of time doing that, too. But my first love is sitting here quietly, creating quality content that others will find interesting, informative, and maybe even useful.

Thanks for introducing the #culturevulture feed. That's the type of topic that I am interested in, so I'll see what I can enter next time round.

And of course, thanks for your compliment and words of encouragement. They're much appreciated.

Yes, it definitely works best if you can find a balance between both networking and creating quality content. Its a challenge for me, but an interesting one nonetheless.

You'll also find more people of similar interests in the #culturevulture feed.

I've just been perusing your blogs. I like the variety of series you create. Are you living in Chiang Mai now? When I lived in VietNam, Thailand and Cambodia were my favourite "getaway" destinations. Chiang Mai and its surroundings are beautiful. I almost moved there 2 years ago...

Great to meet you!

Yep. Lost my job in Singapore, and decided to leave the rats to run their own race. I win. So I moved here a few months ago, and it's nice, warm, quiet, and inexpensive. Great place to work on Steemit, which I found just before I moved here.

I really liked Cambodia and Vietnam, but I'm not sure I'd wanna live in either of those places. But the food in Vietnam was superb. All of it was very fresh and tasty, and I'd go back for the food alone.

Good to meet you, too. And thanks again for introducing me to #CV. Sometimes, it gets a bit exhausting going thru the various feed and looking for something that might catch my eye.

OK, I godda go and "network." :P

Hi again. @osm0sis

I changed my second tag to "culturevulture." (Only first tag can never be changed.)

Not sure if this makes me eligible for the challenge, but at least a few more people might see it.

Yup that's perfect. And you can enter the challenge as many times you want. Good luck :)

We also have a Discord chat for expats if you are interested:
https://discord.gg/Rj5svb
You can promote your posts there too.

Cool. I haven't done much chatting, but maybe it's a good idea to chat now and then. (more tech crap for me to learn ...)

Oh no techies on that chat, not to worry. I'd be out of there fast if so! Being present every once in a while in chats does help. Gives a bit more of a human form to all these people who comment on our posts.

...community functioned well,thanks to the hardworking people of the class youve stated
..real life on the street @majes.tytyty

Thanks for your insights / response.

..do you happen to know the purpose of the mark or sometimes jewel they put on their foreheads @majes.tytyty

I believe it represents a "Third Eye." And when they meditate, they focus on that spot in order to get a sense of the divine.

you will not see many of the top 20% of Indians – that is, the white-collar, English-educated elite. Those fortunate few are comfortably ensconced in their tall condos, or in their large, 3-storey, air-conditioned homes, or else riding in their air-conditioned cars on the way to the nation’s new, air-conditioned malls or office buildings.

I thought I was lower middle class, but after reading this I think most of the Libyans are middle class not the lower one..... Too bad that the Top class is very top compared to the rest...

While it's struggle for many Libyans to live as"comfotably" ... but many of us have better than the minimum we need to life and in air-conditioned homes... so we're not the worse off country.

t least, nothing like the middle classes in Europe, North America, and other developed nations. If any Indian claims to be from the middle class, he’s probably ranked somewhere in the top 80%–95%.

It's smilar in Libya as stated above... but it's the opposite here. Our middle class isn't like USA and Europe.... It's less wealthy, but it's there.

Hi Ahmad, and thanks for your insightful comment.

Yes, India's lack of middle class sets it apart from almost every other country. I've travelled through Thailand, Vietnam, Laos, Cambodia, Indonesia, and more, and none of the underclasses in those countries can be compared to that of India.

Of course, every country and every society has its poor (as well as its very rich), but in no other countries does over 50% or even 60% of the population live on so little of the wealth. The inequality is shocking.

Moreover, the middle class is different in different countries. I've lived in Canada, the US, Japan, India, Singapore and now Thailand. Besides India, each of those countries has a large middle class of its own. Even if someone convinces me that India DOES HAVE a middle class, I could easily argue that it's a lot smaller and a lot poorer than the middle class of any other country.

I've read a bit about Libya over the past few years, and I remember reading that it had a fairly equitable, educated, stable society ... until the US came and ripped it apart.

As a Libyan, what's your perspective on that?

I've read a bit about Libya over the past few years, and I remember reading that it had a fairly equitable, educated, stable society... until the US came and ripped it apart.

As a Libyan, what's your perspective on that?

Every Libyan you'd ask opinion will be different on this, But that's what I think... I don't blame US much, but after the "revolution" everything is going downhill here. The worst thing is that people make excuses to not fix anything these days...

There's something I always said after this revolution: "Freedom is toxic, you can't have a free society and secure one at the same time, and not everyone can handle freedom."

But at least I have hope it'll become better...

Yes, let's hope it becomes better.
I really like your quote about freedom. It's very interesting, and in some ways, very true.

Thank you so much for sharing this very interesting article. I will start following you in hopes of more!

as a photographer i can say this is very good work!

Thanks, much appreciated.

Hi thanks, I also enjoyed this and found myself getting lost in the photos . and as much as you were making comments on the wealth gap I was struck by the possible conditioning of people never being able to move beyond there cast and doing something else. It looked liked the Sadues had far more possessions and wealth than anyone else in the photos

Thanks for your compliments. Yes, it's difficult to imagine, realizing that you will never improve your station in life, you will never "improve" your life, and even your children will never have any opportunity to improve.

No wonder so many of the underclasses don't even bother to send their children to school. Instead, the kids are put to work, even if it's not hard work, because they can make a dollar or 2 per day.

gorgeous work!! I want to know the trick of how you are able to get the photos side by side. I cannot seem to get mine to do that, and the blue and black boxes below!! I think you must have a better app I am not aware of?

Thanks for the praise!! It's much appreciated.

But I do not have any photos side by side, only in line. What exactly were you referring to when you said "side by side."

As for the text boxes, I made them on WORD, since I found that the best way to format and color the text. (The Steemit editor is very basic, and I usually want to format my text quite a bit.)

In any WORD file, just click on the "INSERT" tab, then click on "TEXT," then "TEXT BOX," then "DRAW TEXT BOX." Then just drag your cursor, and it will create a box in which you can type your text.

After I have created one box, I give it the light bluish-gray background color, then format some text. Then I use that box as a template, and make a new box for every section. Then, I just copy and paste those text boxes after each photo.

There's a bit of a learning curve, even when pasting into Steemit, but once I learned it all, it became simple enough. It still takes time, but the results are quite good (as you can see above). :-)

Hope this helps. Feel free to ask for clarification.

ahhh cool tyvm. I don't have word, so that explains it. I had thought you had some side by side but now that I look you don't, however it stems from trying earlier in the week to get my photos to have wraparound text. {fail} I might have to look into getting word or something similar! Thanks :)

Yes, it's a bit tough to learn all the formatting tricks. Here's a post that offered some tips. https://steemit.com/steemit/@arbitrarykitten/steemit-how-to-place-images-to-the-sides-of-your-posts

Based on her advice, I tried to do some wrap-around text. I too failed. :-( But I hope to figure it out eventually.

If you're gonna do a lot of writing, you should get Word. It might cost a bit, but you can soon make it back in terms of increased productivity.

yes i looked at a few different wrap around tutorials, including the one above, neither worked.. :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28