Name This Lizard & Win SBD!!

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Chameleons are really awesome reptiles. It is always so exciting when no name starts to shed. Although, at first it looks kind of crazy!

image

A month ago I posted a couple pictures of this little baby so that I can track his progress as he grows into his colors. This is a first for us but this is something that I believe is worth sharing with you guys! Some Chameleons don't get their full colors until 18 months of age so watching him gradually develop little pieces of color at a time is super cool. Around his eye and on his face are the spots that he is developing the most color right now.

image

image

His daddy is an incredibly beautiful Chameleon so that makes this that much more exciting to know what he will look like one day. Right now no name is slowly starting to get a light hint of blue/green in a few spots. At times, he also shows a few hints of orange.

image

That picture above is his dad. The green is during the day and the yellow is the color he turns at night when his body temperature is a little cooler. Chameleons are not a beginners pet, especially when they are babies. It has been a little difficult raising this baby. We got over 5 chameleons about 6 months ago, all rescues. Right now we just have the baby left as the others have found their forever homes. The baby we have decided to keep.

image

As you can see with the dad, chameleons change colors often. This baby is typically still a lighter pale color for majority of the time. When he is sunbathing or mad, he turns almost black. During the day when he is just hanging out, you can see his stripes starting to form which are becoming a darker color and the hints of blue/green start to show.

image

image

These reptiles seem like they grow slow but after looking back at his picture a month ago, no name is growing rather well. His head is starting to form its panther chameleon shape, he is getting longer and his body is getting wider. Below is a picture from last month. You can see that his stripes barely have any definite color and his head doesn't have the shape it has now. He will more than likely really resemble the colors of his dad but this is still super neat to watch him develop these colors!

We are bad reptile parents though, this little baby still doesn't have a name!

Just to liven up this Sunday Funday and because I love giving back to the Steemit community, the person who comes up with the most creative name for this little baby wins 0.50 SBD. I might be a little tired of him having no name!

contest ends in 7 days, winner will be chosen by a guest judge

Wait, I am not done. To have your name placed into a second contest to win a surprise prize, Upvote and Resteem this post.

An Upvote and Resteem are not necessary to enter into the Name This Lizard contest, only if you want to play in both games.

Enter into a third contest I have right now by clicking the link below

10 Truths & 1 Lie - Win SBD

image

here is no name almost done his shedding process, I don't think he realizes how goofy he looks right now

Recent post you might like

Contest Tuesday- Come Have Fun!


Wine Night With A Side Of Paint


My eSteem Journey


Domestic Violence - Know The Warning Signs


A Walk On The Railroad Tracks

image

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

asapers 2.png
Banner by @shai-hulud


rsz_gretersguild.jpg
Follow @greetersguild and join us on discord to learn more (newbies and non newbies welcome). We are always looking for more Greeters to join our team! https://discord.gg/3jYNPUx

image

Sort:  

Nice post, very interesting animal, I am not sure if could name this. Thanks for the post and all that are doing @magicalmoonlight keep up the great work! What about Karma? Get it, here's the reference, haha.

Thank you @cryptkeeper17! I actually really like that name and the reference :)

Hearing that song recently I felt that John Lennon's spirit incarnated in Boy George. That song, if you hear the backbeat is very early Beatle-ish, and lyrically a lot like a song that John would've definitely been on his way to writing in the next 5 years before his murder. Also, with John's sense of humor why would he not come back injecting himself in the spirit of an awkward, prima donna transvestite gay man?

Hahaha! I hope this was meant to be funny because I laughed out loud and really needed that laugh so thank you. I agree with you though.

It seems to be a gecko see my photo (taken on the net) . Your chameleons are very beautyful. I propose you to call him "Chame the leon" or maybe "surprised" or "little peek-a-boo" no other idea he is so cute

Thank you :) I really need to keep up on my reptile knowledge because I actually was surprised when my chameleon started to shed and now I see those geckos do it too haha Chame the leon is really creative!

I am offering this name be considered: Lizard Breathe

haha, I love this one.

Actually, I meant Lizard Breath.

I'm not very imaginative but the first name that came in to my head was Chuck as in chuck out the old clothes and in with the new :D

That's hilarious!

Haha! This name is a good one

How about Huey and Hue for short.
Name for the word “hue”, meaning shades of colour dependant on intensity of light.

Oh, I love this one. That's super creative!

Thanks. Glad you like it. Good luck with the name selection.

Hmm chameleon's change color so I would like to give it a name that it can relate to irrespective the color it takes so how calling the little one
"Rainbow"

I work with chakras which are 'wheels of energy' in our bodies and each one correlates with the colors of the rainbow so I am a fan of this name 😊

Clearly that little fella's name is *Scarface

Say hello to my little friend!

ahh, yes! This is a super good one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64268.35
ETH 3499.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51