Unpublished Doris Mayday fashion editorial! STEEMIT EXCLUSIVE!

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

Steemit has become my preferred platform for sharing work I’ve never published to other social media sites. Not Facebook. Not Instagram. In the short time I’ve been here, the Steemit ethos has created a fervent desire for me to contribute my very best, be it photography, illustration or writing. Even beyond the monetary incentives, this thriving community is intoxicating. Over the last four years, I’ve gained about 15K followers on my Instagram account as a result of shooting with Pinup Girl Clothing and some well known models in the pinup/rockabilly community. Still though, there’s no comparison to the engagement I see here on Steemit. Questions, comments, injuries, all well thought out and genuine. I find myself coming back to the site every few hours to great conversations. 

This morning, I want to share with you one of my favorite shoots from my time in LA w/ Doris Mayday. This collaboration was originally put together for a magazine called Pink Bow City, but shortly after, the publication closed down. Myself, Doris, Tony of His Vintage Touch Hairstyling and Shanna Cistulli, the make-up artist, decided to shop it around to other fashion publications but we were adamant about wanting a cover feature. For one reason or another, we couldn’t find a good fit with another publisher so I’ve been sitting on it for over a year. 

And so, here’s the entire unpublished Doris Mayday editorial, exclusively on Steemit! Just a little background on this shoot. One of the significant footnotes is that Doris is a very well known pinup model. She and I first worked together in 2013, and my role in our relationship was showing a side beyond the cheesecake modeling she was known for; closer to legitimate fashion. This shoot pushed all of us out of our comfort zone. To this day, I’m very proud of these images. 

The rest of the team responsible for this editorial is hair genius, Tony Medina of His Vintage Touch. Make-up by Shanna Cistulli, and set design by very talented Daniel Luna. Shot in West Hollywood, LA. Enjoy.

I post daily. Follow me so you don't miss one!

Also, I'm on Instagram @Kommienezuspadt

SnapChat @madeineighty

Sort:  

Hello kommienezuspadt, we would like to inform you that you have been chosen as a featured author by the @robinhoodwhale initiave. We are currently in alpha testing, if you would like more info join robinhood chat on steemit.chat or pm @repholder.

Great Exclusives - Keep on Steeming!

I like this!

This will make it a lot easier to find related posts.

I actually made a post about it; no links to related posts on the pages, and this kind of solves that ... I like it!

And it's good for SEO!

Steemit took of like a rocket in Google

and those extra link-backs will make it even better!

Wow this is awesome. So beautiful. Reminds me of some of the work of people like Tim Walker. This will be going in the Robinhood links channel!

Your photos are incredible dude. I love watching your posts. Also your comic book art is incredible. I do a daily roundup of the best photos on steemit every day, would you mind if I posted the last photo of the girl in the red outfit?

@dexter-k It'd be an honor! Thanks so much. Please, share whatever you'd like!

Thanks man :)

Really nice pictures! My favorite is the one with her holding the candle. I am glad you found somwhere that your works can be appreciated, and just hope those well thought out injuries arn't to harsh.

great photos!

Thanks @webdeals! Very much appreciated!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51