Photographing the "Saint Lolita" runway collection!

Ugh, man. This day. I’m sort of reeling from the Philando Castile news and the implications of that on my city, and our country. I just got home from the Capitol protest and march, and I’m mentally, physically and emotionally exhausted. I need some distance from all that, so rather than just run away from those feelings, I decided to get back at my desk and work. Work is therapeutic for me. Nothing balances my serotonin like productivity. 

I’m riffling through some work I’ve been wanting to share and came across this collections of images from a fashion event held in Minneapolis a couple of years ago. The Steemit tie in here is that the entire event and collection was designed by Teaser by Yuli, the designer I collaborated with for years and talked about at length in my previous post, “Reflecting on my first editorial fashion shoot w/ Teaser by Yuli”. One of the models in this collection is Trisha Lynn, recently featured in my post “A collection of photos w/ Trisha Lynn!”, and the handsome fella at the bottom is our very own @bryanpolitte.

This runway show was for Yuli’s “Saint Lolita” collection. She asked me to photograph the event and although this isn’t my specialty, I was excited to try and capture the best images I could. Yuli and I had a special relationship at the time. We were collaborators on so many projects that shook up the fashion industry in Minneapolis, and we managed to do so from outside the “agency world”. We had a deep mutual respect for one another as creative forces and I’d seen this collection coming together for an entire year before the event.

It was exceptional. Nothing short of awe inspiring, showing off more than two dozen dresses, and entire collection of mens wear, and packed house of hundreds at the Amsterdam bar in St. Paul. Everything was thought out to the smallest detail. The bags for VIP guests sitting on their chairs with their names and a flower from the Lolita collection. It was brilliant. All the traits that I came to love and admire of Yuli’s production. If it wasn’t perfect, she wouldn’t put her name on it. 

From a photography point of view, this was a challenge. It was dark and the models moved fast and bold. I used as slow of a shutter release as I could safely manage and a 1600ISO at ƒ/1.4 with a 50mm lens. It worked for the most part, although I ended up with far more missed exposures than print worthy photos. Yuli did give me the perfect place to shoot, right at the end of the runway with the best lighting the venue could offer.

This was a much needed break so thank you for reading and giving me a chance to share this story and work. I post daily so for more photography, art, illustration and thoughts on life, follow me @kommienezuspadt!

Sort:  

@kommienezuspadt these images are captured perfectly. There's hardly any motion blur and the lighting is spot on. I think people underestimate just how hard photographing one of these shows really is! Nice work. Followed and upvoted. Feel free to check out some of my latest photos too as I share excerpts from @myday

Thank you very much @myday. Yeah, low light situations like this are tough to shoot, especially when the models turn so quickly. It reminds me of the years I've spent photographing bands and live event photography. I'll go check your work out now.

Cheers. Thanks @kommienezuspadt. I would be interested to hear your comments as I think my style of photography is very different to your incredible work. I look forward to your next post.

He's right, what most people don't notice is the technical aspect of photography that you've mastered.

These aren't selfies.

Very nice

Thank you @djohan!

Beautiful.

Good to post...good luck

Being from India, the dresses look pretty scandalous to me. However, being a world citizen and an artist, they're a bold expression of the designer. Thanks for sharing :)

Yeah, I'm sure these look scandalous from an Indian point of view. They're pretty scandalous for the US as well. Thanks for the comment @beautifuldevil!

A fashion show shoot - amazing. The details of the dresses captured in the photos is just fantastic. It is certainly not easy to take pictures in varying light conditions of a fashion show but you have done an awsome job. I hope to try this some day.

Am more into wildlife and nature photography as well as travel. If you want to see some of my work, you are welcome to visit my blogs.
Upvoted and followed you.

I feel the same way about wildlife photography @vm2904. I've never done it but would like to try one day. Thanks for the kind words about the work. I'll check out your photography now.

Thanks. Would be honored if you follow my blogs and leave comments to guide me

These photos are eye candies... it's a delight,. Thanks for sharing!

Thank you for stopping by @arnel!

You're welcome... will be checking for more. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55994.69
ETH 2375.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31