Reflecting on my first editorial fashion shoot w/ Teaser by Yuli!

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

A hot day in Minneapolis and an even hotter day working through the afternoon in a coffee shop with one air conditioner not long for this world. The Caffetto incubator is used to this. I could go to Dunn Brother’s just as easily, but it would just feel immorally wrong. So I sit here writing in a 86° room with a strung out guy passed out in the booth behind me. I can’t explain it. I still prefer to work here. I guess when you dig in to it, it’s a part of my DNA to wade through the fringe of society when possible. Better stories, for sure, and most likely what lead me to finding Steemit long before it’s even out of beta.

 Earlier this week, I made a post “Shooting erotica and horror with French-Canadian model, Sara Marcoux!” and I talked about how bizarre it was to see myself using experimental flash in my photos. Today’s post is from a couple years prior to that, and it feels strange to share images that do not fit the esthetic I’m know for today. This shoot is particularly important, however, because it’s my first editorial fashion shoot. Ever!

*Image credit Teaser By Yuli courtesy of RAWArtists

In early 2012, I participated in a RAWArtist event in Minneapolis. During that time, I was running an apparel brand doing live screen printing. During the event, I had a few models walk in a runway feature. At the end of the evening, the entire venue was overtaken by a fetish/fashion collection by a local designer named Teaser By Yuli. Like everyone in the building, I was immediately blown away. Completely inspired, I messaged her the following day and we set up a time to talk about collaborating.

To be honest, at this point, I was out of my pay grade and although I haven’t worked with Yuli in years, I’m grateful she was willing to take a chance on working with me at that time. She really is a creative powerhouse. I’ve since worked with some world class designers but Yuli also possesses that rare quality to think much, much bigger than a dress or collection. The presentation of a shoot or event is just as important and elaborate as her wardrobe. She has exceptional taste and vision for the product she sees in her head, and an uncanny ability to pull it off. I’ll always admire that.

We did make plans for a four model editorial shoot at one of the most beautiful hotels in all of Minnesota; The Rivertown Inn, right around the corner from where my very own @millsguthrie was born a year earlier. We had a full team including a make-up artist, hairstylist and Yuli has a the wardrobe stylist. This was the first time I’d worked with this many models and it presented a number of challenges for directing and with the 35mm and 50mm lenses I was using. One model for either lens is great, but when you have multiple subjects, the difference of 10” can put one of the models completely out of focus. I was here trying to problem solve with four girls.

And yes, I can still see a few experimental flash images that irk me, but I know this night was a milestone in finding my way to becoming the photographer I am today. All of these images held up for quite a few years, opened lots of opportunities for me after this editorial was published and I continued with shoots with a few of the models including Maconnie and Taylor Skye […both of which will be featured in future Steemit posts]. Yuli and I went on to work with one another for three years. During that time, we collaborated on almost every shoot to the point that people started calling us “art husband and art wife”. Once my work picked up in LA, our paths split, but I see she’s still active and creating beautiful art, which makes me happy.

I hope you enjoyed this look at one of the shoots that established my photography career. It’s been nostalgic to share and write about them again. For more photos, illustration, art and thoughts, follow me here @kommienezuspadt

Sort:  

Your posts are very hard to miss @kommienezuspadt. Very hard 😊

Thank you @photo-trail! That's what I like to hear because seeing the growth here in the community, we're all going to have to consistently turn out exceptional work just to stay relevant. Thanks for always being so supportive of my photos!

Hell yeah man always look forward seeing your posts on steem!

Thank you @adriansky! I appreciate all the great support you always give me.

Interesting how much wor it takes to get everything looking perfect for the professional shots. Good job!

Yeah, agreed @team101! This was the first time I'd worked on a shoot at this scale. Now these kind of shoots are common place. Every one has a team of at least three, plus the model and myself.

aaarg, stop with these beautiful girls! It's too much. Costume and set looks great.

HA! Thank you @jameshsmitharts! If I stop with the beautiful ladies, I'll only being doing comic book and technology posts, lol

Ok, on second thought.... ;)

Very bold photos!!! Very nice !!!
Do check mine also ....

Thanks @vaibhavshah! I'll check you out now.

beautiful! please post more :)

GEZZZZ Awesome post ;)

Thank you @acromott! I appreciate it!

Awesome photography, you're a professional with fine taste. Beautiful location as well.

Thank you @arnel! Almost 20 years of refining my taste.

Wow it s been many years... but it shows in your photos

<-- Suddenly realizes he's in the wrong business.

HA! Yeah, @tuck-fheman, lol. I once had a doctor say that to me. I'm not sure how'd he'd have felt about the $300K pay cut, but for what the work is, it's hard to complain.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51