Travel - Ethiopia - Rural Villages

in #photography5 years ago

IMG_0369_edited.jpg

One day, I walked several kms outside of the town I was staying in and found a village engulfed in greenery. While in the village I met a family who did not speak any English nor Amharic, except for their son, who was attending Hawassa University. He was working on the farm and because his family took so much pride in his education they called him away from the farm to talk with me. For many in these rural villages, English is an opportunity to lift themselves, and their families, out of poverty. What should have been a 5-10 minute conversation ended up being a half hour of stories filled with laughs and inquiries about the ethnic groups in America. Unlike many, they didn’t seem to have a toxic sense of pride and expressed how they wished Ethiopia could be like an America, a country of different groups of people who could live as one. At that moment I thought to myself, “Ya, I’d like that America too”, but the fact is there is much diversity and acceptance in America that it makes all the disagreements and pettiness seem minute. I have had many reservations about my time here, but the reality is I’m extremely privileged to be able to live and work here. The ability to uproot from any place with little worry, and not in spite of conflict, reminds me that I’m a guest who chose to bring his knowledge and enthusiasm for the betterment of at least one person’s life. The people were why I came here and the people are why I continue to stay positive...oh, and the doro wot!

IMG_0027_edited.jpg
IMG_0390_edited.jpg1.jpg

Sort:  

Hi there! I'll be back with further comment and upvote but I just wanted to let you know for now that I have featured your post here for the Pay It Forward Curation Contest.

Thank you very much!

Okay, I'm back... First of all, happy new year! I hope you had a good blast.

they didn’t seem to have a toxic sense of pride and expressed how they wished Ethiopia could be like an America, a country of different groups of people who could live as one.

While the sound of the word "America" immediately creates a positive impression, I also hope others who have that wishful thinking be more practical and focus on what is more realistic. I know many fellow Filipinos who work in the US but prefers to come back. As they said, there is definitely something good being there but they also endure hardships. Living in America is not heaven. There is still the better side of being "home" in their own land.

Sometimes it is really rewarding to be traveling to different places as it serve as our teacher wherein we learn many things, different lifestyle, perspective and even life hacks and lessons that we can bring home and share further so thanks for sharing your learning here!

Keep Steeming!

By the way, I also submitted your post to @c-squared. I hope they will also drop by to show their appreciation.


giphy.gif


Your post was featured in an entry into @pifc's Curation Contest:Week 39. Posts are selected because the entrant felt you are producing great content and deserve more attention (& rewards) on your post. As such your post has been upvoted and will be visited by other members of the PIFC Community.

We are always looking for new people to join our curation efforts. This is a great way to meet new people and become part of a community that focuses on helping one another.

Want to promote a post for free and have a chance to find some other great content? Check out this week's Pimp Your Post.

The Pay It Forward community also has a Discord Channel if you are interested in learning more about us.

This is a nice post @kissiwarrior 😉 I never thought that there'll be such a beautiful place in ethiopia while the news I watched about that place only about malnutrion and poor people. Wondering what are you doing at that place?

I think most people in the third world countries dreaming about living in America while they don't understand about the politic and government shut down. Why? I think we should thanks to film industry and also many NGO's worker who are good representatives of USA. What do you think?

I found your post through @macoolette entry post in the pay it forward contest this week, that's why I came here.

Thank you very much, I'm glad you liked it!

Africa is the only continent I'm afraid to visit by myself. I know that many people are peaceful and happy... but I also know there are a lot of problematic areas with violent gangs. I just won't risk going there, unless I'm with a large group of friends.

Thanks for your post, it was an interesting one.

PS: I've found your post because @macoolette featured you in her entry for The Pay It Forward Contest

It's a difficult continent to travel due to lack of accessible roads in many rural areas, but I guarentee you'll love visiting when you figure out what it is you're looking to see.

I don't doubt you.... but lately I've been travelling alone, so I'll be sticking to European countries. ;-)

Ethiopia is not traveling friendly, in terms of traveling alone with no guide. I wouldn't recommend it personally. I'd say much of Africa is like that, but you can get around to figuring it out. Best of luck and safe travels!

Thank you for this post @kissiwarrior; I love that first photo of the smiling kids :) The message is interesting too ... the fact that they see America is accepting and open to different ethnicities. I guess in some ways it is like that but like you said,

“Ya, I’d like that America too”

Perception is such an interesting thing for me to ponder, so thank you again. I'm submitting this post to c-squared as well; hopefully they stop by to show their appreciation.

I found your post because @macoolette featured you in her Pay it Forward Curation contest entry; please consider checking us out and submitting an entry of your own any week. We'd love to have you and it's a great community; somewhere for you to develop your own followers/following.

Perception is everything. It's a difficult road to cross because you want to address the problems occuring in your own front yard...but you also have to accept that it's better than 99 percent of what the world deals with. Thanks for commenting, i'm glad you enjoyed.

So true! It's a balancing act for sure.

And, you're very welcome :)

I love hearing about life in other places. I enjoyed your pictures and your write up. Well done!

I found you today because @macoolette featured you in the Pay it Forward Curation contest. Keep up the great work!

Thank you very much!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65