The Photographer in Us AllsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

As Henri Cartier-Bresson says,

Life is once, forever.

He also says,

I love life, I love human beings... I hate people... so.

I definitely feel like that on some days, but mostly I like people.

Mostly.

I just watched a fantastic video that @steemmeupscotty shared with me. It's a short documentary by Monsieur Cartier-Bresson made in 1973. Now he was a master of street photography.

Like, a genius.

And you know, I try to pay attention when super-cool genius people say stuff because the stuff they say is generally worth listening to.

And what I've found is, many of his lessons in photography can be applied to life in general. Such as

  • Be patient
  • Always strive for more
  • Travel
  • Be spontaneous
  • Don't over think
  • Play
  • See life as a painter
  • Act intuitively
  • Be keenly aware of the moment with all of your senses.

We are all photographers at the end of the day.

Some people actually capture images using little contraptions with lenses. But everyone takes thousands of snapshots of moments throughout the day and stores them in the photo albums of their mind.

And we all edit and process these snapshots as we link our thoughts, beliefs and other memories to them.

And you know what, as you flick through the photo album of your life, if there's anything you don't like - you can edit it.

Crop it, add colour, play with the scene, add a filter. Heck, change the entire thing if you want.

The past is fluid and the only truth of the past is what we make of it now.

As Tom Robbins says, it's never too late to have a happy childhood.

Go us. Us crazy weird, super cool human beings. :)


The Direction of Your Thoughts

IMG_8352.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Puzzled and Pointing

IMG_0689.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

The Getaway

32688269554_e0c7c9c6cf_o.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Directions

IMG_2701.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Awareness of Thereness

33146210920_1d9bcfb81e_o.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Nosferatu and Toilet Roll

IMG_0089.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Emerging Through the Doorway

IMG_0160.jpg

cute coloured dots line.png

Shadow Buddy

IMG_0594.jpg


All photos by @johleen on iphone6.

cute coloured dots line.png

Thanks for stopping by!! Here are some more posts you might like...

The Swindle

The Inexplicable Jiggery Pokery

The Big 4-0


Who I'm Loving Right Now:

@steemmeupscotty


Follow me, @johleen if you like the kind of stuff I do. :)

Sort:  

great pos @johleen and he was indeed a master. Thanks for sharing with on STREETPHOTO and I really like your own selection here. Just goes to show the camera is not the main element... it's the eye / mind / fingers !

really like the getaway he's just a jogger isn't he ! but I like your creative attribute. it's true we are all photographers and the attempt to capture with a box what we see is a reflection of our inner worlds ! keep posting
100 % upvoted

next post MaAAAn RAAAAAY

Haha! Thanks very much!

Yes just a jogger! Actually I found that image rather boring until I decided to give it that title. Just goes to show how much our perceptions can be fuelled with a little imagination.

I keep thinking that I should start getting into using proper cameras... but with the iphone X coming out soon I think I will just be investing in that instead. I like the simplicity of being able to snap wherever I am with my phone.

I think you should get a proper camera. the phone cameras are great but really limited in terms of the lens ! you could get a lumix dlsr or a cheap nikon dslr with a kit lens, then you could start picking up cheap lenses and you will be amazed what happens :)

the titling is very interesting.. It wasn't until I looked carefully that I saw the jogger.. when I read the title, he was on the run from something.. perceptions can be altered. the camera can lie, so can the photographer by cropping, editing and adding words. good work !

ooooh I feel a christmas wish list coming on! I think part of me feels that using an iphone is so much more inconspicuous... maybe I need to build up my confidence a bit (especially with street photography) and just bite the bullet and get a camera.

I'm gonna check out your recommendations - cheers!

https://www.ebay.co.uk/p/Panasonic-LUMIX-DMC-GF2-12-1MP-Digital-Camera-Black-Body-Only/102933294

this is a great camera.. my London bridge shots were all taken with it. It really needs a viewfinder though and i think one of the reasons I'd recommend a proper camera is the ability to frame with your eye, not the screen.. you can buy a video viewfinder to go with it.. a must really ! it's 12mp but the sensor is very good quality so it's not like a 12mp phone camera ! (the format is micro 4/3rds) which is a 4:3 image ratio and there are lots of interchangeable 4/3 lenses available

here's an amazing entry level DSLR

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Nikon-D3200-24-2MP-Digital-SLR-Camera-Black-Kit-w-AF-S-DX-VR-18-55mm-Lens-/122708514888?epid=114292902&hash=item1c91ff5848:g:4e4AAOSw7RdZvQiD

I've got one of these and it's a joy to use. once you start experimenting with different lenses, it is a such a good little workhorse and it's 24mp (good DX sensor), it's a not full frame 35mm equivalent FX sensor but bigger than the lumix and the images can be cropped / printed large with no fuss !

editing.. photoshop. I've been using it for so long ! It's an amazing tool.
I also use Capture NX-D which is a free RAW editor from Nikon. very powerful and once you take RAW you'll be amazed at what you can do. other editing tool is IRFANVIEW.. it's a free image editor and has excellent batch tools for resizing, is an excellent default image viewer and you can perform simple crops and adjustments with it. there are other things too, I use stacking software for astrophotography but that's another story !!

ooh those are good prices. I was having a quick check on Amazon and they all seemed to be over £300.

Ah photoshop... I've been avoiding it. It looks very complicated ha! I have been mostly using ipad apps like Enlight or Snapseed for my editing.

RAW is another thing I need to learn all about!

I think I shall have to set aside some time each week to really start working towards the next level of understanding with all this. Thanks so much for all the info, much appreciated!

we've all got to start somewhere. there are millions of apps for processing imagery, it's what you feel comfortable with. Perhaps buying a second hand camera which is a good quality one may be better than buying a cheaper new one ? RAW is next level ... but it's a whole new dimension :) you'll get there

btw what are your favourite editing tools?

I like John Free. He is a HUGE fan of Bresson. Always quoting him like at the 10 min mark in this vid.

oooh wonderful, thanks for this. Perfect for today as I'm laid up in bed with the sniffles!

Haha - awesome! Thanks for the mention etc :) I had to watch it again myself soon after. Fab pics here - love the way you're using shadows.

Every time I go outside looking for shadows it clouds over :/

Thanks! Yeah.... for me, every time I get up at the crack of dawn for the golden hour - it's completely overcast haha!

Good to know the photo Gods aren't just picking on me 😬

Those are great sentiments! Perhaps that's why my life isn't living up to its full potential.

Be patient

Yeah, I uh...

Travel

I really want to, it's just that my bank account is a bit strict.

Be spontaneous

Don't over think

Interesting point. I wonder why this was included here. Could it be that overthinking leads to anxiety or could it be connected more to enjoying the moment. Hmmm...

See life as a painter

I see life as a writer, does that count? Perhaps I should give looking through a painter's eyes more thought.

My favorites are Shadow Buddy, The Getaway and Awareness of Thereness. The Direction of Your Thoughts is great, but I think it would've been better if the tree sprouted from the man's head hahaha!

Ahahaha!! Awesome comment of the day right here!!

Aw yeah, it would have been great to have the tree sprouting from the man's head... not sure he would have liked it though hee hee!

YES!!! Finally! Ugh! It's about time! I've been waiting my whole life for this award. I, oh gosh, I feel like I can't hold back the tears. Give me a second. Wait, no, I changed my mind, give me third instead. Alright, yeah, that one. Hmm.. Ahh! This is great. This will do. Ahem.. I would like to thank the Academy for.. oh, huh. They're already playing me out, violins and all.

His brain like a tree with ideas as the fruit?? What's not to love!?

It does not take that much to be a photographer, anybody can do it with some effort and love to life :)

Yup, 100% agree. :)

i will never skip onther post from you

I shall be checking...!!

Haha! Yes, yes he is. :)

your page divider things are everything. oh and i'm glad your not dead. not seen you post for a few days. EDIT THAT LIFE!

Hahaha! I do love a good line divider!!

Yep, not dead... just busy carrying out my plans for world domination hee hee. :)

i so had to re-read that. go for it!

Mwah ha ha ha haaaaa!

Those lessons are engraved on my very bones!!

I would expect nothing less from you!

So inspiring... is it wrong to have a crush on a dead guy...??! XD

Thank you for this post @johleen.

I can relate, as the direction of my thoughts can sometimes go haywire. 😁

Thoughts can seemingly have a life of their own sometimes!

Thanks for reading. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53949.09
ETH 2223.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31