The Big 4-0steemCreated with Sketch.

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Tomorrow morning at around 4.15am I will have completed my first 40 years on this fine earth.

This is big.

Because it means I've only got 10-15 years before I have to start planning for my mid-life crisis.

I've always been big on being prepared and organised, and I wouldn't want to start this whole mid-life crisis thing late and miss out on anything, so rather than wait for another decade I thought I'd flesh out the plan right now.

So, research is needed.

According to The Telegraph (always a good source of reliable information) some signs to looks out for are:

  • Taking vitamin pills
  • Taking out a direct debit for a charity
  • Desiring a simpler life
  • Going to Glastonbury
  • Dying my hair
  • Flirting embarrassingly with people
  • Hangovers getting worse and lasting more than a day
  • Getting easily distracted
  • A sudden desire to play an instrument

Wait... what??

Holy crap!!

I seem to have started my mid-life crisis without even realising it!!

Quick!

I need some more information on how to deal with this right now! Right I shall turn to another most reliable source of information The Guardian

Fabulous, the good people of the Guardian have laid out a 10 point plan for people going through a mid-life crisis, which I shall put into practice immediately.

Here we go:

1. I must remember the alternative.

Hmmm not sure what this means exactly. They seem to be telling me that the alternative to a mid-life crisis is being dead - and I mustn't forget this.

Alrighty, I have added a daily reminder to my phone:

"Johleen. You are not dead."

Ok. Next...

2. I must not assume every cough is lung cancer.

Right, sure thing. So, I guess not presuming you're terminally ill is, I suppose, one way of getting all positive about your life. Doesn't strike me as particularly hurray inducing though.

Still. Another reminder has been added to my phone.

"Johleen. You are not terminally ill."

Next.

3. I must not have an affair.

Soooo... I'm confused. Is this just not advisable during the mid-life crisis? But fine at any other time? Hmmm, no matter, reminder number three added.

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Don't have an affair."

4. I must not worry obsessively about work

Ok cool. So worrying up until the point you get obsessed is still good to go. Very helpful.

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Only worry about work if it's not obsessive."

5. If I am thinking of therapy, I mustn't go in for analysis.

Apparently, if I were to go to therapy I would find it pointless, depressing and financially draining and get nothing out of it at all. Thanks Guardian!

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Any help you seek from professionals will result in you being financially and psychologically broken."

Got it.

Next.

6. I must not transfer my neuroses onto my kids.

Cool, but, again - this is just during my midlife crisis, right? Any other time I'm golden.

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Wait until mid-life crisis is over before transferring neuroses onto the kids."

7. I must not buy midlife toys.

Ooooooh!!! What toys are these? There seem to be some special mid-life toys that I'm not aware of. What if I've already bought them? How will I know? Are they labelled?

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Find mid-life toys but do not buy."

8. I must turn off my blackberry.

Apparently, my family would like the chance to ignore me rather than always being ignored. I don't really ignore my family, it's impossible - they're way too loud. And they live in the same house as me.

Anyway, I haven't got a blackberry so this point is void.

9. I must make time to go out

Gosh, I seem to be living in the dark ages. What are these contraptions with which I can make time? I think owning one would be a sound investment. I could make, say, an hour or two every morning and perhaps save them up to use in future. Awesome.

My daily reminder:

"Johleen. Keep a weather eye out for a time maker."

10. It will get better

It? Hmmmm. I think the good people are referring to the book It by Stephen King. I did enjoy it the first time round, but perhaps there is a special bonus chapter for us mid-lifers which is not available to the very young and the very old.

My daily reminder:

"Go and buy a new copy of It by Stephen King".

Ahhhhhhh. There we go.

Sorted.

I'm feeling better already.


Thanks for reading!! Here are some more posts you might like...

The Victory

The Inexplicable Jiggery Pokery

The Sensual Search


Who I'm Loving Right Now:

@chelsea88


Follow me, @johleen if you like the kind of stuff I do. :)

Sort:  

NOM NOM NOM

Welcome to Club 4 Zero. I always tell myself now I'm a few years in.

"Age is a question of mind over matter. If you don't mind, age doesn't matter."

Happy Birthday for the other day :)

Nice... I like that a lot. I think I'm gonna like club 4 zero too. :)

And thanks!

We (@osm0sis) follow @johleen cause we like the stuff she does!

Fun, original, awesome - great content, thank you! :D

aww, so kind, thank you so much!! :)

Congratulations the 4 th floor. I in few days reach 40 . i m going to enjoy more the life.

Now that sounds like a great plan. ;-)

Hopefully soon they will find a solution for anti aging and we will have our mid life crisis when we are 500 years old ! Pre Happy Birthday!🎂

oooh now you're talking.... :)

Thank you!!

Lol, you are laughing then. Like an insane old biddy you are laughing and drooling and laughing some more ;O)

I dont like the sound of the telegraphs signs at all. Then again, I am a smidge older than you. Want me to say something nice and cheery?

You dont look forty. There, thats everything better :OD

Ah thank you that's very.... hahaha.... hehe.... drrooooool..... haha..... drool...

Ahem...

Nice of you to say. :D

well happy birthday for 4.15am, I am a little worried now as them points in the paper, I started just after I left school. so what am I now like 100?? but whay to go @johleen I think your on to a winner with your reminders, not obsessive at all lol

Thanking you!

Hahaha, you must be a wise elder beyond your years!

possibly lol. when you meet me in a few weeks you'll think i'm a nutter lol

life begins at 40 they say. whoever they are. never trusted them. look, great work on the mortality. WE MUST LIVE! and NOT EXIST! happy birthday. i'm 4 years ahead of you! :)

You're right not to trust them.... what nonsense! Life clearly begins at the age you join Steemit. :)

Haha, thank you! Here's to LIVING!

BINGO! (you'll be doing that soon too) hahahaha.

HAHAHA!!! I fear you may be right!!

Lol! Too funny! I turn 40 in a few months, so it's good to keep an eye on all of this as well and make sure that I watch out for the signs and give myself daily reminders of what not to do. :) Ha ha!!

Haha! Yes, very important to start looking out for these signs now... they took me quite by surprise. XD

Happy birthday! :)
You look so young :)
And I have upvoted and followed you :)

aw thank you, you're too kind!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63878.47
ETH 2625.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79