Part 2: I got lost in Slovenia

in #photography5 years ago

This is the second part of my yesterday's post ...

Das ist nun der zweite Teil meines gestrigen Beitrages ...

I got lost in Slovenia

Ruins of stone houses on the way

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Yesterday I was on a hike to Krn Lake (Krnsko Jezero), the largest high-altitude lake in Slovenia.
The normal walking time from the parking lot to the lake is about 2.5 hours. I also needed those 2.5 hours because I was very tired, and that happened:

Ich war gestern auf einer Wanderung zum Krn See (Krnsko Jezero), dem größten Hochgebirgssee von Slowenien.
Die normale Gehzeit vom Parkplatz bis zum See beträgt ca 2,5 Stunden. Diese 2,5 Stunden habe ich auch benötigt, weil ich schon sehr müde war, und das kam so:

I got lost

As soon as I parked my car in the gravel parking lot, which is available to all hikers for free, I saw that two trails lead away from the parking lot. On a small red additional board I saw the name "slap", which means "waterfall" in Slovenian.

Gleich nachdem ich mein Auto auf dem Schotter-Parkplatz abgestellt hatte, der allen Wanderern kostenlos zur Verfügung steht, sah ich, dass von dem Parkplatz zwei Wanderwege wegführen. Auf einer kleinen roten Zusatztafel sah ich die Bezeichnung "Slap", was auf Slowenisch "Wasserfall bedeutet.

The red sign "SLAP"

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Of course, because I love waterfalls, I became curious and took the path to the right. A beautiful, relatively flat forest road led me after about 20 minutes to a precipice on the opposite side of a high waterfall fell down the rocks.

Nachdem ich Wasserfälle liebe, bin ich natürlich neugierig geworden und habe den rechten Weg genommen. Ein schöner, relativ flacher Waldweg führte mich nach ca 20 Minuten an einen Abgrund, auf dessen gegenüberliegender Seite ein hoher Wasserfall die Felsen herabstürzte.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

In order to take better pictures, I would have had to go down the slope, but I wanted to go to the mountain lake. From my location, a small path led up the mountain, and I thought that this path would certainly meet the other path.

Um bessere Fotos machen zu können, hätte ich den Abhang hinuntersteigen müssen, aber ich wollte ja zu dem Bergsee. Von meinem Standort aus führte ein kleiner Pfad den Berg hinauf, und ich dachte mir, dass dieser Pfad sicherlich weiter oben mit dem richtigen Weg zusammentreffen würde.

Great view through the valley

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Snowy mountains

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

So fate took its course, and I climbed the relatively steep slope, the path becoming less and less visible and finally disappearing. A few hundred meters further on, it was over, because suddenly a rockface towered in front of me, which told me that I should turn back.

So nahm das Schicksal seinen Lauf, und ich stieg den relativ steilen Abhang hinauf, wobei der Pfad immer weniger sichtbar wurde und schließlich ganz verschwunden war. Einige hundert Meter weiter war dann Schluss, weil plötzlich eine Felswand vor mir aufragte, welche mir sagte, dass ich umkehren sollte.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

So I turned around but headed for the correct path, with my "path" leading through a steep forest. This forest would be a paradise for forest and tree photographers: conifers and deciduous trees, dead trees, debarked trees, everywhere green moss and ferns, and everything was overgrown.
This was an old, natural forest, as it should be in a nature reserve.

Also kehrte ich um, ging aber in Richtung des korrekten Pfades, wobei mein "Weg" durch einen steilen Wald führte. Dieser Wald wäre ein Paradies für Wald- und Baumfotografen: Nadelbäume und Laubbäume, abgestorbene Bäume, entrindete Bäume, überall grünes Moos und Farne, und alles war verwachsen.
Das war ein alter, naturbelassener Wald, so wie er in einem Naturschutzgebiet auch sein sollte.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

I found my way again

After about 2 1/2 hours I then "coincidentally" arrived back at the starting point and had found my way again.

Nach ungefähr 2 1/2 Stunden war ich dann "zufälligerweise" wieder am Ausgangspunkt angekommen und hatte meinen Weg wiedergefunden.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

After the very arduous 2 1/2 hours, in which I went up the slope and then down the slope, this beautiful wide trail on which you could almost drive, was really fun for a while, until then the tiredness overtook me and the rest of the way up seemed like an eternity, never mind the beautiful forest where I was.

Nach den doch sehr beschwerlichen 2 1/2 Stunden, in denen ich den Abhang hinauf und dann Abhang hinunter gestiegen bin, machte mir dieser schöne breite Wanderweg, auf dem man fast fahren könnte, eine Weile richtig Spaß, bis mich dann die Müdigkeit einholte und der restliche Weg nach oben wie eine Ewigkeit erschien, so schön dieser Wald auch war.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

I got wet

When it then started to rain, the stones, with which the whole way was designed, were a bit slippery, but because of the fairly dense foliage above me not much wetness came through, so that I did not get very wet either.

Als es dann auch noch anfing zu regnen, wurden die Steine, mit welchen der gesamte Weg ausgelegt war, etwas rutschig, aber wegen des ziemlich dichten Blätterdaches über mir kam nicht viel an Nässe durch, so dass ich auch nicht sehr nass geworden bin.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Finally, after another almost 2 1/2 hours, the rain stopped and at the same time the path became flatter again and led through forest and meadows to Krnsko Jezero, the Krn Lake ... finally 😊

Endlich, nach weiteren fast 2 1/2 Stunden, hörte der Regen auf und zugleich wurde der Weg wieder flacher und führte über Wald und Wiesen zum Krnsko Jezero, dem Krn See ... endlich 😊

This sign shows the snow heights

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Will this wood ever be used?

❖ click for fullsize view ❖

Alpine meadows

❖ click for fullsize view ❖


❖ click for fullsize view ❖


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

But I did not go straight to the grassy shore, but over a stone path on the left side of the lake on a hill, so I had a nice overview.

Ich ging aber nicht gleich zum flachen, grasbewachsenen Ufer, sondern über einen Steinpfad an der linken Seite des Sees auf eine Anhöhe, so dass ich einen schönen Überblick hatte.

I was at a mountain lake

A beautiful dark green mountain lake with clear water layed below me, and apart from a few other hikers, who were recovering at the lake, here was only peace and nature. In between, a couple of rain clouds passed over the lake and dropped a few drops, but most of the time the sun was shining hot from the sky.

Ein wunderschöner dunkelgrüner Bergsee mit klarem Wasser lag vor mir, und außer ein paar anderen Wanderern, die sich an dem See erholten, war hier nur Ruhe und Natur. Zwischendurch zogen ein paar Regenwolken über den See hinweg und ließen ein paar Tropfen fallen, aber die meiste Zeit schien die Sonne heiß vom Himmel.


❖ click for fullsize view ❖

After a few relaxing hours at the lake, I made my way back to the valley, which lasted another 1 1/2 hours.
All in all, the day was still beautiful, and I will certainly visit this lake again, but on a direct route.

Nach ein paar entspannenden Stunden am See habe ich mich dann auf den Rückweg ins Tal gemacht, der nochmals etwa 1 1/2 Stunden gedauert hat.
Alles in Allem war der Tag trotzdem wunderschön, und ich werde diesen See sicherlich wieder besuchtn, aber auf direktem Weg.


Shortcuts are good and work as long as a rock wall does not get in the way.

Abkürzungen sind gut und funktionieren, solange sich nicht eine Felswand in den Weg stellt.


All photos show with my Canon EOS R and the RF 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM lens or the EF 70-200mm f/4 L IS II USM lens.


Information

Location / Standort:
Parking
Lake Krn / Krnsko Jezero
Information:
Krn Lake
Krn Mountain
Informationen:
Krn See
Krn Berg

If you like my photos I would appreciate an upvote, nice comment or a resteem 😊 ... and maybe you would like to follow me, so you do not miss a post from me anymore.

Thank you for visiting my blog,
have a nice Sunday evening
and a great new week,
Johann Piber

Photos and Text: Johann Piber
#originalcontent #originalworks #deutsch #austria #steemit-austria

Picture1.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you very much, dear @pixresteemer 😊

@weitblicker and me are going to Slovenia next week, especially looking forward to Triglav and Predjama... Nice pictures :)

Danke dir 😊
Hoffentlich habt ihr schönes Wetter, speziell für den Triglav - die Burg will ich mir irgendwann auch mal anschauen.

Ich meinte den Nationalpark, nicht den Berg 😅

Oh 😉 - der Berg selbst wäre eine schöne Tagestour gewesen, aber im restlichen Nationalparkgebiet gibt es auch sehr viel zu sehen und ich wünsche euch viel Spaß und gutes Wetter :)

Very beautiful places! I see that here, everything is done for the convenience of tourists. Footpaths and signposts facilitate walking. I agree with you that sometimes you don’t need to look for shortcuts, but, as a rule, I’m looking for them)). Sometimes, I have to make a few extra kilometers, because of my desire to shorten the way. I am glad, my Dear friend @Johannpibern, that you could find a way back and took the time to write this wonderful post.

Good morning, my friend,

the footpath is an old road from world war 1, and most of it is easy to walk, but you need mountain boots with a solid sole, because the whole way is designed with small and large stones, which push through the sole after a while and hurt the feet.

Where I have grown up, I know the whole area and don't need any paths or signs to know, where I am, or where to go.

I have seen the path on Google maps before I went to Slovenia, and I knew, that further up the mountain I would meet the correct path again, but I didn't see this rockface 😉
So, I have learned something new: Turn around, when your shortcut path ends, if you don't see the end, or otherwise you will spend more time on your shortcut than on the actual way 😉

Have a great day and week, my friend @barski 😊

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content was selected by @travelfeed curator @for91days and earned you a reward, in form of a 100% upvote and a resteem. Your work really stands out! Your article now has a chance to get featured under the appropriate daily topic on our TravelFeed blog.
Thank you for being part of the TravelFeed community!

TravelFeed
Learn more about our travel project by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord

Thank you very much, @for91days and @travelfeed, I really appreciate it very much :)

Ausgezeichneter Beitrag! Das macht Lust auf Slovenien! :)
Martin erwähnte ja bereits, dass wir nächste Woche ein kleines Abenteuer im südlichen Nachbarland starten! 😊
Klarer Resteem! 👍🏼

Posted using Partiko iOS

Ich danke auch dir - auch fürs resteemen - und wünsche euch nochmals schönes Wetter und viel Spaß beim Aufstieg auf den Triglav 😊

What an adventure! I would freak out if I would get lost and probably never find my way back. That's why I never go to the mountains alone. I love mountains but I know myself too :D

That waterfall is so nice. We have similar ones here when snow melts high in the Alps mainly in May-July. Then you can see those waterfalls that dry out later in summer or early in autumn..

Great photos and great trip! :) Well done! Thank you for sharing and have a good start of the week!

Thank you for your nice comment, Martina 😊 I wish you a great week also.

I was not lost in the meaning of lost - I just lost a path, which was not really there ;)

I would rather get lost in a city than in nature, because right behind my parent's house there is a steep forest up the mountain, and I have been there as often as I could - never got lost ;)

When I go somewhere, where I have never been, I try to remember the important paths and directions, so that I roughly know where to go :)

Lovely pictures, good that you found your way back.

Looking through your photos Slovenia is a really peaceful place with some nice landscape.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much for your nice comment, @anaerwu. You are right, Slovenia is a peaceful and beautiful country, where you can enjoy your life and nature 😊

Congratulations @johannpiber! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much, @steemitboard 😊

Wow, awesome waterfall,lake and natural beauty in Slovenia. I really enjoy your travel photography.

Thank you so much, @kamrunnahar, it makes fun, going out and take photographs, when I know, that people like what I do 😊


You just planted 0.11 tree(s)!


Thanks to @artmentor

We have planted already
8386.77 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 21352.32
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Thank you so much, @treeplanter 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43