1000 Moringas - My Favorite Photo of the Moringa Oleifera tree. Personal challenge: 1 vote = 1 tree donated to my local community

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

Hello. I've been looking for photos of Moringa Oleifera trees for my #1000Moringas challenge.

Before I talk about the challenge, let's talk about the photo.

Moringa Alma_de_gato_na_moringa_oleífera.jpg

It's entitled, "Alma de gato na moringa oleífera", by photographer JOÃO ROTO UENIO. This photograph is licensed under Creative Commons 3.0.

"Alma de gato na moringa oleífera" translates to: "Soul of the cat in Moringa Oleifera." Extraordinary title for an extraordinary photo.

Now, about my Moringa challenge. Moringa Oleifera trees are easy to grow perennial trees with nutrient dense, edible leaves, pods, and seeds. I am planting 1000 trees, to donate to schools, senior centers, food banks, Habitat for Humanity, and for a Craigslist good karma giveaway in my community. 1 vote = 1 tree donated.

This is day 4 of my challenge. 10 trees down, 990 to go!

Progress report:

Yesterday I ordered a package of 1000 seeds from Linda at Paisley Farms and Crafts. They are enroute as I write this.

Today I unearthed and dusted off my good camera, charged the batteries, and it's ready to go. My old Fujis have given up the ghost. Instead of using a webcam or purchasing a little $35 camera online, I'm putting on my big girl pants, and I'm going to master this great Sony camera that actually scares me a little bit. I guess my personal challenge has just officially expanded beyond growing Moringa trees.

O.K. I have the camera. I have seeds on the way. I have 10 votes. Looks like I'm on my way!

You can read a little bit more about Moringas, view additional photos, and even watch a how-to-grow video in the links below:

https://steemit.com/challenge/@joanroberts/1000-moringas-help-me-meet-a-goal-of-planting-1000-moringina-oleifera-trees-for-every-vote-i-will-plant-one-moringa-tree

https://steemit.com/community/@joanroberts/1000-moringas-one-vote-one-tree-for-someone-in-a-school-or-community-group-ordered-my-seeds-today-add-some-light-to-the-world

https://steemit.com/life/@joanroberts/1000-moringas-day-2-moringa-challenge-continued-5-down-995-to-go-1-vote-1-moringa-tree-donated-and-meet-moringa-grower-jake-mace

https://steemit.com/food/@joanroberts/1000-moringas-9-down-991-to-go-1-vote-1-moringa-oleifera-tree-donated-to-my-community

Thanks for stopping by. I hope you'll decide to follow my little Moringa project. I'll be writing more about these amazing trees in the days to come, and will be taking baby photos soon!

Sort:  

How much does it cost to grow one, as in, can I adopt a tree for you, and help reach your goal? I would like to help out if possible. Thanks and good luck.

Oh, my Marine friend, an upvote is all it takes. Even if I don't get 1000 votes, I'm going to grow them!

You're very kind. This is what I'm doing to balance my equilibrium before I write more about uranium. We can't let the dark win!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by joanroberts from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you. I've happy and grateful to have joined the project.

Another hero on giving back to the earth that man has taken. followed

Thank you, but honestly, I'm getting more from this little project than you could imagine.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51