1000 Moringas - help me meet a goal of planting 1000 Moringa Oleifera trees. For every vote, I will plant one Moringa Tree!

in #challenge7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone!

I've been learning about and researching and becoming immersed in dark matters lately, and it's time to come up for fresh air and sunshine.

I grew Moringa trees for a few years and let this little pursuit go by the wayside. I live in a climate where I must keep them shaded in the summer and covered for warmth during freezing weather.

I realized today that what I'm doing - and what I'm not doing - isn't balanced or healthy. If we don't take care of ourselves, how can we possibly help inform others, keep the resistance going, and reclaim our democracy?

I live in southern Arizona. The temperature was 116 degrees here one day last week, but I can still start Moringas.

For those of you who aren't familiar with Moringa trees, they are a fast growing tree that thrives in a tropical climate, but they can grow anywhere indoors. In the US, they are grown in Hawaii, Florida, California, Arizona, and Texas - at least, that I am aware of.

I've only grown mine potted outdoors. The trees rapidly grow tasty leaves that are great in soup and stir-fry dishes. Moringas have a dense nutritional value. They are high in anti-oxidants, and their leaves also contain up to around 17% protein.

I grow them like bushy plants and cut them back for the greens. After I strip the leaves, I add the stems to the compost pile.

I'd like to invite you on this journey with me. I will donate the Moringas I don't eat to schools, a senior center, and food banks in my area, and will even do a Craigslist giveaway.

I will break out my old Fuji digital camera, see if I can get her working and document the progress of my personal challenge.

Your votes and your encouragement will help motivate me to get in shape and come back into the light. And I know these beautiful little Moringa trees will spark joy.

Tell your friends. Resteem. Watch for upcoming posts and photos!

Help spread some light with #1000Moringas .

And thank you, thank you, thank you. There's a big smile on my face as I write this, and I feel lighter already.

Screenshot_2017-07-01-01-57-43.png photo courtesy of wikipedia.com

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Never heard about that tree. You are not alone greening the world:
https://steemit.com/esperanto/@johano/the-man-who-planted-trees-la-homo-kiu-kreskigis-arbojn
You get100% upvote. Have a beautiful day!

Thank you! I will visit the link.

Amazing!
That's a great plan!
Plant more trees! :)

I will plant one for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 57983.59
ETH 3132.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44