1000 Moringas: Day 2 Moringa challenge, continued: 5 down, 995 to go. 1 vote = 1 Moringa tree donated. Meet Moringa grower Jake Mace

in #life7 years ago (edited)

Day 2 of the #1000Moringas challenge, continued.

This is my personal challenge to plant and grow 1000 Moringa Oleifera trees to donate to food banks, schools, senior centers, Habitat for Humanity, and to give away on Craigslist in my community. For every upvote on Steemit, I will plant and grow a small Moringa tree and donate it locally.

Moringa Oleifera trees are easy to grow, fast-growing, nutrient dense trees that can be grown indoors or out, do best outdoors in mild/tropical climates, but can be shaded from extremes in heat and covered to prevent freezing in areas like Southern Arizona, where I live. They can also be container grown and brought indoors in the winter.

I started this challenge to open my heart and my head and regain some balance in my life. Growing these trees sparks joy for me - hopefully they will for others, too, and bring a little light into a world that is too dark, too often.

It would be dishonest for me not to say I'm doing this for myself, as well. Just the thought of looking at dozens of little perky green Moringa trees makes me feel lighter.

Today I'd like you to meet Jake Mace, The Vegan Athlete on YouTube. He's a phenomenal super-gardener who lives in the greater Phoenix area. Here's a segment he recorded on his experience with growing Moringa Trees:

I will begin documenting this journey with my own photos as soon as I have the seeds. Watch for updates. Glad you stopped by.

Sort:  

Congratulations @joanroberts! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58132.39
ETH 3138.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44