Nice and safe on the sidelines - Parasailing in Puerto Vallarta

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

There are some risks in life I don't know that I really need to take.

Parasailing is one of them. I am not sure I could bring myself to go parasailing, but I am sure glad that this brave soul decided to take a walk on the wild side, because I ended up with some of my favorite shots from our honeymoon in Puerto Vallarta. Here are some captures of a parasail's launch, followed by the long descent.

Up..
IMG_1334.JPG

Up...
IMG_1335.JPG

Up.....
IMG_1336.JPG

And away!!
IMG_1337.JPG

Are you a risk-taker? Would you go bungee jumping? Sky diving?

Coming in for the landing

IMG_1100.JPG

IMG_1110.JPG

Good thing we're near the ocean, because I'd be losing my lunch about now.
IMG_1111.JPG

Oh dear make it stop!
IMG_1115.JPG

IMG_1116.JPG

The landing crew rushes in to collect the brave flyer.
IMG_1125.JPG

Onlookers gasp in pure fright. "Is she okay??!!"
IMG_1141.JPG

More landing crew rushes in to gather the sail.
IMG_1142.JPG

Reel her in!
IMG_1143.JPG

Looks like she made it back alive....
IMG_1148.JPG

...THIS TIME!

A little history about parasailing for you. If you are ever brave enough to give it a try....
  • In 1962, Pierre-Marcel Lemoigne invented the first prototype parasail and he created a training center for parachutists to use his prototype.
  • Training with parasailing was great for parachutists, because they could practice their landings over and over without having to actually fall from a plane.
  • In 1974, the first parasailing equipment to launch and recover the parasail, known as a Winchboat, was invented by Mark McCulloh.
  • In 1976, the design of the parasail's canopy was improved upon by Brian Gaskin, in a design known as the Waterbird. The Waterbird included several advancements to improve safety.

History source


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, please check out my blog and some of my other nature and photography posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet taken in August 2012 with a Canon Rebel xTi.

Sort:  

woow! @jaymorebeet
you my hero... what! Parasailing in Puerto Vallarta...
When ext you go Parasailing in another place, inform me as a spectator will come cheer you up
nice one dear...you did well

WOW! Great pics, loved it :)

@some-think
love it too... can you try such...parasailing?

Well it looks nice, would be interesting to try... kind a scary, but interesting :)

sure...parasailing is scaring but interesting...once you agree let me know!
so which are do you blog...can i check?

Well I'm here only like 5 minutes and have only my introduction post, you can find it on my account :)

ok....will check it out and you see...comments get you notced fast!
welcome

Thanks! Too scary for me, but I enjoyed watching safely on the shore :)

I am not a super adventurous soul, and randomly I just saw someone parasailing on TV and was thinking how much fun that would be. It's definitely something I would try since I'm very comfortable in water.

Awesome! I'll take your photos from the land :)

Beautiful photos! I would love to check Mexico out one day!

@kotturinn
great choice...parasailing in mexico! when ready inform me so i come take some photos! ;)
nice comment dear...

Haha I shall let you know! Hopefully next year!

deal then...may even agree to hang on your back so we parasail together!
Which area do you blog?

Thanks girl!! Yeah I can't wait to go back! The food is 👌🏻👌🏻

Oh I bet the food is delicious! when I lived in Crimea I had no idea about Mexican cuisine, but now I don't know how I lived for 30 years without guacamole haha

Oh man Mexican food has it all- fresh veggies and awesome marinated meats, and guac! My favorite dish while there was chicken mole- I tried to re-create it when I got back and it took forever but it was kind of close- definitely not as good as the real thing though!

Chicken mole hmm, are you referring to the chocolaty sauce?

Yeah it's like chiles, a zillion spices, a bit of chocolate - comes in loads of varieties depending on who cooks it. Without saying it out loud it looks like chicken mole- as in chicken freckle, beauty mark. Definitely did not eat some chicken moles. Ew.

I think I know what you're talking about, I haven't had it myself, but I saw different kinds of mole at Mexican grocery. A friend of mine said she didn't like it, but Mexican people on the other hand love it. I should try it haha

The stuff you buy in the store is no comparison to the real thing. No wonder!

I might be convinced to parasail. At least I'd be tethered to a boat and not float away. LOL
Things I won't do unless I risked death otherwise: parachuting or bungee jumping. Life is short enough. I don't want to yank the dragon's tail. lol

Hahah yank the dragon's tail- that's new to me and I am going to keep it. Thanks ;) true about being tethered to a boat- I would need to see the complete resume and life history of the operator before i would even consider it. I'd have to interview his/her parents and friends and...

If I can survive tubing with my father driving -- and hellbent on trying to kill us (joking...I think) -- then I could probably trust a licensed SOBER operator. LOL Ah, youth! So glad I lived through it.

Me too! No wonder you're our fearless leader!! Yes sober please...at least 25 years experience too...

I seen stuff like this in Florida. We don’t have wings I’ll pass!

Exactly! I am a top notch spectator. I'll stick to what I know :)

I bet there's a nice waiver you have to sign. My favorite shot is the "reel her in!"

Haha yeah- at least they had multiple water vehicles coming in for the landing...

Well done, and congratulations on getting some great shots from the sidelines @jaymorebeet! I just don't think I'd have it in me... heights and I don't do too well together... and people voluntarily jumping out of perfectly good airplanes doesn't do it for me, either... I think some people have the "daredevil gene" and others just don't. I would be one of the "others."

Hah! I'm with you- I think there's a certain amount of risk I'm aok with- like rides at amusement parts- I'm all about them. But me,in the sky, no track or road, eeeek!

I would love to do this... but I've always been put off by the cost... :(

I also want to go paragliding off the cliffs at Torrey Pines near San Diego, but again the cost has been more frightening than the risk... ;)

😄😇😄

@creatr

You are a brave, brave soul. Take a GoPro with you or something if/when you do it!

You can bet I will... I will want to be able to re-live and share the experience! ;)

Yess! So looking forward to it. Ok what are you waiting for? Go!! :)

Hahahahahaha... Maybe I'll ask for it for my birthday... in the fall... ;)

Perfect! Do the trees change colors out there? Those pics would be awesome!

We do have a fair number of maples in town that turn lovely reds and yellows, but it's nothing like New England... :D

You should try it! Parasailing is fun; like flying.

Eeep I need to muster up some significant amount of strength first!

OR . . . a lot of alcohol ;)

hah! yes....for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51