Real Sourdough Baguette and Walnut Garden Pesto - Recipes and Food Photos

in #food7 years ago (edited)

Homemade sourdough bread. Doesn't get much better than the crackly crust, chewy inside, and the tangy, nutty aroma. Once you have a good sourdough starter, all you need to do is feed it regularly with water and flour, and you've got a perfect leavening for your bread, waffles, muffins, that is way better than store-bought yeast. I've been making sourdough at home for several years, using the same starter kept going throughout. I'm not saying that I'm against store-bought yeast, but there's a time and a place for it. When you want a great loaf of crusty bread, go for the wild-yeast sourdough and, yes, it takes a bit longer, but the payoff is guaranteed to be worth it.

dJI6A2519.jpg

dJI6A2513.jpg

My go-to sourdough recipe is a variation New York Times' No-Knead Sourdough. I've used recipes that require you to knead the dough for 15 minutes until your forearms feel like jello and your hands cramp up, but honestly, the no-knead sourdough has all the glory of the kneaded version with no need to knead.

dJI6A2310.jpg
The sourdough starter crock

dJI6A2312.jpg
Bubbly starter is well-fed and ready to make bread!

In my sourdough, I replace one cup of the all purpose flour with whole wheat flour, which brings more nuttiness to the bread. I also skip the sesame seeds. Also, instead of dissolving the starter in water and then adding it to the flour and salt, I just dump everything together and add water until it comes together in a shaggy ball.

dJI6A2322.jpg

dJI6A2327.jpg
Ready to rest all night

I let this rest overnight on the countertop, for about 15 hours total. Then I turned the dough onto the counter and folded the ends in letter-style twice. Here's a tutorial on this technique. Once I had a rectangle, I rolled it with my hands on the counter to form a baguette shape, channeling my inner youth self making Play Doh snakes.

dJI6A2429.jpg
Folded "Letter Style"

I let it proof on the counter for about 2 hours, preheated the oven to 450°F and set a baking sheet on the middle rack, and a different pan with a inch water on the lower rack. As the water from the lower pan evaporates, it creates steam in the oven to help the bread rise while it's cooking by delaying the crust formation.

dJI6A2447.jpg

I used a straight razor to slash the top off the loaf before putting it in the oven. Once the outside of the loaf had a nice golden brown color, I took it out and let it cool for at least 20 minutes before slicing. This resting stage is very difficult when you just want to cut into your bread, but it is necessary to allow the crumb to set - don't you want those nice bubbles?! Let it rest.

dJI6A2503.jpg

dJI6A2507.jpg

dJI6A2510.jpg
"I love you", she whispers softly.

In the meantime, I made some walnut pesto with basil from the garden. It comes out just like pine nut pesto, but at about a quarter of the cost. Thank me later.

dJI6A2439.jpg
Everything you need for the pesto.

dJI6A2440.jpg
Basil from the garden after a good pruning.

I threw a heap of basil, grated parmesan cheese, a few cloves of garlic, some salt and pepper, and a few handfuls of walnuts into the blender. If you have a food processor, that would work too. I drizzled olive oil in until the consistency was just right, and adjusted seasonings once it was done. Pretty precise right? Not at all. You can't really mess this up.

dJI6A2444.jpg
Pesto? Presto!

Slice that bread when it's good and rested. Shmear on some pesto. Yum.

dJI6A2527.jpg

dJI6A2522.jpg

dJI6A2524.jpg

You can fancy it up if you want too. I'll do another post soon on some of my favorite ways to eat this sourdough. For now, you've got all you need for a perfect appetizer! Enjoy!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 7/5 and 7/6/2017 using a Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

thank you for sharing this. excellent job..
keep it up...

So kind of you :) I really appreciate your comment! Thanks @kenhudoy!

awww i knew apart from your excellent cooking skills you such a sweet mum...keep it up. thanks for the response. that reminds me, check out my blog posts on family versus office and latest on brain efficiency...a good read to tickle your fancy.. comment and support also
thanks

Of course the bread looks good, but I really love the easy pesto. Last year I had an abundance of basil so I made pesto (i did use pine nuts but I'm going to switch to walnuts now). I made so much pesto that I decided to try freezing it in those silicone ice cube trays. Once it freezes, you can pop out the pesto cubes and store them in a freezer bag or container. I have a vacuum sealer that works well for this too. Then during the winter months when fresh basil is hard to find, you can take out a couple of cubes and add it to any dish. Adds freshness to dinner or a breakfast omelet. Keep up the good work!

Oh perfect! Thanks for the idea- I made a lot of it and freezing some is definitely what I need to do!

This looks so yum! Not a regular bread eater but sourdough is just yum! Never tried to make it myself! Well done!

Thanks! My motto is if you're going to have bread- make it some dang good bread. That's not really my motto, but you get my point :) Once you get the hang of it it's pretty easy and tastes better because it's homemade. :)

Great post @jaymorebeet! Really nice food photography, and I like your Play-Doh reference 😉 And I would have never pictured walnuts in pesto but it sounds good.

How do you keep your starter, refrigerated, or no?

Up-voted and re-steemed!!!

Thanks @cognoscere! Sourdough is where baking and microbiology unite forces! Great question about the starter. It's activity level is dependent on temperature: At warmer temperatures the yeast needs to 'eat' more often (every 12-24h). If it is stored in the refrigerator, it can go about a week between feedings. If it is stored in the fridge, before you use it to bake anything you need to feed it about 3 times to make it 'wake-up' from its sleepy cold state, each feeding spaced about 12h apart. So, if I'm going to bake frequently, I keep it on the counter so I don't have to wait a day and a half to revive it before baking. However, if I'm not planning on baking frequently (e.g. Less than a few times a week), I keep it in the fridge and just plan ahead for the next time I want to bake to make sure I take it out early enough. Hope that helps! Let me know if you have any more questions ;) I'm happy to help! Thanks for the resteem!

This post has received a 2.79 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @jaymorebeet.

Just keep doing what you are doing, you are offering great value tonthe world. It will pay off sooner or later. This is awesome food right here, just perfect.

Thank you for sharing, this looks delicious! Upvoted ♥♥

Once you've got your sourdough starter, you're golden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60445.30
ETH 2331.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52