Brookgreen Gardens - Where sculpture, poetry, and nature dance together

in #art7 years ago (edited)

Brookgreen Gardens, located near Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, USA, spans over 9100 acres and combines horticulture, sculpture, poetry, and other works of art into one beautiful display after another. The garden has been named one of the top public gardens in the United States, and is accredited by the American Alliance of Museums, the Association of Zoos and Aquariums, and is also designated as a National Historic Landmark by the U.S. National Parks Service. What all of this means is that this place is a sight to behold. At Brookgreen Gardens, acres upon acres of lush gardens mingle with art and sculpture. Each emphasizes the beauty of the other. Around every corner is another sight of beauty. Here are some of my favorite shots from a visit I had a few years back.

dSummerVacation2010046.jpg
Pegasus by Augustus Saint-Gaudens (1848-1907)

dSummerVacation2010028.jpg
Sea Urchin by Edward Berge (1876 - 1924) Bronze 1921.
Edward Berge modeled this sculpture after his niece Sarah. He enjoyed the moments where children discovered treasures at the shore., as is depicted in this playful sculpture. Interestingly, an enlarged reproduction of the sculpture, set in Baltimore, Maryland, USA, was subject to repeated vandalism, and would periodically disappear only to reappear elsewhere in the city.

dSummerVacation2010037.jpg
Fountain of the Muses, by Carl Milles

dSummerVacation2010017.jpg
Samson and the Lion by Gleb Derujinsky (1888 - 1975) Limestone 1949
Derujinsky referenced Biblical stories often in his artwork, and sculpted not only in limestone, but also in clay and wood.

dSummerVacation2010056.jpg
Forest Idyl by Albin Polasek (1879 - 1965) Bronze 1903.
Polasek sculpted this piece while he was a visiting professor at the Art Institute of Chicago, but his training at the American Academy in Rome initiated his interest in sculpting the human figure.

dSummerVacation2010024.jpg
Live Oak trees are common in the Southern U.S., and are named for their gnarled and twisting branch structure. This Live Oak touched down before growing upwards.
A fun fact about live oak trees, from the National Wildlife Federation: "Wood from southern live oaks is incredibly tough and durable. The naval vessel USS Constitution was nicknamed “Old Ironsides” after her live oak hull survived repeated cannon fire during the War of 1812."

dSummerVacation2010052.jpg
Spanish Moss on the Live Oak Trees

dSummerVacation2010054.jpg
St. Francis by Julian Hoke Harris (1906 - 1987) Bronze, 1962.
Harris was commissioned to sculpt President Jimmy Carter's inaugural medal.

dSummerVacation2010058.jpg
Spanish Moss is also referred to as Grandad's Beard. I think maybe it's time Grandad visited the barber.

dSummerVacation2010063.jpg
Adonis by Eli Harvey (1860-1957), Bronze, 1905.

From Brookgreen Garden's website, its mission is:

To collect, conserve and exhibit figurative sculpture by American artists;
To cultivate a display garden and exhibit sculpture therein;
To collect, conserve and exhibit the plants, animals and cultural materials of the South Carolina Lowcountry;
To educate a diverse audience about sculpture, horticulture and the ecology and history of the Lowcountry;
To provide additional artists and cultural opportunities for members, guests and the community;
To sustain the institution and all of its assets with visionary leadership, sound management and prudent fiscal policies.

dSummerVacation2010073.jpg
This bronze female figure is set near the Brown Sculpture Court in the Poetry Garden.

dSummerVacation2010082.jpg
Sunflowers by Charles Cropper Parks (1922-2012), Bronze.
Before he passed away, Parks donated nearly 300 of his sculptures to the state of Delaware so that they could be shared with the public.

dSummerVacation2010089.jpg
Lions by Anna Hyatt Huntington (1876-1973) Bronze, 1930.
There are two Lions sculptures, which were first displayed in 1930 New York City's Hispanic Society of America. In 1932, they were brought to Brookgreen Gardens. The globes that are positioned between the lion's paws represent each lion protecting a part of the world.

dSummerVacation2010091.jpg

I'll leave you with a poem inscribed on a copper placard among the gardens.
dSummerVacation2010059.jpg

Brookgreen Gardens
I stood in these Gardens of Beauty
Where the old and the new interchange,
And my soul on wings of the morning
Rose free in its infinite range.

For here in these Gardens of Beauty
Where my heart was attuned to the past
I heard a soft sound as of footfalls
And the creak of a bending mast.

And a figure was wafted past me,
The daughter of Aaron Burr,
As she lightly descended the stairway,
To the waters that ripple and stir.

And my heart cried out "I must stop her."
As she went to her nameless fate.
And I put out my arms as she passed me,
But I knew that my help was too late.

And I saw the lovely young matron,
Take boat on the channel that led,
To the ill-fated vessel, the Patriot,
Ghost-ship of the lost and the dead.

And now the graves of her loved ones,
Alone mark the place of my tears,
And I found I was left in the Garden,
With ashes of vanished years.

--Maude Waddell, 1950


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out some of my recent nature and photography posts:


All photos by @jaymorebeet, taken in 2010 using Canon Rebel EOS xTi.

Sort:  

Good job. Well researched post.

Thanks @elemar! It's amazing how old some of those sculptures are - over 100 years, and still so beautiful.

Hello, Taica here. I am doing the selection of the most underrated posts and share it with my followers and the Steemit community. I my opinion there is too much quality content on Steemit which remains overlooked everyday and lost in the blockchain.

Here you can see my latest “Taica’s selection” containing your post, which I’ve also upvoted and resteemed.

https://steemit.com/chainbb-general/@taica/taicas-selection-21-share-moments-steem-life-repost

If you like this post you can show the gratitude by following me and upvoting, resteeming Taica’s Selection

NOTE: In Taica’s selection thread I am searching for a (in my opinion) genuine and nice, quality posts. The topic is not about giving my critique about the posts or authors that I include. It is simply something that I like and want to share with my followers. Should you disagree to be included in my topic, please let me know and your links will be removed. Thank you.

Share moments, Steem Life

All the best @taica

Nice post @jaymorebeet, what a great tour of Brookgreen Gardens, it looks like a great place to spend a day exploring all those wonderful sculptures. I really like the Southern setting with the Spanish moss and the ferns that grow on the trees in their own little ecosystem. Good job!!!

Yes, if you can get past the suffocating humidity, then it really is a place of beauty and art. Next time, I'm going in February!

Great story, what a beautiful place. It reminds me of a place in NJ called Grounds for Sculpture. You've inspired me to take a trip there soon and tell our fellow Steemians all about it . Thanks for sharing your visit 👍🏻

Awesome! Let me know how you like it! There is a little zoo there too but I didn't see it when I was there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60192.33
ETH 2321.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50