Miso Ramen with Chicken and Recovered Veggies - Recipe and Food Photos

in #food7 years ago (edited)

I'm excited to share this recipe with you - because this meal came together so quickly that I have the time to share it with you! This soup has a miso base and is loaded with shredded chicken and shredded collard greens over a bed of ramen. Top it with your favorite chili or hoisin sauce, a squeeze of lime if you want, and you've got yourself a weeknight meal that comes together fast and is sure to please.

dJI6A2280.jpg

What's a recovered vegetable, you ask? Each week I receive a delivery of recovered produce from Hungry Harvest. This company has an awesome concept - they deliver (mostly) local fruits, veggies, and other grocery items, that would normally be too ugly to make it into the grocery store, or items with a surplus, are re-routed to people like me, who don't give a hoot whether my apples are scarred, or zucchini is crooked. Some of the items in this week's Harvest were a big bouquet of local collard greens, a bunch of green onions, and two huge portobello mushrooms. Perfect additions for some miso ramen soup, in my humble opinion.

dJI6A2243.jpg
Recovered vegetables that had no home. I'll give you a home in my belly.

This recipe is forgiving - it's soup after all. Everything was just eyeballed and into the pot it went. First I heated about a tablespoon of toasted sesame oil and tossed in half a diced white onion, 3 cloves of garlic, minced, and let them saute for a few minutes until they were softened a bit. The kitchen already smelled amazing at this point.

dJI6A2295.jpg

Then I took the stems out of the collard greens and sliced them into thin strips before adding them to the pot with the onion and garlic. After a few minutes I added one quart of chicken stock and let the greens cook down for about 5 minutes.

d ingredients.jpg
Collard greens, portobello mushrooms, shredded cooked chicken breast, rice ramen noodles

I roughly chopped the mushrooms, and shredded up some chicken breast that I had grilled yesterday. You could also use a rotisserie chicken from the store, or tofu, or thinly sliced steak instead of the chicken.

dJI6A2258.jpg

dJI6A2265.jpg
Add chicken, mushrooms, scallions

Then, in go the mushrooms, chicken, and green onions, thinly sliced. I also minced up a small knob of ginger and threw that into the pot as well. After a few more minutes I added another quart of chicken stock.

I prepared some millet and brown rice ramen in a separate pot the ramen or rice vermicelli according to the instructions. For the rice ramen, I boiled for about 5 minutes in salted water, using a fork to loosen up the noodles as they cooked.

dJI6A2287.jpg

Once the vegetables in the soup are nearly cooked through, it's time to add the miso. I used shiro miso, but whatever type you like would work great. For every 1 cup of liquid, add 1 tablespoon of miso. I added about a half cup of miso, and used a fork to help it dissolve into the broth.

dJI6A2277.jpg

After a couple minutes of simmering, it was time to dish it up. I put ramen into the bowl, then spooned the soup over top. Sauced it up with some sriracha and hoisin and dang...so much umami!

dJI6A2304.jpg

Next time I'm throwing an over easy egg on there, but that's the only way I could see this soup being any better. Enjoy!


Thanks for reading! If you enjoyed this post, check out my other food and recipe posts:


All content and photos by @jaymorebeet, taken on 7/5/2017 using a Canon EOS 7D MarkII.

Sort:  

This sounds delish and very easy to prepare. I get a weekly box of veggies from an organic co-op and I always have more than the amount of salad I want to make. This is an excellent way to use more greens! I bet most any vegetable could be added. Thanks

Yeah - super flexible dish. Any greens would work great - also, they cook down a lot so you end up eating a lot of those healthy greens in this soup.

Nice post @jaymorebeet, I love miso soup and noodles, so I'm pretty sure I'd also like your spin on it!!!

Then I think you would! Thanks for reading and commenting @cognoscere!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58539.27
ETH 2627.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40