What happened to me in Egypt? Model story.

in #photography7 years ago

When you think about fashion, Egypt is the last country which is going to appear in your mind, right?

Yes, I thought the same until I got scouted online by Egyptian photographer . He was scouting for models for one of his upcoming lookbook shootings.

Of course, I started to Google this guy and check his social media. And meanwhile collecting information about him I suddenly discovered that Egypt actually has designers, photographers, production agencies and even modeling agencies. So I accepted the job and got very official and properly maid job contract (in which all details about shoot, my accommodation place, my salary and other terms were written) plus flight tickets to Cairo and back.

This official and actually proper way of doing modeling and fashion business was a big surprise for me. Because even in my hometown back in Russia when I was modeling I never had job contracts and usually not even got paid for my job. Agencies and clients, or maybe just agencies just loved to rip of their models . Even if client was paying for model we never got our money, all as going to agency... literally all.

Believe me this is fact - rare models actually earn and not only in Russia.

So, why not travel for free to Egypt plus earn some money? And I took a plane.

What do you think happened next?

I'll tell you, next - one of the most amazing modeling and travelling experiences happened to me =)

We shot one day lookbook for a local casual wear company and then decided to shoot some nice pictures in Egyptian canyon for portfolio. Few weeks later lookbook together with me was all over the city on the biggest city billboards and few months later our portfolio shooting got published in fashion magazine.

Could I imagine that my modeling career will go on that well in Egypt? No!

That's how I learned that stereotypes and doubts will never bring me anywhere. And that it does not matter in which country you are, but it really matters what you do and which people you work with.

We live on a planet, not in country.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steemit @irinakrupneva :)

Welcome Bot Banner

Make sure to participate in this weeks giveaway to get known in the community!

Here are some helpful tips to get you started:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43