Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto & Havarti Grilled Cheese - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Testing tethering-098.jpg

Who else is excited about this Summer?

Testing tethering-155.jpg

I’m already feeling the need to switch out the wardrobe from jackets and boots so I can dig out all the shorts and flip-flops. Maybe this is just me, but there’s just something so liberating about not having to layer up to walk outside. It’s like more of the world opens up during the warmer seasons. I love it.

Testing tethering-100.jpg

Also, it sounds like my family is going to be having lots of visitors through the Summer. We’ve got plans with both old and new friends so it’s going to be a really busy season of barbecues, picnics, and sports. Oh, and there’s only a few days left until that trip I’ve been hinting at. I’ll take away the vagueness and tell you where I’m going. I’m spending a few days in Victoria, British Columbia and I’m so looking forward to it.

Testing tethering-097.jpg

Okay, today I’m sharing one of the best quick fixes I’ve come up with in a while. I don’t know about you, but I adore pesto of any kind. The traditional kind is always a favorite, but I really enjoy putting in some unexpected ingredient too? Did you know pesto doesn’t have any rules? In fact, I feel that way about cooking in general. If you’re trying to always do things “right” you’re doing it all wrong.

Testing tethering-099.jpg

Not that there aren’t some recipes that must be done in a specific way to get the best results, but in most cases there is plenty of room for some fun little changes or a little surprise ingredient. Cooking is both science and art.

Testing tethering-106.jpg

Anyway, I know for sure already that some of those friends I was talking about are vegetarians I really enjoy trying a variety of cooking challenges anyway, so I decided to keep this sandwich meatless. Actually, I had originally planned to make it a vegan sandwich until I looked closely at some cheese I’d gotten for it and realized it wasn’t really a vegan cheese, just lactose free. That’s okay, I just decided I’ll try some vegan cheese in another recipe and I grabbed the havarti, which by the way, if you’ve never tried it you’re missing out. I’m not much of a cheese person myself but it’s currently my family’s favorite and if I do go for cheese on occasion, it’s my favorite too.

The real star of this recipe if, of course, the pesto! The recipe makes enough pesto for quite a few sandwiches, but the good thing is that it saves well and also, it can be used in so many ways other than on these sandwiches. So let’s do a simple breakdown of this sandwich. Start with some rye bread, add some fresh baby spinach and lightly sautéed mushrooms, havarti cheese, and a very generous amount of the sun-dried tomato pesto, then melt all together quick and easy. OOoooooh, if you’ve got a panini press that would be amazing too. Why don’t I have a panini press by the way? I don’t know but clearly I need to fix that asap.

Testing tethering-142.jpg

I’d say this sandwich is the perfect way to get into the mood for everything fresh and summery. If you try be sure to let me know what you think!

Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto & Havarti Grilled Cheese


Prep Time: 10 minutes
Cook Time: 15 minutes
Total Time: 25 minutes
Yield: 1 sandwich + extra pesto

This fresh and flavorful sandwich makes the perfect non-boring lunchbox item or quick weeknight dinner.

Ingredients

Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto:


1 (8 ounce) jar sun-dried tomatoes in oil
1 (5 ounce) can tomato paste
1 cup fresh baby spincah
1/4 cup walnuts (you can also use a different nut such as almonds if desired)
1/4 cup pine nuts (or more walnuts)
1/2 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese
1 cup fresh basil leaves, tightly packed
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper

Sandwich:


2 slices rye bread
1 tablespoon olive oil, divided
1/2 cup button mushrooms, sliced
1/4 cup fresh baby spinach leaves
3-4 tablespoons sun-dried tomato pesto (recipe above)
2 slices havarti cheese

Instructions

Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto:


Combine all ingredients in food processor or blender and pulse until nearly smooth. Store in an air-tight container and refrigerate for up to 2 weeks or freeze for up to 4 months.

Sandwich:


Heat a skillet over medium high heat and add about 1/2 tablespoon olive oil. Sauté the mushrooms for 2-3 minutes until lightly browning along the edges. Remove from pan and assemble the sandwich by layering the mushrooms with the spinach, havarti, and pesto on the slices of bread.
Add the other 1/2 tablespoon of oil to the skillet to the pan and reduce heat to low. Grill the sandwich on both sides for about 5 minutes until the bread is toasted and the cheese is melted.
Enjoy!

Gringalicious-border.png

For more great food ideas and inspiration, please do not forget to look at my other recent posts

  1. Caramel Milkshakes + Celebrating 15,000 Followers!
  2. Easy Cinnamon Sweet Potato Quick Bread
  3. Sweet Hot Sesame Mustard Chicken Pizza
  4. Blueberry Almond Streusel Crumb Muffins (Gluten Free)
  5. Hummus Crusted Chicken Meal Prep Bowls
  6. https://steemit.com/photography/@gringalicious/5-ingredient-s-mores-puff-pastry-pop-tarts-food-photo-shoot
  7. Oven-Fried Chicken & Buttermilk Waffles
  8. Chocolate Chili Avocado Truffles
  9. Roasted Red Pepper+Chicken Orzo Pasta Skillet
  10. Thank You So Much!: Gringalicious Hits 75 Rep Score

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Design Logo.jpg

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

Testing tethering-138.jpg

My Current Stats: 67,267 Steem Power | 15,130 Followers | 31,745 Posts | Reputation 75.103

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

What, delight @gringalicious, thank you for sharing, I'm going to put this recipe into practice and I'll tell you how, I'm staying!

Thanks @ordosjc. I look forward to hearing how you like it.

Looks delicious :-)

I want to try.

Well done, nice meal .. looks delicious
Great post from you
Thanks for sharing the recipe

thanks so much for the continued support @slimanepro

Finally, you let the cat out of the bag. Columbia!!!!!!!!! Heard it's a fun spot and I hope to visit one day too. I look forward to the updates when you make the trip. I wish you fun.

Who else is excited about this summer? Please, I am excited about this Sun-Dried Tomato Pesto: Havarti Grilled Cheese.

I totally understand the warmer weather, where you don't have to layer up like the onions hahaha. I hope you added me to the lists of those visiting in the summer? I've got some outfits, for for warmer weather for you.

You surely make cooking fun, and you are right, it is both art and science and you dazzle with it. Well done. I really wish I could grab a bite of this. You can't download food? I just did, with this, I just can't taste it. Well done. I like your attention to details.

you're coming to visit?

So, I understand you do all this steeming on your phone? If so, that's amazing.

Hahaha Yes, I do it all on my phone. The help I have received so far on it is massive. I am absolutely delighted.

I would love to be there, but one day, one day.

Thanks for being so nice and kind. Means a lot me.

I love pesto with parsley but also from time to time I add some unexpected ingredients ;) Cooking is all about fun! 😊

I'd love to hear some of those unexpected ingredients @xuanito

Haha I add what I actually find in my kitchen ;) It can be hot chilli, cilantro, rucola or even oregano 😉

Looks like a nice lunch break sandwich. :)

lunch break, you bet, this would work great

Delicious food and awsome food photography,good job.

Your post is always different i follow your blog everytime,your post is so helpful.I always inspire of your post on my steem work.Thank you for sharing @grigalicious

You follow my blog @powerupme and upvote please

Good photography 😎

This is a very unique preparation if you are busy all the day, say morning till evening and if you eat this stuff you wont feel hungry at least till evening

As always, beautiful photos!!

very kind, thanks so much

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95