Early Summer Veggie Couscous Salad - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Balsamic Roasted Veggie and Chickpea Couscous Salad (Vegan)-2.jpg

So I discovered a few years ago how much I love couscous. Who knew that it could be so easy to prep. Forget pasta and rice. Compared to cooking them, couscous is almost an instant food. I can’t believe how easy it is. Now if you’d like to make this recipe gluten free you can always substitute some quinoa and I can tell you that’s just as delicious.

Balsamic Roasted Veggie and Chickpea Couscous Salad (Vegan)-1.jpg

When my little sis asked me what it was I told her it was like baby rice. She thought is was so cute. That’s how I got her to eat a few bites before she saw that I put zucchini in it. It was over after that. I can feel that this is going to be a very difficult age for her and even more for all of us. uh huh, Yep. Not sure if we’re all gonna make it.

So what do you do with couscous? There are like so many possibilities here. I went with a salad for this recipe and you guys are going to love it. It was just one of those days that needed the smell of veggies roasting in the oven, you know what I mean? Everyone loves that smell even those that don’t eat their veggies.

Balsamic Roasted Veggie and Chickpea Couscous Salad (Vegan)-3.jpg

I am kind of addicted to balsamic and I not only roasted the veggies in it but then I added more to the finished salad. What? It’s so good. I couldn’t help it. Just trust me on this, you need this salad in your life. It is crazy delicious if I do say so myself.

Balsamic Roasted Veggie and Chickpea Couscous Salad (Vegan)-4.jpg

Early Summer Veggie Couscous Salad


Summer isn't complete without making some colorful salads to compliment your favorite meals. This delicious salad is packed with flavors!

Prep Time 10 minutes
Cook Time 50 minutes
Total Time 1 hour

Ingredients
1 1/2 cups uncooked organic whole wheat cous cous use quinoa if GF
1 1/2 cups water
3 cups canned chickpeas
1 large or 2 small zucchini chopped
1 small onion chopped
3 cloves garlic minced
1 bunch freah basil leaves roughly chopped
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil divided
6 tablespoons balsamic vinegar divided
salt and pepper to taste
2 medium tomatoes chopped

Instructions


Heat oven to 400 degrees F (200 C). Toss chickpeas, zucchini, onions, and garlic, and half of the basil with 1 tablespoon olive oil and 3 tablespoons of balsamic. Salt and pepper to taste then bake for about 40 minutes to 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes or so.
While that is in, bring water to a boil and add couscous. Cover and remove from heat and allow to sit for about 10 minutes.
Fluff with a fork and add roasted veggies and chickpeas, tomatoes, and remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil, balsamic, and basil. Toss and season to taste with salt and pepper.
Serve hot or cold.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Almond Coconut Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites
  2. Miniature Lemon Berry Cupcakes
  3. Fried Rice with Spicy Kimchi
  4. Decadent German Chocolate Cake
  5. Cream Filled Vanilla Twinkie Doughnuts

Balsamic Roasted Veggie and Chickpea Couscous Salad (Vegan)-5.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

The Veggie Salad looks so tasty))) It looks really summer)

I'm so glad you think so. Thanks my friend!

yep, freaking love couscous! :)

Looks very yummy. And well made presentation

That's so kind of you!

Looks amazing. I've probably eat more vegan style foods if someone made it for me, heh.

I can totally understand that. Thanks for reading.

That looks delicious and easy to do. Thanks for the recipe, I'm bookmarking it as I'm planning to try it out.

It's always my pleasure to share!

I could not agree more :)

It's really good in salads, with chicken, peas, corn, mayo. Yam!

Posted using Partiko Android

I love hearing about other people's favorite recipes. Thanks.

No worries!

your welcome my dear friend keep going and i'l be your most follower..

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Looks amazing. Mainly the decoration I mostly Liked. Photography and presentation makes it more testy. :D

Thanks for reading!

A Yummy recipe to try for sure this will add charm to the food :D

You're so kind, thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60654.57
ETH 2343.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48