Miniature Lemon Berry Cupcakes - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Blackberry Lemonade Mini Cupcakes-1-2.jpg

Who else is excited about it finally being warm???

Wow, it’s been such a crazy packed week for me, probably one of the busiest ones I’ve had all year. I haven’t been able to plan ahead very much on my future recipes and blog stuff.

As hectic as it’s been, I’ve been having a really great time being so occupied all week. I’m the type of person that likes, no needs, to stay busy or I feel lost. Maybe that’s a result of being a former farm girl or it could just be my upbringing or something genetic. I’d guess it’s a combination of them all. Being this pressed for time though, it’s made me realize how much more productive I can be under pressure.

Ha, and all this time I’ve considered myself to be a pretty self-motivated person on the whole. If I’ve realized anything these last few days, it’s that I’ve been slacking big time and I clearly need to work on motivation strategies for when stuff slows down again. That is, if stuff slows down. Which reminds me, I’m thrilled over the fact that the days are finally getting longer. This morning it seemed like the sun started peeking up at a noticeably earlier time than it has been and that means Summer is getting close! Yay, cause I’m so over these super short days.

Blackberry Lemonade Mini Cupcakes-1.jpg

Alrighty, I should get to the point shouldn’t I? So these cupcakes, aren’t they kinda adorables???? I sort of love their mini size and loud colors. I’ve been saving them for this weekend because I really felt like they should be a Friday post and now I’m so excited for you guys to try them! I thought about making a full size cake to decorate like I’ve been talking about recently, but after I’d made the frosting and I saw how lovely the natural color was, I knew I wanted to keep it really simple and do cuppycakes. Don’t worry though, I’m still in a cake-decorating mood so I’m sure I’ll be sharing one soon. Flavor ideas anyone???

Okay, so simplicity is what I decided to focus on and what is easier than using the already gorgeous powers of fresh fruit to decorate? There are actually all kinds of things you can do with things like berries.

Feel free to make these cupcakes regular size if you don’t have a mini pan, I promise they’ll taste just as good. Oh, and just FYI to anyone who, like me, tries to avoid adding food dye at all costs, the frosting color is 100% natural from the berries. Isn’t it gorgeous? Just one more reason that you need to be baking them right now, so get to it!

Blackberry Lemonade Mini Cupcakes-2.jpg

Miniature Lemon Berry Cupcakes


Berries are the perfect compliment to go with the sweetness of a cupcake. These cupcakes make the perfect Spring or Summer treat!

Prep Time 40 minutes
Cook Time 30 minutes
Total Time 1 hour 10 minutes
Servings 26 - 30 mini cupcakes (or 12 - 14 large)

Ingredients


Cupcakes:
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup organic vegetable oil
2/3 cup unsweetened plant-based milk
1/3 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice
2 teaspoons lemon zest
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 1/3 cups flour

Frosting:
1/4 cup vegan "butter" or organic vegetable shortening room temp
1/4 cup coconut cream softened
1/4 cup fresh blackberries
1 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 teaspoon lemon extract
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 1/2 - 3 cups powdered sugar

Optional toppings:
1/2 cup fresh blackberries
2 small lemons thinly sliced

Instructions


Cupcakes:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (180 C). Grease and flour (or line with paper liners) a 24-count mini muffin tin or 12-count regular muffin tin.
Whisk milk together with the sugar in a medium mixing bowl. Add the oil, lemon juice, zest, and vanilla extract and mix until combined. Stir in the salt, baking powder, and flour until batter is smooth.

Divide the batter between cups, filling each nearly to the rim (you may have a little bit more than will fit in one muffin pan so if you have another cupcake pan you can grease and flour just a few more slots as needed or you can bake the extra batter in a ramekin). Bake for 15 - 18 minutes for mini sized or 18 - 24 for regular sized, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Remove cakes from oven and allow them to cool for about 5 minutes, them loosen from pan and remove to a cooling rack to finish cooling.
Frosting:
Cream together the "butter" and coconut cream until completely smooth in the bowl of stand mixer fitted with whisk attachment. Add the blackberries, lemon juice, extracts, and salt and beat until the berries are evenly mixed in. Add 2 1/2 cups powdered sugar and slowly turn on low speed to combine then beat on high until light and fluffy. Add a little more powdered sugar to thicken if the frosting seems too soft until it's a good consistency for piping on cupcakes. (If it still seems too soft after that then chill in fridge for 30 minutes to an hour before piping on cupcakes.)
Fill a pastry bag fitted with a star tip (or whatever tip you'd like) and pipe frosting onto the cooled cupcakes. Top with fresh blackberries and/or lemon slice quarters as desired. P.S. Sprinkles are fun too!

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps
  2. Hazelnut Chocolate Scones & “Nutella” Icing
  3. Peanut Jackfruit Stew & Orange Cilantro Rice
  4. Sweet Potato & Chickpea Green Curry
  5. Chocolate Frosted Yellow Vanilla Cake

Blackberry Lemonade Mini Cupcakes-4.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

These tiny cupcakes are amazing!

I'm so glad you like them, thank you!

oh my...this needs lot of patience i guess. Well done ;)

They're not that difficult to be honest but I totally understand not having the time to make things like this. Haha, too bad we don't have a way to share real things through the internet.

Congratulations @gringalicious! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Your every photography make it perfect. Make it more testy. You have good choice also.

welcome dear!!

you really like sweeten aren't you..i love it thank you my friend.

It's my pleasure to share. :)

can you give me simple recipe so i can try it at home cheap-fist recipe..

Hmmm... one this small cake can make every one smile 😁👍👌🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟🌟

You're too kind, thanks!

Npr :)) ... I try come more soon :)

Those are so darn cute and those ingredients sound yummy too. Glad to see you are so busy, that is a good thing!

It really is, I just love being busy. Thanks for stopping by.

So little but so delicious hahah kids are gonna love this too much

Thanks, my friend!

OH. MY. GREEDINESS !
8ws5pnju1x.png

Haha, thanks for reading.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57951.76
ETH 2347.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36