Fried Rice with Spicy Kimchi - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Kimchi Fried Rice (Vegan+GF)-2089.jpg

So tell me, how do you feel about spicy food? Because, well, this stuff is packing some serious heat….

Kimchi Fried Rice (Vegan+GF)-2059.jpg

Personally, I have to be in the mood for spicy food to really enjoy it. To me it seems like there are different types of spice and I like some more than others. For example, I love things like horseradish and wasabi with their powerful punch that’s pretty much guaranteed to clear your sinuses in an oddly pleasant burn.

Kimchi Fried Rice (Vegan+GF)-2080.jpg

Then there are the spicy foods that numb your taste buds with blazing fire (I’m sorry, was this food seasoned with molten lava!!!). I’m not sure if that makes sense or not but I’m just going to hope that you’ve experienced the difference between them and know what I’m referring to.

For some reason the guys in my family like it all, but they especially love the latter. Most of the time I just don’t get how they can enjoy dousing everything in spicy sauces to the point where they can’t possibly taste any of it. I don’t know, maybe that’s because I’m a spice wimp, but I like to actually taste what I’m eating thank you very much. Haha, maybe I should take offence as if they’re trying to drown the flavor of my bad cooking. Hey, it’s not impossible and I’ve already admitted to you guys how often I have major fails, so it may even be more probable than I’d care to think.

Kimchi Fried Rice (Vegan+GF)-2088.jpg

Alright, bottom line here -> You need to try this recipe if A.) You already love kimchi, B.) You love spicy foods but have never had kimchi, or C.) You don’t like spicy food or kimchi, in which case just skip adding it and make the rice!

Fried Rice with Spicy Kimchi


Spice up your typical side of rice by making this simple and tasty Korean inspired version.

Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 40 minutes

Ingredients


4 cups cooked brown rice or white
1 large onion diced
4 cloves garlic minced
4 stalks celery minced
1 15 ounce or 425 g can baby corn, drained
1/4 cup peanut or sunflower oil divided
2 cups vegetable broth
3 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons toasted sesame oil
1 cup prepared kimchi *see note
sea salt to taste
sesame seeds for topping optional

Instructions


Add 3 tablespoons oil, onion, garlic, and celery to large skillet or wok and cook until celery is starting to soften, about 4 minutes. Add broth and baby corn and continue stirring until most of the liquid is evaporated. Now add soy sauce, sesame oil, and kimchi and stir over heat for about 2 minutes to warm, then add the rice and toss to coat. Cook for about 5 minutes more until it starts to darken. Remove from heat and season to taste with with additional salt if needed then serve hot.

Recipe Notes


*Kimchi is a very spicy, fermented side dish that is served as a staple with almost every meal in Korean culture. It can be made at home or purchased at most grocery or health food stores in the exotic section. *This is a great side dish for all kinds of Asian main dishes but it also makes a perfect main dish if you'd like to add a few additional eggs or meat such as pork or chicken.

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps
  2. Hazelnut Chocolate Scones & “Nutella” Icing
  3. Peanut Jackfruit Stew & Orange Cilantro Rice
  4. Sweet Potato & Chickpea Green Curry
  5. Chocolate Frosted Yellow Vanilla Cake

Kimchi Fried Rice (Vegan+GF)-2100.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

It looks very tasty!!! My mouth is watered)))

I agree this looks very good, I love spicy food

Hmmm... this looks also good Idea 😋😋👍👌🌟 I go and upvote it also.

Thank you so much!

you are welcome :)

I do love this dish too and actually just had my dose of this spiciness a few hours ago 👍🏽

Posted using Partiko iOS

I'm glad you enjoy spicy food. Thanks for stopping by!

Do you have a recipe for making kimchi?

I sort of do but I've never shared it. Perhaps I'll work on posting it soon.

do that! would be interesting

Oh my! This food is doing something to me right now. Simply amazing to look at and I could imagine its taste in my mouth too. You are good. Well done, my friend.

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Now that's a special one of a recipe good to learn about it

I'm so glad you like it!

This recipe is interesting, thank you for great inspiration. Great work!

Posted using Partiko Android

Me too! I do actually like to taste my food, and not the taste of a kilo of peppers. thank you. 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56834.19
ETH 2500.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.27