Almond Coconut Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography5 years ago

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF)-2.jpg

Coming at you guys with another recipe.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF)-3.jpg

You know that age old question about desert islands and a single food? The one that goes “If you could only choose one food to live off of on a desert Island for the rest of your life, what would it be?”

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF)-4.jpg

So I get the point of it, a fancy way of deciding what your favorite food is, but I’ve always felt this question was still too vague. I mean, I like specifics. Are there any other people on the Island? And does the island have anything edible on it already? Like, if we’ve got some coconuts and pineapple then we’ll make some spears, catch some fish, and be all set right? I’m just saying, details would be nice people.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF)-5.jpg

Whatever the case, I’m a very indecisive person so this question has always been a real toughy for me. Now if I had to make this decision on other’s behalf, like for my family, I think it would be easier. I’d go for something crunchy, salty, and deep fried. Yes, those are probably the most popular kinds of foods in my family, even if not the healthiest. The boys are especially huge fans of any form of fried food and that’s why coming up with a slightly healthier version seemed like a great idea.

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF).jpg

This version of cauliflower can either be baked or pan-fried, depending on your preference. I wanted to try coating them in a simple coating that would be gluten free without needing any hard-to-find ingredients so I used almond flour and unsweetened shredded coconut. These still aren’t the most common ingredients, but I’ve noticed them both becoming more popular on the shelves at more than one local grocery so I’m hopeful you can find them as well.

If you can’t find them the almond flour it can be made at home using raw almonds and if you can only

Almond Coconut Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites


Need a change from your typical veggies and dip for an appetizer? These cauli bites are here for you! They're crispy, delicious, easy, and gluten free.

Prep Time 15 minutes
Cook Time 25 minutes
Total Time 40 minutes
Servings 8 - 12 servings

Ingredients


4 - 5 cups fresh cauliflower florets
1 1/2 cups cornstarch
1/4 cup unsweetened plant-based milk
1 cup vegan ranch dressing recipe follows or store-bought
1 1/2 cups blanched almond flour
1 1/3 cups unsweetened shredded coconut
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup cornstarch
peanut oil for frying or preferred oil
Ranch:
1 cup unsweetened plant-based yogurt
2 cloves garlic
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon dill
1 teaspoon fresh chives
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon onion powder

Instructions


If making the ranch homemade, mix ingredients for the ranch in a small bowl and refrigerate until ready to use.
Mix almond flour, coconut, pepper, and salt; pour into pie plate. Pour cornstarch into a separate pie plate and milk and ranch in a small bowl.
Cut cauliflower into bite-size pieces and dip first into cornstarch, then milk/ranch, then breading and place on parchment lined tray.
Fill a large saucepan or deep fryer with a few inches of oil and heat to medium high. Fry chicken in batches for 1 to 2 minutes per side until done through. I like to test by cutting the largest piece to make sure it is completely cooked. Remove to paper towel lined plate to absorb excess oil. (Alternatively you can bake at 400 degrees F for about 12 minutes or until crispy)
Serve immediately with hot sauce or extra ranch..

Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

Gringalicious Headerlast.jpg

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. Spiced Caribbean Falafel Wraps
  2. Hazelnut Chocolate Scones & “Nutella” Icing
  3. Peanut Jackfruit Stew & Orange Cilantro Rice
  4. Sweet Potato & Chickpea Green Curry
  5. Chocolate Frosted Yellow Vanilla Cake

Coconut Almond Ranch Fried Cauliflower Bites (Vegan+GF)-6.jpg

Banner 2019=framed7.jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Wow ..... pics are amazing!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so glad you think so. Thanks!

Just seeing the photos brings water to my mouth😊

Awww, you're so sweet! Haha, thanks

OMG these look sooooooo good! Wasn’t the same recipe but I tried making these in the past for somebody and it just embarrassed me because for some reason the batter didn’t get crispy and they were very dough-y and nasty :/

These look amazing though! 👅

Oh, that's unfortunate. I wish you better luck next time and maybe if you decide to try this one it will turn out better.

Thanks, yeah I think it was probably just an imbalance with the ingredients I used last time.

Sounds so delicious!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You're so nice, thanks!

Hi, @gringalicious!

You just got a 0.01% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Never tried that before one more interesting recipe for me :D

Thanks, you're so kind!

The person who made that question of living on a desert island probably hasn't seen the movie Castaway 😅

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77