5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) - FOOD PHOTO SHOOT

in #photography6 years ago

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (9).jpg

I’ve got a really fun recipe to share today guys!

Well, at least I think it’s pretty fun. Any time a recipe can be healthy enough to count as breakfast, easy enough to make with the kiddos, require minimal ingredients and labor, and taste great any time of year, now that’s a really fun recipe in my book.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (2).jpg

So I haven’t made popsicles in a really long time si I decided to make some. It’s sort of a win win for everybody I think, with it being Summer for a bunch of you guys I thought these would be a fun treat to fix for a quick snack or a fun dessert that you can feel good about giving the little ones.

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (6).jpg

Don’t get me wrong though, these definitely don’t have to just be for the shorties, they’re every bit as appealing to the grown-up’s palates too! Especially when the weather is super hot.

Guess what, not only are they only a few ingredients but they’re vegan, dairy free, and gluten free! I’m pretty sure they qualify as raw and paleo as well, although I don’t know a whole lot about those diet trends. Can I get a WHOO-HOOOO??? Yeah, so I think that covers pretty much all of the most common diet restrictions making these pops perfect to have on hand for unexpected company or parties. Hello refreshing bikini-friendly treats!

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (7).jpg

If you’re a avo hater and you’re a little worried about the avocado, don’t be. The lime and syrup/honey make the perfect flavor balance in these and you won’t even think about the fact that it’s avo you’re eating.

And by the way, these were kiddo-approved by my loyal little helpers!

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF)..jpg

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles
Prep Time: 25 minutes

Total Time: 8 hours, 25 minutes

Yield: about 6 pops

Ingredients

2 medium (ripe) avocados, pitted
1/4 cup fresh lime juice (about 4 small or 2 large limes)
1/3 cup maple syrup or agave (or honey if not vegan)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (optional)
1/3 cup raw cashews
1/3 cup pitted dates
1/8 teaspoon salt (optional)
Instructions

Combine the cashews, dates, and salt in a small food processor or blender and pulse until very fine and starting to stick together in a sort of dough. It doesn't need to be completely smooth because you still want a little texture. (If you don't have a small food processor this can be done by hand-chopping but it does take much longer to get it as fine.) Pour the mixture into a small dish and set aside.
Add the avocado, lime juice, syrup, and vanilla to the processor and blend until creamy smooth. Divide the mixture into your popsicle molds leaving about 1/2 inch of space empty at the tops (depending on the size of your mold it should fill about 6 slots). Now fill in the empty spaces with your nut/date mixture and press down just slightly.
Insert popsicle sticks in the middle of each pop and freeze for a minimum of 8 hours until solid. Once frozen, run the outside of the mold under hot water for a few seconds to loosen the pops, then serve and enjoy!
Gringalicious-border.png

ALL CONTENT IS MINE AND ORIGINAL! All of these food photos were taken with my Nikon D750 and my favorite Lens, the Nikon AF-S FX NIKKOR 50mm f/1.8G. You can find out more in my INTRO POST.

And, by the way, to all the minnows out there, my intro post did a huge $0.21. The key to success on Steemit is to be consistent and persistent. Click on the link below for some great tutorials on how you can also succeed on the steem blockchain:

Master Toolkit: Steemit Resource Guide Illustrated by @sndbox


Also, a huge shoutout to @rigaronib for designing my logo!

If you're looking for more recipes check out some of my other recent posts!
  1. My Favorite Overnight Oats Recipe
  2. Lavender Berry Smoothie Bowl
  3. One-Pan Cajun Black Beans & Rice
  4. Chocolate Cookie Dough Nice Cream
  5. Crunchy Pinto Bean Salad Sandwich

Also, I've been starting to vlog in case you missed it.
  1. Vlog #3: Looking for a New Gym + Meet My Baby
  2. Vlog #2 Rock Climbing With @hotrod, @fullofhope, and @whiteknight20 + What I ate Today
  3. The Most Random First Vlog Ever + An Unboxing

Do you want to learn more about me? Click here to see a recent @wadepaterson interview with me - 20 questions with @gringalicious

5-Ingredient Avocado Key Lime Pie Popsicles (Vegan + GF) (8).jpg

follow_gringalicious.gif

Sort:  

Nice idea

howdy @gringalicious..hey you hit it out of the park for this summertime winner! can't beat cold, healthy and delicious all in one creation. great job!

Frankly, the name sounded terrible to me, but I bet these are really good!

@scribblingramma 😀 Haha, that's nice to hear honesty. Thanks!

Super your post, I like it. Let me follow you .. God bless you.

looks so good. you are a professional @gringalicious. this is just so good, love theicecream. so creative this looks. keep up the good work

Whoa!!! Now thats what I call going green!!!

I love the shots, looks super delicious! I bet you are using a specially silicon form to make these?

@rawadventuress 👍😀 I just used a typical popsicle mold.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63877.76
ETH 3093.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83