Credit where credit is due ©

in #photography5 years ago

I recently read a post by a new user which I thought was quite good, so good in fact that I re-steemed it which is something I don't do very often. The post was by a guy called Peter out of the UK who calls his account @drippingdrizzles. I have added a link to the end of this post if you're interested.

I noticed that the user had not given photo-credit and whilst I was not one hundred percent sure the photo wasn't his, I decided to make a comment about it, politely of course. I'm not sure if I crossed some steemit-line here however I figured that he may not know credit is required. He seemed to take it well, acknowledging my comment and advising he will do so in the future. @kayda-ventures, another new user, also asked me about photo-credit on Discord so I figured there may be people out there who do not understand the need to do so.

Most photographers will copyright © their images and without permission these must not be used. However there are many sites a person can use to obtain images for their posts without infringing copyright © however credit should always be given. The three I use are unsplash, pixabay and pexels which seem to have what I'm looking for most times.

Giving photo credit is simple, just add a link to the image in the post and you're done. You can add text crediting the owner of the photo also if you like. For instance on a couple of occasions my brother @tarazkp has asked to use one of my images of firearms that he can't take himself and of course I said yes. He still credited me for the photo though. It's common courtesy, even between brothers.

Using an image that has copyright © on in could end with legal action; It sounds extreme but it has happened in the past. Don't let it happen to you. One scenario I am not sure of though is what happens if someone started using images from another steemit account without permission. Say someone started using my images taken off Steemit for their own blogs etc...Maybe someone a lot higher up on the blockchain food-chain could throw some light on that for me, and others?

I'm not sure if I was out of line bringing it to the users' attention, if I should have minded my own business, however I figure steemit is difficult enough without making little errors like that which can be so easily avoided, or dealt with.

The use of images on a blog helps attract attention, punctuate a point, demonstrate a concept, or just add some interest...Humans think in pictures, not words, after all so it makes sense. Do it ethically though, credit the owner and stay our of Steemit jail by doing so.

The image was taken, by me, at a lake near my brother's home in Finland. It was taken at 11:30 at night in late July...Yes, that's the sun still shining. It might seem legit for people up that way but it's bloody odd for people like me from Australia.

Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default
Hit me up on Discord: @galenkp#9209

See Peter's post here

Sort:  

Congratulations @galenkp! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemitBoard to support the german speaking community meetups
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Wow 11:30 at night and still light about the latest in Tasmania I have some light is 10pm in the middle of summer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, it’s a bit strange but also good at the same time. No shortage of daylight to do stuff at that time of the year there.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yes I can get a lot done on the long daylight hours😀

Posted using Partiko Android

All you can do is mention it politely like you did. After that it is up to every person to proceed which ever way they like. There are lots of learning curves on steem and for anybody intending on becoming a long term blogger it's better to do it right from the start. It will save them a lot of bother in the future.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes true, up to them to do whatever it is they will.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for mentioning my post. Yes I did more research about the importance of giving credit. Makes sense. From now on I always give credit in my posts and edited the existing ones.

Posted using Partiko Android

____a href=_INTERNETLINKHERE__WORDSHERE__a____.png

Try using this markdown for your weblinks. It will change the entire web address into a single link, like I did when I linked to your post. I have this markdown in a notepad and just cut and paste it into my posts as I need. I use the words im srce when I'm linking to the source of an image that is not mine.

Simply replace the capital letters above with the internet link, then your own words you want the link to say.

One handy trick, Galen. You can use the key in the top left

before and after a string of text, to display it just as text. Then readers can copy and paste it.
***<a href="INTERNETLINKHERE">WORDSHERE</a>***
Eg, the link to claim an account creation token is here.
https://app.steemconnect.com/sign/claim_account?creator=galenkp&fee=0.000%20STEEM&extensions=[]

49 years old and still learning. Thanks Matt.

On a pure technicality that's html. Markdown be like

[link text](internet link)

[runs away]

Yeah, I got no idea.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I remember being just as confused and a user help me through it as well! Just shows how we are capable of doing things with respect and the best interest of the ecosystem in mind!

Posted using Partiko iOS

So true. @mattclarke lives here in the same city I do and has been a big help. He’s a top bloke really, don’t let anyone say otherwise. 🥴

I get stressed sometimes when newbies ask me stuff because I really have very little clue myself. Point in case: This scenario where Matt has to set me on the righteous path.

Still, like you said it’s all respectful and well-intentioned.

Posted using Partiko iOS

You are totally right.....I was so ignorance of it but you guided me through it and I appreciate you for leading me in the right path. Thanks to you again

Posted using Partiko Android

Not ignorance mate, you just didn’t know and at least you asked the question.

Posted using Partiko iOS

What a beautiful image...albeit really really strange :o
Not crediting is a bit of a dick move, I think. Because someone worked for that picture that's potentially selling your post...but you learn that. I didn't use to credit pics either when I first started here...because what non-blogger knows exactly how to blog? :D

Live and learn.

PS - this is a morning comment off my Partiko...before coffee or anything 😅😎

Posted using Partiko Android

Yep I agree and to be honest I didn’t know right away either. Learning curve is steep when Steem is concerned.

So, I love that you had to clarify that your comment was pre-coffee. For a pre-coffee comment I have to say it is remarkably lucid and intelligent. 😝

You crack me up!

Posted using Partiko iOS

If in doubt it doesn't hurt to ask if they took/drew the pic. If they didn't they'll usually then tell you where they got it from and then you can and should explain crediting to them and why it's a done thing :)

ps least you and Taraz ask each other, me and my sibling be like "I'm using your pic/video on my blog" XD

This pic reminds me of Norway. Long and sunny days in summer and forest trails pretty similar to this one. I can even remember myself with the bike on one of these. Regarding copyright there's still a lot of educational work to be taken care of. Some use other people's photos intentionally.

It was a nice walk in the forest and so bloody different to anything I've ever experienced. Australia is...Well it ain't like that! 😄

I'm giving a piece of Australia away in a post tomorrow actually, to two lucky people. Look out for it, you might be interested.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @galenkp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.367 which ranks you at #2438 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 15 places in the last three days (old rank 2423).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #31.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69626.36
ETH 3667.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82