The World of Natural Healing series - A New Experience

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

Nature has such an impact on people’s lives whether they know it or not. I myself have a story to tell, which changed the way I viewed nature.

IMG_0751.JPG

IMG_0747.JPG

I am on a National Outdoor Leadership course; six days have passed since I started this journey into the wilderness. I am in the Lemhi mountain range of Idaho; these past six days have been treacherous, bitter, and exciting. So far, the nights have been cold as ice; my equipment and clothing are drenched by the frequent rain and snow fall, my body frozen only to get warmth from the sun. My back and feet ache by long distance travel with the weight of a seventy-five pound backpack. The illumination of the moon and stars was my only guide in the starry black night. Every day was a life changing experience. In my little story I tell of the hardships I had taking on the National Outdoor Leadership course. But what I don’t tell you is the psychological effects it gave me. Experiencing this once in a life time is an amazing opportunity; it gave me a healthier look on the natural world. Every day the instructors would give me a checkup on how I was doing, whether I liked the course, and what I appreciated about the day. The instructors would even give assignments such as what kind of plants and animals lived around the area.

Caleb NOLS (2).jpg

I am in the middle wearing a white shirt and long hair lol :)

( this is a shorter version of a previous post I made if you are interested please check it out at the link below) :

https://steemit.com/life/@enosh/passion-a-never-forget-adventure-in-the-wilderness

STAY TUNE FOR THE NEXT PART OF THE SERIES.

Previous post of this series :

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/the-world-of-natural-healing-series-introduction

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/the-world-of-natural-healing-series-what-is-nature-therapy

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/the-world-of-natural-healing-series-vision-quest-wednesdaywalk

Some of my favorite previous post YOU might like :

https://steemit.com/life/@enosh/basic-skill-how-to-make-a-fire

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/orange-sunset-misty-sky-s

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/white-pine-needle-tea-how-you-can-identify-and-make-your-own

https://steemit.com/photography/@enosh/absolute-beauty-fall-photography-walk

Work Cited

Berger, Ronen. "Going On A Journey: A Case Study Of Nature Therapy With Children With A Learning Difficulty." Emotional & Behavioural Difficulties 13.4 (2008): 315-326. ERIC. Web. 29 Oct. 2015.

Beringer, Almut, and Peter Martin. "On Adventure Therapy And The Natural Worlds: Respecting Nature's Healing." Journal Of Adventure Education And Outdoor Learning 3.1 (2003): 29-39. ERIC. Web. 29 Oct. 2015.

Corazon, Sus S., Theresa S. S. Schilhab, and Ulrika K. Stigsdotter. "Developing The Therapeutic Potential Of Embodied Cognition And Metaphors In Nature-Based Therapy: Lessons From Theory To Practice." Journal Of Adventure Education And Outdoor Learning 11.2 (2011): 161-171. ERIC. Web. 29 Oct. 2015.

Gandhi, M. K. The Nature Cure. Bombay: Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, 1966. Print. 29 Oct. 2015.

Nebbe, Linda Lloyd. Nature As A Guide: Using Nature In Counseling, Therapy, And Education. n.p.: 1991. ERIC. Web. 29 Oct. 2015.

Sort:  

Howdy there enosh! wow that sounds like it might be beautiful but brutal physically! You guys didn't have tents or sleeping bags right?

We did have tents and sleeping bag, it rained pretty much every other day Without them I’m pretty sure The whole experience would be completely horrible lol 😆. It was an extremely fun experience and I plan on doing it again at some point with my Cousin.

Posted using Partiko iOS

well sir enosh it sounds like a tremendous experience that builds character and self reliance skills and confidence. Sounds like a young man's thing but highly interesting and important to go through too. You've talked your cousin into it? How much does that cost anyway?

The one we are thinking about is about two thousand for 8 days, some time in 2020.

Posted using Partiko iOS

wow well that's alot of money but I'm sure it's well worth it!

I like the image of the stove, just raw outdoor photography. I like your blog niche - adventure!

Thank you for looking at my blog. Every feedback helps. The outdoor adventure niche is exactly what I was trying to express.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62