Caterpillar Photo Shoot

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

You must be thinking that I have gone mad after reading the title. Maybe, but can you blame me? I fell inlove with this tiny lil' creature~~ what can I say.

a3.jpg

Pretty hairy and often mistaken to be "dangerous" well, he probably is more of endangered than "dangerous".

a.jpg

Even as a kid, I have always been fascinated by them plenty legged creatures. I used to collect a lot of them back when I was young. I hid them in used and cleaned mayonaise glasses with lids I poked so they could breath. I fed them the very same leaves I found them hangin on. Till they curled and became a pupa. That's when I get pretty exited because I know they would soon morph.

x.jpg

x1.jpg

I remember being so young and plucking one kind similar to this - pretty hairy. I let it creep on my arm and remembered brushing it off in shock from the sting its hair gave me. Red itchy bumps formed soon I went screaming back in the house to my Mamay. I told her it was - a "darapi" - meaning hairy caterpillar in Bicol. She untied her pony tailed hair and rubbed it on the red bumps. It soothed the sting indeed. From that time on, I have always done that whenever I experience as such. Who needs ointment when your hair can just do the trick - I have always kept mine pretty long.

x2.jpg

I've seen this in my vegetable garden, too and just scooped it off with a leaf and moved it in the bushy peach tree. I wasn't sure whether he could eat it but at least there he's far from the sight of them beaked creatures for I really want him to morph and pay me a visit. It just crawled under a leaf and the next time I checked it was gone. Hopefully, morphing not pecked on.

x3.jpg

This one must be days old and has a long time to wait till he morphs. Right now, he's just so free where he is. Doing what he does best - chewing and crawling while I photoshoot him.

I tried taking a video to record the rest of his body's details and how he moves but it was cut short so this is the only thing I could show you.

No, they've never freaked me out not these. The only plenty legged creature that freaks me out is the centipede. Goosebumps with just the thought of them crawling but it's just because I don't know much about them.

x4.jpg

x5.jpg

Which caterpillar is this? Am afraid I can't identify it for you for I also don't know. I can only show you and hopefully, the many of his kind survives till your great great grandchildren arrived so they, too could behold - the greatness of the Almighty's art.

This content's 100% mine , I took the pics and the video with my Samsung Galaxy A3, 2016 .



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP : Don't waste your voting power on posts that have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



Sort:  

Thank you for posting dear @englishtchrivy.

These are lovely photographs of the lowly caterpillar......looking not so lowly afterall....quite exotic.

Appreciate the useful information about them.

Apologies...bleujay does not have a name for them either.

Wishing you all the best. Abientotlater mon ami. ^_^

I don't either but @ocrdu has given it up there
thank you Mon Ami
I hope you're having a great night out there!

Mooie fotos!

Ik denk dat dat de rups is van een plakker/gypsy moth.

ah .. dank je wel!
dat helpt!

Nice photos, and cool to hear that it brings you back to your childhood days!

the hairs the hairs do that
i was trying not to get too close either

This creature looks like panda with these black spots around her eyes 😁😁😁😁

it does it does!
am glad you noticed that

😂😂😂😂

How exotic she looks, up close and personal! It takes some of the fear out of those long hair that she wears.

I find it interesting that the hair would take the sting out of the bumps. I use my hair to get the fine cactus needles out of my fingers too

Handy thing, that hair is. Wonderful post! tip!

the picture are so great to see from any angle

Wala kang magawa @englishtchrivy

hahaha tse hahaha

Is it really possible to cure the Red Bumps with our hair, I have never heard about it? What is the medical evidence to it?

I have no medical evidence nor claim on it by the way as I am not a doctor but that is my experience and if there are other Filipinos who do that please stand up :D

or you could try ?

edit : or I will wait till I get near to this one the next time I visit and try it
and then video :)
but that would be a long time later
hopefully i can remember that

Ok. Till then you can enjoy my fantasy art.

hahahaha
damn sounds like a challenge - torture and self - inflicting pain isn't my thing
noted on a post it :)
when i get to deliver I'd keep you posted

Wow you're such a good photograph. And you seems to be keen on insect. I need to say that I love caterpillar too and this one is really beautiful.

Nice pictures @englishtchrivy. In the first picture you captured the whole beauty of the caterpillar.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68598.13
ETH 2704.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72