That Tiny Town In The East

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

When someone asks you where you live, do you proudly give them the answer to that question or do you take a pause before you do so?

c.jpg

Where I came from, I don't really remember people pausing to give someone the answer as if they're embarrassed or hesitating when asked where they live.

That's not the case here and basically in my experience, the whole EU seems to be having that same problem.

b.jpg

"Status, status, status"... that seems to matter a lot so it seems. The richer the country - the prouder and the quicker people blurt out where they came from. It's the same case when you ask someone here about which city they actually live in. This also exists here in this water world did you notice?

a.jpg

I've been here for a long time but I think I would never get used to that awkwardness someone shows when they say, they're from the East. Worst part .. someone even belittles the very place they're living in saying; " Oh, unfortunately, I live in that tiny town in the East.

Can you imagine hearing someone ask you; "What do you think of our tiny village/ town?" I can't count how often I've experience that in between being served my food. We got lost to this place which has very surprising nooks that would really make you gosh looking for a place closer to where we came for to have dinner. Perhaps, the food I had that day was simple for the others but this... what they call " a tiny town in the East" was pretty intrinsic in a sense that even though it was pretty small, almost every turn we took had wow factors on it.

d1.jpg

Across from it, the modernization seems to be busily building "cubic looking like houses" which if you'd ask me, imho, don't have that much character like this "tiny town in the East" does. I wonder how many of the original residents here have already moved there. Although it's their birth right to do so and we are allowed to think and have our own opinions on the value of things and in this case - location ... imho ...

d2.jpg

As long as there are people who honor the word "status", this word would always have its power.

Even though, I love the countryside so much, I can't really say that am a country girl because I've lived most of the years of my life in the business center of Makati but every time I find myself lost wandering in what they call "that tiny town in the East", whichever town it is - I can't help but admire the tenacity of beauty and uniqueness they possess.
Seriously what is there to be ashamed of about coming from the East?

d.jpg

I haven't been lost anywhere in the East in the EU and I can't help but wonder, what box of surprises would awe me the moment I get to open them if I ever get a chance to.

You, does this sort of "geographical stereotyping/discrimination" exists in the country you are in? If you decide to send me a reply, please tell me first, where are you actually from?

This content's 100% mine . I took that pic with my D Eye and did the editing on it, too. These were just a product of tinkering on the features in it.



**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



FOLLOW ME - @englishtchrivy.

Sort:  

Awesome post!
It is very important to hold and maintain your roots. You should wear them on your sleeve! We wouldn't be where we are today if we didn't come from wherever we originated from. That is your home place, your foundation in a way, and if you neglect where you came from, you should take a few steps back and analyze yourself and current position

that's a very good point!

Hi! I am from St. Petersburg (Russia). In fact, everything you are talking about has a place to be in our country, too. I've met a lot of people who are not too willing to call their place of residence if it's some remote or sparsely populated city or a remote small village. It seems that they are ashamed of their place of residence. Of course , people from large, well-known cities with a population of several million proudly pronounce their names. Because it is also a status. This is a different opportunity, a different standard of living. The difference between the capital cities and the province is very large. Many people tend to move to larger cities and change their status :)

I guess its the same everywhere
thank you for sharing Madlen and for reading

Thank you for the good photos. The one on which there is a red bench-looks very cool :)

thank you Madlen

Great work on these photos, I love the result :) I'm one of those that pauses before answering ;) i don't know what to say because during the week i live in city 1, during weekends I'm on city 2 but i was born and my family are on city 3! Modern times messed it up ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

thank you Lily, it's nice to see you..
thank you for sharing and admitting that ..
I appreciate that a great lot ..
let me get back at this comment tomorrow .. VI's almost drained :(
and I love rewarding those who reply to my questions ..

Nice photografhy and post .

thank you

Welcome.

thank you

I like your post and your photos, i loved especially the food photo, these eggs seems really super yummi!

thank you


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

thank you very much

I'm from Ukraine Lviv city but my native place is Novovolynsk. It's a little cosy town and i'm very proud of it! This area is very beautiful and has some charm. Behind the city is a large forest and a beautiful Bug river. I love to come back home when i have time and visit my parents. Such a good moment!
I don't understand people who are ashamed of their origin, that's weird. Without the past there is no future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63630.78
ETH 3406.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55