100 Reasons I Love The City I Live In : Its Park Is Actually Forest

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

a1.jpg

"100 reasons? Has she gone mad?" .. perhaps you're asking yourself that now but mind you, I have more than a hundred reasons loving the city I live in.

Since the attention span here has gone shorter than short, I've decided to inject it to you in small dosages.

a1b.jpg

I could start with so many other things I love the most about this city but let me just randomly start with its park being a forest.

a.jpg

When my husband first took me here, I was expecting it to be like Rizal Park in Manila and I had concrete aisles, private gardens, fountains and lovers kissing in the nooks or under the trees in mind so I dressed up girly girly. Little did I know my flat shoes would have a hard time walking around it.

a1d5.jpg

I told him, "Honey, you should have told me we're going to a forest. Had I known .. I would have put on some rubber shoes." Well, we headed to the resto in the park that day so I guess it was also worth dressing up girly chic back then.

a1d6.jpg

These days, I often come here for the market on the first Sundays of the month or during events but most of all, to take a long ~~~ stroll.

a1e9c.jpg

Some days, I'd sit on one of those green benches near the man made falls here. Listening to the water hit the bottom gives that zen feel it's just so relaxing.

a1d2.jpg

Most of the time, I'd sit close to the ones with the water mills because they're close to the cafe and coffee and tea comes in handy not to mention the free toilet there. Where on earth is there a forest with cafes and restos that even offers healthy and organic "to eats". This forest like park has it.

a1d3.jpg

When the market is on, I can barely see the deer unless someone's feeding them bread. On days, when the dog walkers are the most in sight, I get to enjoy some of them bambi's playing around like these boys were. Thanks to my D Eye peeping is pretty easy these days. They're actually far away from me.

a1e3.jpg

a1e1.jpg

a1e2.jpg

Most of the time, they're inside this villa look alike deer's house on that hill. Yeah .. it does look like they're freely roaming around with that foresty background but there's actually a fence between them and me.

a1d9.jpg

a1e3a.jpg

These days, am braver enough to take a stroll on my own around here specially on sunny days during the winter season. I wouldn't dare do that in autumn. Look at this bald canopy, can you imagine how thick this would look like in summer? I could get lost around here if I don't follow the path and trails with all those trees around really. Again, it's a forest.

a1e5.jpg

a1e4.jpg

a1e9b.jpg

a1e9.jpg

Some days, I'd bring a book and stop every now and then to breathe and read under a shade on one of those green benches and no one would bug you. Every now and then a biker or a jogger or a chattering family also on a stroll would pass by but no one would bug you. I love doing that on sunny days.

a1e7.jpg

a1e8.jpg

In most of my strolls here the past years, I've always watched and observed fowls that adds color to this place and they never failed to entertain me. They always end up in a frame or two although back then - in my other social media. I'd like to think that this goose was doing tai chi like I was on the grass.

a1c.jpg

a1d.jpg

I've lived in the business center in Makati for a long time, the park there still defines "busy city" and I missed the chirping of the birds most of the days, I used to hang out on one of those parks we have there even cause they're mostly surrounded by malls and restos with some playing loud music, so when I found out that the park here is like a forest, I've often asked my husband to go there take a walk on days we're free. Always helps clear your heads up because it's like a forest, it abounds in nature.

a1d8a.jpg

a1d8.jpg

On weekends, I come here to stroll instead of shopping, I won't head home till the lights are on .. yeah, it's that safe. Only the cold would send you home specially during the winter days.

a1e9f.jpg

a1e9g.jpg

How about in the city you live in, what's the park there like? Is it also like a forest?

a1e9h.jpg

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my D Eye.



Here are my most recent posts:


**TIP :
ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

You love your city and I understand that well.

We do not have that big park, but many smaller parks.

And I only have 5 minutes to go to the woods from where I live and 15 minutes to go to town.

When spring comes, I'll take pictures from the forest where it's beautiful and some big water in the dams. It was previously the drinking water of the city. The area is now like a bigger park to go in. People in Fredrikstad love it and go for long walks, many use it to work out. In the winter when there is snow there are a lot of people out there and skiing.

Hehe, you remind me that I'll take those pictures im may @englishtchrivy

yes I do

but then everywhere around you is nature too right?
I shall try to do that ..
noted on my calendar to remind you to take us around
but hey .. surely that looks different now that its winter
but please only take us around if you're safe
everything is slippery right now I guess

Yes, it's smooth and cold here now 14 minus degrees.
I'm too busy during the day, have to wait until spring to take pictures

oh that's a lot colder than here
take care then

it's winter here as well
the mere are almost all frozen
too cold and we went down -10 at night
it hurts the back and joints and the tips of my toes
no fan of the cold
and like you am staying in still
take care and stay warm

I love these green trees and lovely ducks! really beautiful park!

I was born near there, but I haven't been to visit for a long time. I still have a grand-aunt living on the Zijpendaalseweg next to the park. Thanks for showing it, it still looks great.

My favourite park in Enschede is the Ledeboerpark, basically a part of old Twente they put a fence around. Small farms still operate there, and on one end it blends into the countryside.

really?
so you're an Arnhemian?

do you come here and visit?
I haven't been to Eindhoven
I might as well go soon for a business something something
let's meet~!

am thinking of organizing a Steem meet up in the city
I just talked to some peeps about Steemit in a btc meet up and only @edb and @ottodv were there
the NL Steemit community is too weak
we should meet up and brainstorm what do you think?

Enschede, not Eindhoven. Eindhoven is where the Brabos live 8-). If you ever make it to Enschede, I'll take you to the park, if you like walking long distances, that is.

There just aren't that many people in the NL community, I think. Is there an agreed tag that shows one is a Dutchie?

hahahaha I always get it wrong am sorry

okay I'd keep you posted I haven't been there either
I'm thinking of organizing a meet up but that was after the btc meet up
days later = now, I suddenly lost the enthusiasm I don't know why but we'll see
plus am not a 100% Dutchie .. am not an organic Dutchie hahaha
not GMO either ... just verkaasd and dankbaar! dat is ook oke toch? ^___^

Honorary Dutch Person, is that a thing?

dunno but surely not that either :)
verkaasd zijn is goed genoeg :)

OK, een klein kaaskopje dan. Een Edammertje of zo.

ik ben verkaasd period :P haha

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs of your stroll and well written missive of your musings.

So enjoyed hearing about the forest/park and its inhabitants and how you appreciate it so.

A beautiful place......it would be a privilege to see indeed.

All the best to you and yours.

A bientot mon ami. ^__^

thank you mon ami!
have you seen your comment copy paster? hahaha
it's a compliment to you I guess :)

hiya....mon ami.

Looks like gamer00 took care of him....thank you @gamer00.

Lovely to 'see' you @englishtchrivy.

Will have to catch you tomorrow....no worries....I read the entire missive/manuscript/prose...still thinking on it.

A bientot. ^__^

indeed :)
see you around
and take some rest
you must be busy

I have been to The Netherlands, but never to Arnhem. I might change that this spring; your beautiful story and pics are so inviting.

Say, when are the tulips in full bloom around your area this year? What's your guess? AND I really need some romantic windmills for the wife, or I get in deep doggy doo. Anything like the Zaanse Schans near Arnhem? ;-)

the tulips are probably in full bloom in March
it's supposed to be in Feb but even the crocuses are shying out in this weather
' snowed today and shall be colder later ..

mills and NL culture you ask? Go to Open Lucht Museum then
and many other places nearby :)

Thanks for such a quick answer. End of March it is. I'll let you know, perhaps we can have an impromptu SteemMeetup for a cup of coffee or so. Would be neat.

or earlier
sure ... just keep me posted in the chat
not out in the open
there's going to be a coin fest here in April 1
am just not sure where but there would be that

Will do. Let's play it by ear / weather. It's really about the flowers, any other sightseeing would be a bonus. Just a short, fun trip.

if its just for the flowers head back to Adam - keukenhof
I wanted to recommend Paleis Het Loo but last time I saw the news it was being renovated
OAM has a botanical garden with tropical flowers but not sure where to send you for tulips
although our city center has them in the fountain part not sure they've already emerged though
good luck!

Thanks. I know about Keukenhof, but that greatly depends how well I'll be able to walk that day. The place looks like serious mileage. But never fear, I'll find some fields, as long as I know the things are in bloom :-)

This forest is very well preserved and good, if the forest in my place is generally not well maintained, there are only a few places made specifically for the public, so it can be visited.

it's a park
you didn't read huh :P ~~~

I have read it @englishtchrivy, Forgive me..
Translate error..he..he..

In the day and at night. The city still remains vibrant as well as the parks. I love how the wildlife just blends in with nature!

What a great park! Our parks within the city are just little pockets. But we have a lot of green areas around the outskirts of the central city - the botanical gardens over one side and lots of hills with forest where you can walk over the other side. In the eastern suburbs where we are, we can walk to the beach in 15 mins. Or up into the forest in about 20 mins. No deer or ducks though.

hey nice to see you here!
at least there's a beachhhhhh ^____^!

take us there, too :D

I did this post about a year ago with pics of the beach https://steemit.com/life/@kiwideb/the-first-day-of-the-wellington-summer - you might need to wait a wee while for the pictures to load, though it might just be our slow internet.

it's very beautiful. Your charming story has driven me captivated by the cool and romantic atmosphere, someday I can feel the way you feel right now with your beloved husband, hopefully.

I'm crossing my fingers for you

You live in the same Eden dear friend @ englishtchrivy congratulations, for people who love nature this is paradise on earth,
I live in Corrientes capital a very quiet city despite being the city there is a lot of nature within it, we have beautiful walks, such as the waterfront, beaches and plzas.
Many grace spor share this beautiful images dear friend
I wish you a beautiful week

sounds like Manila @jlufer
thank you for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60898.61
ETH 2626.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61