Looks Like A Duck, Waddles Like A Duck But It Honks Like One Of Those Classic Cars Does, Is It Then A Duck?

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

a15.jpg

Have you ever seen this guy around? When I first saw him on my second year here, I really thought he and his kin were ducks till I heard one of them honk like one of those classic cars. Who knows what this guy is?

0a.jpg

They're not from here and I don't really see them around in summer so I wonder whether they come from winter countries just hanging out here when it's colder where ever they came from. They also don't really come around yearly, my first and other years of living here offered no sight of them.

Am starting to think they're geese cause they sound like one plus they're unusually tall compared to a duck, long legged, I must say.

a1.jpg

a2.jpg

a3.jpg

I stalked the male one gloomy day I was taking my stroll and he just swam away and lil' did I know he just was leading me far away from their dwelling.

I couldn't get much of a clear shot of the guy so I tried to take a pic of the islet in the middle of the mere where he was swimming when all of a sudden a panicking honking significant other of him flew out in the open. The next thing I knew was he just took a flight towards, here, too.

a6.jpg

a7.jpg

I wonder if it's already breeding season for them because these two went on a honking duet the moment he landed. They both spread their wings as if trying to make themselves look huge to probably intimidate me so I kept distance. After all, those beaks look huge and so do they.

a8.jpg

a9.jpg

The moment he landed and spread his wings apart she honked harder I almost wanted to run away thinking the whole neighborhood may think am trying to harm the two of them.

Unfortunately for her, my curiosity let me stand there like frozen watching him and her, wave their long necks while they honk alternately. She looks like she was tattle tattling but of course I can't really understand what the honking is all about, perhaps she was nagging him for not distracting me enough. Who knows ...

a10.jpg

a11.jpg

I just stood there aiming the D Eye on them and he threw me that stern warning look that turned into a frozen warning gaze. I stood there, too as if petrified and finally, they seem to have calmed down, she started grooming herself while he stood there watching me with his sharp staring gaze.

a12.jpg

a13.jpg

a14.jpg

Seemingly more relaxed, they waddled towards me and went grazing. ' course I wasted no time and just shoot, shoot, shoot! My shutter wasn't discreet enough so they swam away still keeping an eye on me.

0.jpg

Huh .. I'd never dare swim in that cold, murky mere water probably full of their shits just to take a clear shot besides I noticed the tip of my fingers starting to tingle so I headed home.

0a1.jpg

0a2.jpg

Still, I wonder... they look like ducks, waddle like ducks, swim like ducks but honk like an old classic car do so will someone please tell me, are they actually geese or ducks? 5% up to the first one who could tell me that and I thank you already.

This content's 100% mine. I took the pics with my D Eye.



Here are my most recent posts: **TIP :
DON'T WASTE YOUR VOTING POWER
on posts that are old and have already been paid out. ONLY Upvote POSTS THAT ARE 6 DAYS OLD below to earn yourself curation rewards.
.



Are you new in Steemit? Kindly read the Complete Steemit Etiquette Guide Revised Edition authored by @thecryptofiend to help us all get along well with each other. Hopefully you do get to read it now since there's nothing else that comes after it except that picture below.



a2b.jpg

Sort:  

Het lijkt wel een nijlgans (Alopochen aegyptiaca), Egyptian goose in het Engels, en dat is inderdaad geen gans, maar een halfgans (onderfamilie Tadorninae). Komt oorspronkelijk uit Afrika, maar doet het goed hier.

are you sure? :D

edit .. jammer iemand was eerst sorry

Of course I'm sure, I'm just trying to be polite in an effort to curtail my arrogance 8-P.

Check de tijd nog eens? Heb je weer gedronken? 8-).

je hebt idd gelijk!
but it's alright eh?
this time my VI is full blast so more effect!

No biggie. Honk honk!

They are egyptian ouettes very aggressive with other species of birds,
especially when they are in reproduction.

I wonder if it's mating time now
the female was in panic when I aimed the D Eye on the islet she and her nest were on
she must be sitting on eggs already?

Thank you for posting @englishtchrivy.

Lovely photographs....and story.

Really enjoy how you are picking up the water and its essence.......ducks/geese/swans are a mesmerising lot are they not.....lovely photographs of these ones.....which bleujay will venture to call them some form of goose....as they do honk so.

Wishing you and yours a lovely weekend...mon ami.

A bientot.

thank you mon ami

it's weird how the water forms some pattern right?
I don't know whether it's the setting that does it but I like it

some ducks honk, too mon ami
but I really thought this one's a goose :D

have a great weekend!

I think they are Nile geese.
(Alopochen aegyptiaca)

They're often with us.

Your story is nice to read and the pictures allow you to imagine everything very well.

yes, they are indeed :)

thank you
so you have it in DE, too?

Yes, they live here with us on the bank of the river where our frog lives ;-)

How come they are having holidays with you?! I thought they only come to the the Middle-rhine-valey for their vacation.
I thought they come from Canada, but that might be a different variety!


source: www.schoolworkhelper.net

I think they're the same kind just looks different :)
btw ... I suggest that you edit your comment and remove the pic

done! But I don't think they are the same variety as yours! We have both types!

it is that I think so too just the pic you showed me is the rare kind
and this one's the common kind
I gave you your 5% up on the comment above this reply instead :)

You mean the duck on the other pic was different?

indeed ducks have such a car horn sound, let alone they speak simultaneously, where each other among the ducks cheering and voicing, it seems they are swans, because if the ducks are not that beautiful, the swans have different characteristics. thanks, I miss the same @bleujay, he has motivated me to be an honest and committed man and work hard.

the explaining is to long. i can't to understand over all

I love to read your story .... Two beautiful swans and look after each other ..

2 ducks who love each other ..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61