DEK Macro Photography: The Cool Monster

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

OK, I will admit that I was startled. I saw a tiny speck on a plant, took the shot and when I enlarged the photo all I could say is "Huh... huh... that's a cool monster. What the heck is it?"

And I still have no idea what it is - it's roughly 5mm in length, looks like a caterpillar, yet it has legs like an insect. Ideas, anyone?

2017060803.jpg
Taken @ 105mm, f/16, 1/400s, ISO 1400. Click if you dare take a closer look!

Btw, love the bokeh and color rendition of this lens, but it seems like I need good lighting equipment for macro photography - this shot was taken in mid day, and I still had to use a high shutter speed (and hence, high ISO) to counteract the movement of the plant, and a small aperture, required to increase the depth of field.

EDIT! Found what this creature is, you'll be amazed :D

This one of the five larval stages of the lady bug. This is an image from Wikipedia, depicting all five stages, pupa, and a young adult:

Lady Bug


Follow more of my work on #dek-photography (filter by "New")!


Check out some of my previous posts:

Sort:  

Really cool larval stages.

I sometimes wonder "what if insects were as big as a bus" and then, suddenly, it's not exactly cool, but rather scary in a run-away-screaming kind of way :)

I can see why you wouldn't think much of it until enlargement, as a ladybug is tiny in itself. Like the updated edition as well. Have a nice day.

It was truly tiny, and the plant kept moving because it was windy - I'm quite happy to have captured this shot! Thanks for the comment :)

Interesting. How would a "fly" benefit from looking like a caterpillar? Maybe that type of caterpillar is poisonous? So it deters predators from eating it? Great photo! :)

Thank you!

I don't think it's a fly - at least I can't see any wings. But its color and "armor" seem to yell "Don't touch me!" I'm actually quite interested in what it is, hopefully someone like @ocrdu has an idea :)

Looks like a ladybug larva to me.

Just posted the edit and read your comment. You are truly and encyclopedia on insects, @ocrdu, thank you! :)

So beautiful macro!

Darn... Now THAT's something I'll never be able to forget when I see a ladybug XS

My feelings exactly! :D

nice photo!

Nice comment of a cool monster! :)

Beautiful "monster" :D tha´s the beautiful of the macro world... These things have always been there and suddenly we start to see them this way

Photographers always search for a different perspective on things - macro photography is, indeed, interesting to many people :)

I'm thinking about buying a macro lens, what do you think, is it worth it?

very nice photo by the way

Thank you!

As @phoblographer said, a macro lens is the best option if you're interested in macro (or micro, which should be the proper term) photography. However, do consider that you will need to invest or otherwise fashion yourself some lighting equipment, as this type of photography requires a lot of light (as I've explained in my post).

I've just acquired a Nikon 105mm f/2.8G Micro lens, which is very good for macro and portraits, but seems to bring mediocre results when used as a telephoto lens (e.g. if you want to shoot bird photography). Follow my posts for more of this lens.

The Tokina 100mm f/2.8 is also a very highly praised lens, but it's manual only - which is not a problem, if you are going to be shooting macro photography, as you will be focusing with your body and not the lens itself (which I almost always keep at closest focus distance).

I've no experience with Sigma lenses, but I hear good things about the latest generation of Tamrons (no idea if there are macro lenses, though). I hope that was helpful, write back if you have more questions!

Hi, I know I'm not the original poster but a dedicated macro lens really is worth it. This is the lens I use:
https://www.sigma-imaging-uk.com/index.php?route=product/product&product_id=115
I thinks it's about $550 dollar at the moment. The Tokina 100mm is also very good, considerably cheaper too. http://www.tokinalens.com/tokina/products/atxpro/atxm100afprod/

You must've watched some of these Angry Photographer videos, right? :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62151.48
ETH 2421.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57