Random Japan #12 :: Buying Tickets

in #photography6 years ago

Always interesting sights in the train station.

hakama.jpg

As I was walking through the train station, taking a shortcut to the other side of the tracks, I spotted this girl buying tickets. She's wearing a hakama, which means she just came from her school graduation. Hakama differ from kimono in that instead of an obi to hold the robe shut they wear a pants-skirt on top. I am told they are very expensive.

Always interesting to people watch at the station. Unfortunately they don't allow cameras here and the station attendants and security officers will chase you down if they spot one (I speak from experience) so one has to be quick.





Do you want to use this photo in one of your projects?
You can! See here for details.

Missed a past Random Japan? I've got you covered!

  1. Dancing Torii
  2. Busy Night
  3. The Store of the Beast
  4. Like a Boss
  5. Swimming Hole Warning
  6. Gotta Be the Hat
  7. The Walls Have Eyes
  8. Star Wars Coffee
  9. The Sake Corner
  10. Study or Play
Sort:  

I love my visit to Japan so much, every thing was interesting! Thankyou for reminding me what a visually wonderful place it is!

regards,
Margot

You're welcome. Thank you for the comment :)

Technically stations are private property in many countries: people forget that!

Good point! The majority of stations in Japan, this one included, are indeed privately owned. ...I often forget that too.

lol good friend excellent experience of life, I really laughed the part where you say that the officers will persecute you if you take the camera, imagine you in career looking to escape

Wow, when I was there last time around (October) - I brought my camera with me and was vlogging the life out of the train stations getting lost trying to catch a train to Niigata lol Guess I was lucky! I had no idea it was inappropriate to film there. Will keep the security in mind next time.

Some stations may be ok with it. I just know I've been in a few where it was frowned on. If it was in that one, you could have either been lucky or you just escaped by virtue of being a foreigner. Japanese are often reluctant to approach foreigners even for security matters due to their embarrassment at bad English and/or uncertainty at how to deal with the language barrier. We often call this "power" to get away with things we shouldn't be allowed to get away with "gaijin smash".

Your article was so good @dbooster (♥)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60115.50
ETH 3192.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45