Random Japan #7 // The Walls Have Eyes

in #photography6 years ago

Or, Faces in the Walls.

OriginalPhoto-542521283.067452.jpg

Unlike in America, in Japan the yard or yards of a house are completely private and are typically surrounded by either a high hedge or a stone wall, or both. If there is a stone wall, often it has occasional holes for design. Vents? Places for the stray cats to run in and out, maybe.

Not always, but more often than not, these holes are placed in patterns that can look like a face when looked at.

Sort:  

I reckon it's a home for spirits to sleep so they guard the grounds and don't disturb the residents. When I was in Japan, someone told me something along those lines!

I've never heard that before, but given all the superstition surrounding the placement of objects around the home and garden, I can easily believe it. Very interesting!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 58216.02
ETH 2614.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45