Ancient Street Photography : Oke - Ona Abeokuta

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

               Dante is here, No Fear

Good day friends this week I made a lot of journeys and I have so much pictures and of course a background story to share with you guys.

I visited the heritage of the Egba people of the Yoruba . A famous place called Olumo Rock. I had a fulfilled adventure there. Stay connected to my blog for I will be posting about this soon. It will be my first official travel blog, oh boy! I am so excited. Are you?

On my way on this tour I could remember chatting with @ameliabartlett . She was curious to know the kind of ancient architectural structures in Africa.

Also, I was motivated to take some of these pictures from several encouragements I get from my comment section.

@motinkergnome said;

Dante, Keep posting about your daily life. I enjoy your writing and photography.

This is more than enough to keep you as a content creator to produce more especially on the steem blockcahin.

The location for the photoshoot is at an area called Oke-Ona. It is the home area of Olumo-rock and also where the first settlers Abeokuta started from before fanning out wide even till the ends of the world.

You will notice some buildings have been destroyed and the roads are un-tarred. This is because the state government wants to make the area more developed and accessible to tourist and also to make the lives of the indigenous people(root core people of Egba) more comfortable. Sometime comfort comes at a cost, in this case some ancient structures had to be destroyed

PHOTO SPREE




Statue of an ancient warrior / headstone
House across the street

20180327_124615.jpg


Ancient house to which shares the same compound as the buried place of the warrior above

I can only assume that the buried hunter is a significant person in that community. When a man is buried in a compound in the Yoruba culture. It signifies that he owns the house/land. It is a way of preserving the memory of such a person. In recent times, some people prefer not to be buried in their home.

So if you visit places like this, you should be ready to see many graves in front of homes.


Ancient Alley

20180327_124729.jpg


Down the Ancient Alley


small wooden stood furniture usually common for sitting
Family Compound view

20180327_124806.jpg


Structure looks British

20180327_124847.jpg

You should have seen the look on peoples faces when I was taken these images. I felt like Rango in the bar asking for some water. I didn't care anyway ... I took some more photos.

Notice the structures looks British. Most are made from bricks and mud(lots of mud). Those brown roofs are just gorgeous

Family compound usually a territory for certain unique families. Any member of the family is always welcomed home at anytime. If you can trace your family compound roots then you can ask any question as regards your ancestors.


20180327_124908.jpg



More Alley Images

20180327_125103(0).jpg

20180327_125153.jpg

PHOTOS OF SOME DEMOLISHED STRUCTURES



20180327_111338(0).jpg

20180327_111340.jpg

20180327_111348.jpg

20180327_111353.jpg

20180327_111400.jpg

From the demolished structures, you will notice that most of the houses were made of mud. Using mud to build houses makes the inside cool when it is very hot on the outside.

House were constructed at very close proximity to each other. The ancient people of the Egba tribe are peaceful people even till this date.

The area which the original settler of the city settled is known as Abeokuta North. Abeokuta has a city is characterized with Abeokuta South and Abeokuta North.

The modern day city is characterized with modern architecture and what you can associate with a capital city of a state (Ogun State, Nigeria)

The Abeokuta North area specifically Oke-Ona are ancient parts of the city which still preserves the cultural heritage of the town.

Fun Fact : Oke means mountain in Yoruba

More fun facts: A word can mean several things in Yoruba language though it has the same spelling but different pronunciation and different meanings.

I hope you enjoyed this photography travel blog. Remember to stay tuned to my adventure to Olumo-Rock.

Stay tuned...

Sort:  

Fantastic post. Clearer pics. This is epic.

thank you, gee

You have automatically catapulted me to my hometown with this photos. I feel like I'm home and believe me or not, I am practically almost in tears. Everything looks so familiar and innate that it's tugging at my soul... Thank you so much for this beautiful photos and lovely interpretations behind them. I am a bonafide Abeokuta and you have made me more prouder with this post... Thank you.... 💓💓❤❤

Home will always be at the heart. Proudly Egba babe you are. Oh yes... egba women are bery beautiful just like you😉

Glad you love the images

Dante is here No fear

Cheers

Waw.. I really enjoyed every bit of your travel blog, felt like i was there with you.

It's good to know the history behind some statues, artifacts in an African home. I think it'll be better if you can know the real reason for the warrior statue.

It might have been placed there because of any reason like:

  • maybe he survived a war
  • was the greatest warrior commander in the history of oke-ona land.
    Or various reasons.

Thanks.
Screenshot_2017-06-28-07-37-54.png

Yes @aauthespian1

However at the time when I took the pictures there was no one I could meet personally to tell me about the statue and also if I had moved closer taking my camera to take the grave it will look very weird and the people be friendly or take it the wrong way because the environment is not one I'm familiar with.

Although on the grave there are some writings on it about who the individual.

Sometimes one has to he cautious with street photography.

For the purpose of this post which is ancient street photography there wouldn't be a need to investigate.

Nonetheless I'm making a more information and research posts next so you can check it out and I'm sure it's be much more interesting.

Cheers

OK no problem

It got to a point I want reading but was there live with you. 😂 😁 😁

That is the idea... to take you along.

Make it seem like you are there...

I hope you found it interesting

@Dante31. Thank you for yet another adventure. I am happy to learn more of your country and people. I am sorry with working on my house the only thing I can talk about at the moment is paint, pickup trucks and tools. :)

It's cool buddy... your comment is gold anytime.

Goodluck on your house.

Cheers

What a nice post with good pictures. Village reminds me of nature. And I guess I've read a couple of stories about these great Egba people of Yoruba.

I'm sure they were happy to be Dantelized by your presence, or how about each villagers becoming Steemians.... Hehehe....

Hahaha,

The area is no longer a village, just characterized by ancient structures.

The brown roads are as a result of infrastructure development. The roads are getting expanded to 6 lanes.

Wish I had images before that zone is currently undergoing these development. The roads were well tarred with street lights. Just like your regular city but most or even all houses are ancient structures.

Down the road are well developed estates. I for one love that area because they preserve those ancient structures. Too bad some had to be demolished to pave way for a wider road network which I am not in support though.

Thanks for dropping by.

Cheers

Nice! Nice! Seeing the architecture of the old African building make me proud of our fathers. It shows that they were brilliant people and not the "cave man" the world suppose them to be. This is our heritage. This is our culture. This is our tradition. This is our origin. And this is who we are.
Nice adventure boss!

More fun facts: A word can mean several things in Yoruba language though it has the same spelling but different pronunciation and different meanings.

Lol... It's difficult teaching my friend the language. She keeps saying the same thing differently but they all mean different things.

Thank you very much fam ... the history of the Egba people is ridulouly insane. It will marvel you.

Let me drop an extract from wikipedia here

The Egba United Government (EUG) was a political entity in the late 19th century in what is today Nigeria. The Government was formally established by the Lagos Colony Governor - Mccallum at a meeting organised in 1898, by William Alfred Allen an Egba man who was the Colonial Government Agent in Abeokuta. William Alfred Allen was appointed the First Secretary to the Government by the Colonial government while the Egba rulers were given government portfolios.

The EUG was recognized by the British at the end of the Yoruba Civil Wars in 1893, thus making it one of Africa's legally existing nation-states (at least according to modern international law) to survive the scramble. Its independence did not last for long, however, as the nature of the government, which placed constraints on the power of the king, was antithetical to Frederick Lugard's vision of "indirect rule": he therefore had it dissolved under the pretext of the king and his chiefs "inviting" the British monarch to serve as their protector in the aftermath of a period of internal civil strife in the early part of the 20th century.

That said.. our fore fathers were smart and highly organised.

I am proud to be associated with the Egba.

Thanks for dropping by buddy

Beautiful photos..

Thank you so much for sharing. It feels like I time travelled to Olumo Rock, just looking at the pictures tells me that there are wonderful history and culture that I wish they were able to preserve for the next generations to see that is why it's sad to know that some ancient structures has to be destroyed. I'm excited to see your next article and this actually inspires me to write about my travels.

I appreciate you for commenting. This means a lot to me.

I will post about olumo rock itself soon. This blog is about the surrounding ancient structures around Olumo rock.

I long to see your travel post as well. I followed you.

Good luck on your travels.

Cheers

Very cool pictures, thanks for sharing. Haven't had a chance to travel to Nigeria yet, so it's nice to hop on here and get some visuals...the old Brit colonial construction is fascinating to see.

Still searching for someone who posts on the best of Nollywood...have any suggestions Dante?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 62719.50
ETH 2525.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70