A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume XVIII

in #photography7 years ago

The Coastal Waterway, Part IV


My wife and I made our way to the lookout after visiting the water's edge. It was mid-afternoon at this point and there was still not a cloud in the sky. The cool and crisp late-winter day had warmed ever so slightly and we were ready for some shade and above-sea-level views.

This is the conclusion of our coastal waterway journey.

After retracing our steps back up the dock and boardwalk, we moved south towards the lookout. We were greeted by little white flowers on some kind of bushes. (I do not know all of the flora around here. Sorry.)


IMG_3564_1.jpg


IMG_3565_1.jpg


I did a little more "barking." That's what I will call my shots of tree bark from now on. (Bookmark this for reference, if you please.)


IMG_3584_1.jpg


Just a few more steps...or...planks on the ramp? A few more footsteps, but not steps like a staircase. There were no staircases. This is nature!


IMG_3580_1.jpg


We arrived! And this was our view, looking to the northeast, east, and southeast.

The first two images here are views of where we had just been.


IMG_3568_1.jpg


IMG_3575_1.jpg


IMG_3569_1.jpg


IMG_3571_1.jpg


There was a wall on the right of the lookout blocking the view to the south. I had to stretch out around it to get this shot. It's a little washed out from the bright sunlight, but I managed to salvage it...mostly.


IMG_3579_1.jpg


I saw this and said, "nice post." I tried to upvote it, but there are no upvotes in nature, unfortunately.


IMG_3572_1.jpg


Just passing back through...


IMG_3583_1.jpg


Our journey was winding down and we headed back to the car. This is where our day on the trail began, crossing that very bridge.


IMG_3588_1.jpg


I tried one more time to get under a little bit of shade.

Didn't work.


IMG_3590_1.jpg


I think these colors complement each other well. Do you agree?


IMG_3591_1.jpg


And here it is...the moment you've all been waiting for!

It's a selfie of me!


IMG_3594_1.jpg


I think I did that right. Is that how the kids are doing selfies these days?



That wraps up my A Walk in the Park series for now. With summer starting up, I will probably start a beach series...if I can ever get out there. My walks in the park will probably resume in the fall when the weather is cooler again and not as rainy. I do have a few trips planned this summer, so I might have a couple of summer walk collections.

And even more exciting news: It was time for an upgrade from my Canon Rebel Xti (which I rarely use), so I have a new camera being shipped to me as I type this! Now my picture quality will hopefully improve dramatically! I can't wait to try it out and show off my new photos! I should have it by Monday.

Thanks for reading and viewing!

All images taken with my iPhone 6S


In case you missed it:

The Coastal Waterway, Part I
The Coastal Waterway, Part II
The Coastal Waterway, Part III


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

I was going to ask you who took the photos, but the last one with your selfie gave me the answer! You had a nice time in a such a great place.

I guess that's true. And if you voted for this post, then you also upvoted the leaves!

I guess I did.

did you go fishing too?

Nope. This wasn't a fishing trip. I do need to go on one though. It's been a while.

I tried to upvote it, but there are no upvotes in nature, unfortunately.

I would say nature needs a HF badly.

I agree. Hard fork. That's always the best solution for any problem!

I really enjoy the time I can spend going on a walk and not worry about work or responcibilities. When we don't take time away from the grind it is easy to lose focus of what really mattes.

A bow if not released from constant tension will lose its spring we would do good to do the same.
Best,
Isaac

Nature photography is one of my favorite things :) Except I always end up with hundreds of photos of the flowers :D What an interesting place to walk through. Thanks for sharing your lovely photos!

nice photos, they really have some nice boardwalks there! Congrats on the new camera....UPGRADE!

Great post, it made me feel like I was on a leisurely walk. The way you wrote it wasn't the usual educative post, but rather a conversation between friends out walking.
Nice shots too.

Simplicity is the secret of greatness in these images. Is it really that simplicity that goes in your mind when taking these pictures? I'm just wondering !😁

I'm not sure if there is anything in my mind. I just point and shoot, then see how it looks. If I don't like it, I shoot again. I usually end up with a lot of pictures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51