A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume XV

in #photography7 years ago

The Coastal Waterway, Part I


I'm back with another series of photos taken during a walk in the park in late February. These were taken adjacent to one of the inland waterways near the Atlantic coast of the southeastern United States. It was a cool and sunny, late winter day. The sun was shining bright, there was a light breeze, and plenty of locals were out with their friends, family, and pets.

Here is what my wife and I saw during our walk...

As we approached the start of the trail, this was the view.


IMG_3476-1.jpg


Now we were on the trail and heading north. This was the view looking east.


IMG_3478-1.jpg


IMG_3479-1.jpg


IMG_3481-1.jpg


IMG_3482-1.jpg


On the path, there were painted footprints of various local animals, such as raccoons, armadillos, alligators...and even snakes!


IMG_3483-1.jpg


Look up!

It's a tree.


IMG_3485-1.jpg


The canopy was pretty thin.


IMG_3486-1.jpg


Bark!

No...I'm not trying to act like a dog. It's tree bark, silly. From a pine tree.


IMG_3487-1.jpg


The sun was blazing.


IMG_3488-1.jpg


We walked a super-long plank, heading east...


IMG_3489-1.jpg


IMG_3492-1.jpg


IMG_3494-1.jpg


A view to the north...


IMG_3496-1.jpg


IMG_3497-1.jpg


The boardwalk continued, but where will it take us?


IMG_3498-1.jpg


Come back for the second part of the series to find out what happens next!

Disclaimer: I'm not sure how exciting it will be to see the photos, but they're at least nice to look at, right?

All photos taken with my iPhone 6s


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

Those are amazing. Camera phone's sure have come a long way. I live in the south eastern part of the states. Very pretty country. Awesome photos! Happy steeming.

I am gonna take a wild guess.....Florida?

Great pics! I know I've been to that park before just can't think of the name. Is that Weedon Island Preserve? I know it's at least in Florida, right?

Nope. Not Weedon Island Preserve. (Never heard of that one. I'll have to look it up.)

I know I've seen those paths with the prints before, just can't remember where

I think you'll like this other location too @ats-david, it's a scenic Florida hike as well! Could use an upvote from someone like you if you see fit. Adventures in Florida #1: Culpepper Bend on the Econlockhatchee River

Yes. By an alligator and a bear. We died.

So sad to hear. Glad you were resurrected!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43