A Walk in the Park: Photographic Short Stories, Volume XVII

in #photography7 years ago

The Coastal Waterway, Part III


After fighting our way through the swampy forest areas of the park (but actually walking down a rather fine boardwalk throughout), my wife and I headed for the dock. We made our way to the water's edge and had a look around. The day was still somewhat cool, but the brightness and clear skies remained.

More of the same wooden planks, but will our destination be different this time? I think it just might be...


IMG_3563_1.jpg


A view to the left...


IMG_3538_1.jpg


IMG_3543_1.jpg


And to the right...


IMG_3540_1.jpg


IMG_3544_1.jpg


Little streams were running out of the marsh at low tide.


IMG_3546_1.jpg


IMG_3547_1.jpg


It's like it's own little world.


IMG_3557_1.jpg


There wasn't much water out here. I wonder where it went?


IMG_3548_1.jpg


Found it!


IMG_3549_1.jpg


You can see the exposed oyster beds. These weren't very large ones, but they're usually a good place to find some redfish feeding on them when the tide is in. That's where you can typically catch a nice fish dinner! (If you're into that sort of thing.)


IMG_3550_1.jpg


IMG_3551_1.jpg


These were stuck to the dock...waiting for their close-up!


IMG_3553_1.jpg


If you look closely at the horizon, you can see our final destination in the distance. (OK...so maybe it's not that far off. But we'll get to it next time!)


IMG_3560_1.jpg



Don't miss the not-so-dramatic conclusion to The Coastal Waterway experience! There will be ramps, flowers, and maybe even a selfie!

All images taken with my iPhone 6S.


In case you missed it:

The Coastal Waterway, Part I
The Coastal Waterway, Part II


ats_content_slayer8f72e.jpg

Image courtesy of @mynameisbrian


Follow me: @ats-david

Sort:  

@ats-david, This is really a special place with purely natural landscape, look happy and relaxed. thank you for sharing ..

A very charming story. I felt like I was tagging along with you two. Now I'm in the mood for a nature walk myself!

Great! Then my evil plan has worked! Make sure you take pictures and share them with us if you go!

This is in the southeastern U.S.

Okay great :)

Great pics! Looks like Florida. Where was this shot? Oysters suggest aalt water or brakish water.

That's a pretty solid guess. It is a salty waterway.

Thanks. It was a great day! Now it's a little too hot for walks in the park, so I might switch over to my days at the beach. Coming soon to a Steem interface near you!

What part of the icw. I love how people always ask what camera you use. Georgia or Carolinas? Could be Florida, but not likely to me.

I love how people always ask what camera you use.

Yeah. I should start adding that to my post or something.

Could be Florida...

Yes, it could be!


It is.

It actually says in your signature that all images are taken with an iPhone 6s... Alanis Morissette should add that as a verse to Ironic.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64814.42
ETH 3450.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52