The dunes of Sossusvlei: Travel Photography #8

in #photography6 years ago

Dune 45 with shadow

Because Sossusvlei is not accessible during night time, I camped in Sesriem. One hour before sunrise, the gates to Sossusvlei opened and everybody drove off. From Sesriem, it is about an hour drive to Sossusvlei, but most people were speeding like crazy. After 45 kilometer, I arrived at the first massive dune: Dune 45. While still dark, I climbed to the top, where I arrived just before sunrise and enjoyed the beautiful sunrise. I watched the shadows sweep across the land as the sun slowly rose above the horizon. While everybody remained at the top of Dune 45, I quickly ran down to capture the hard shadows created by the low sun.

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

So awesome. Resteemed!

Where is this beauty located? The photo is amazing in black and white! Wow!

Resteemed

Thanks. It is Dune 45, near Sossusvlei in the Namib-Naukluft National Park, Namibia.

Love sand dune shots. Have to spend some more time in the desert after a few years in Canada

Yes, they are very photogenic. I would also love to get back to proper sand dunes.

Thanks! Great to hear it is one of your favorites. I will be posting more photos of Namibia (and Botswana) in the future, hope that you will find these enjoyable as well!

I'm sure I will! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58679.35
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44