Dining at one of the top 10 gourmet restaurants in the world - 世界十大餐厅之一 (by @ace108)

in #photography8 years ago (edited)

There is a skill needed to eating dumplings (xiao long bao) but first let me bring you to the restaurant.

吃小笼包是需要点功夫。 首先让我带大家去间餐厅。


20160919_16435320383.jpg


流着华人的血跟超人一党人吃了午餐庆生日还好像缺少了一点什么。
不明何为超人一党人?请看我前一帖: 与超人一党人吃午餐庆生日
太太提醒生日要吃面。代表长寿的意思。所以,在先得坊走走找晚餐时,决定去鼎泰丰来个两全其美。 (1) 菜肉混沌面 (2)小笼包

Being a person of Chinese origin, after celebrating my birthday with the super heroes, I still seem to be missing something. Don't know what super heroes I'm talking about? You hava to read my previous post: Birthday lunch with Super Heroes
My wife reminded I have to eat noodles on my birthday. The long strand of noodles symbolizs longevity. So, when looking around for early dinner at Centrepoint dinner, we decided to go to Din Tai Fung for 2 reasons: noodles and dumplings

纽约时报已认鼎泰丰为世界十大餐厅之一。在新加坡也开了很多家。周末午餐和晚餐可说大多都是客似云来。在先得坊这家应该开了没多久。那天星期一平日又比较早到那里没很多人。他们的餐厅门口都能看见个厨房。
The New York Times listed Din Tai Fung as one of the world's top ten restaurant. They have many outlets in Singapore. It can be challenging getting a table for lunch and dinner times on weekends. At Centrepoint, this outlet seem to have opened recently. I cannot even find it on google maps. On Monday, there were relatively fewer people. Outside Din Tai Fung, you can see the kitchen beside the entrance - looks like that's the signatory setup.
20160919_17182470ee7.jpg


20160919_1717210d6cf.jpg


先来一壶胎菊茶。

First, a pot chrysanthemum tea.

晚上没打算熬夜。不含咖啡因的菊花茶是对的选择。
No plan to work late at night. So, chrysanthemum tea being naturally caffeine free is a good choice.
20160919_164315c8317.jpg


第一任务 - Misson one

一碗面:菜肉馄饨面。汤有味道。不会太咸。
A bowl of noodles: dumpling noodles. Soup is tasty and not too salty.
20160919_163549dd562.jpg


20160919_16355804536.jpg


(html comment removed: wanton eat) 请你吃个馄饨。
Here, eat this dumpling.
20160919_1637065098f.jpg



第二任务 - Mission two

小笼包。印象中每次到鼎泰丰都一定点一笼。
Dumplings. My impression is I always order a serving of dumpling at Din Tai Fung.
20160919_164343d4840.jpg


There is a skill needed to eating dumpling (xiao long bao).

吃小笼包是需要点功夫。

(1) You pick one up using chopsticks and put it in the spoon without breaking the skin. Otherwise, you lose the tasty soup. If you practice taiji (taichi) like I do, you'll have no problem.
(1) 用筷子拿起一个。过程中别把皮弄破。要不然就失去了美味的汤汁。有练太极拳的朋友应该跟我一样没问题。
20160919_1645523be6f.jpg


20160919_1644505fe65.jpg


(2) Next you put some sliced ginger with black vinegar on the dumpling. Lastly, you put it in your mouth and enjoy.
(2) 接下来放上姜丝与黑醋。最后,放进嘴里慢慢享用。
20160919_164755f1c2a.jpg



提示:直到2016年12月31日,大华银行信用卡有一个优惠。 平日下午3点到5点在鼎泰丰吃面有85折。详情请查看这里。
http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/promotions/cards/promo_cards_dtf.html Tip: Until 31st December, 2016, UOB Credit Card has a promotion. 15% off Selected Noodles on weekdays, 3–5pm. See details here.
http://www.uob.com.sg/personal/promotions/cards/promo_cards_dtf.html Note: All photos were taken by me using a mobile phone.
注:所有照片都是小弟我用手机拍的。

If you enjoy this post, please vote and share any feedback you may have.
Thank you for reading.
Have a nice day.
如果你喜欢这帖,请送个“赞”。请分享任何意见。
谢谢观看。
祝你今天愉快。

#photography #food #singapore #cn #minnowsunite

Here are my recent post:
这是我最近的帖:


Please see my other posts: ace108
请看我其他帖: @ace108

FollowACE108-1cdc5f.gif


Sort:  

I have to proudly add that Din Tai Fung is a Taiwan based restaurant. To share a secret with you: their fried rice is really top notch! Also, Re-blogged!!

Thanks for the comments. I should have mentioned that too. I had their fried rice before. Photo was somewhere but I saw the fried rice at @knozaki2015 post.

Cool re bloged you :)

Thank you

look at the comments of the other people in this post who had tried. that's evidence that it's yummy. :-)

Please tell me difference between dumplings as you describe and dim sum. I grew up in San Francisco and sometimes had fantastic food in Chinatown when I was young. Now I live in Portland OR and know of zero good places for Chinese food. Maybe someone can clue me?

I had a trip to Portland before when I was staying in Kansas City to 2+ years. I think you may want to drive to Vancouver (stopover at Seattle for coffee:-). They have quite the real deal here. Chinese food have different food translated to dumplings in English but generically calling something doesn't tell me what it really is. we have rice dumplings too. Some dumplings are subset of dim sum while others are outside the dim sum family but nowadays the line is less clear. Have a look at wiki: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dim_sum
They have quite a good detail write up.
Being busybody I googled on: dim sum portland oregon
Seems you may be able to get something decent without travelling up north. :-)

why not just pick it with a spoon? :)

good article!

The risk is the spoon will break it from the bottom which is softer than the top because of the way the skin joins at the top.

Thank you.

I am not of Chinese origin, but I loved what excellent public.

Din Tai Fung is all over the world, isnt it? I've tried the ones in Singapore, in Bangkok, in Hongkong, all are good. But I like their signature Xiao long bao the most, imagine the great soup inside when you take the first bite, yummy ;)

Yes. I do their quality is quite well controlled. :-)

My wife and I first visited Din Tai Fung in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia as we saw it on a list of the best places to eat in the city. The branch there is Michelin-starred and you can comfortably fill up on delicious Xiao Long Bao for around £6!

After that, we were hooked, and thankfully almost every major city we visited after that in Asia had a branch too: Singapore, Hong Kong, ...

That's why xiao long bao is usually first item to be checked off. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60934.92
ETH 3379.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48