The fairy's waterfall!

in #photogames6 years ago

Photogames challenged us to show our best pictures of moving water and this is my favorite one!

_MG_8026.jpg

It is from a place called Fonisa or Neraida Waterfalls. I found it hidden in the west part of the island of Kythira, in Greece. When I stopped for a cup of coffee to the village of Milopotamos I had no idea that I was so close to this fairytale scenery.

_MG_8017.jpg

The name of the village triggered the first question to the owner of the coffee shop. Milopotamos is composite from the Greek words for mill and river. So I found out that it is named after the many watermills of the area that were used to grind the wheat.

_MG_8035.jpg

I also found out about the Venetian settlement of Kato Chora that lies deserted at the end of the village, the Cave of Agia Sofia, a magnificent cave that is open to the public from 1 July to 31 August (I was there in June but even thought the view from the entrance is breathtaking!) and eventually about the waterfalls.

_MG_8064.jpg

According to a local myth a woman killed another woman at this very spot so the place took the name Fonissa which in Greek means female killer, although I prefer the second name Neraida that means fairy and fits better to what I saw.

_MG_8030.jpg

I took a few shots of the water running from the waterfall into a three meters deep small lake with chilled water. The tall plane trees offer their shadow and along with the thriving vegetation of the surrounding reflect this amazing green colour into the water!
It is a scenery absolutely rare in Greece, a place of extreme and exotic beauty that won a place in my heart as a really precious memory!

Thank you for reading!

All the pictures were taken by me with my Canon EOS 40D with two Sigma lenses (18-50mm f/2.8 and 10-20mm f/3.5).

Commenting, upvoting and resteeming are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Thank you for your contribution to the "pc-nature" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

Woah, what an amazing picture.. Love the dense colors... The place looks so damn gorgeous..
What's more intresing is the story behind it's name, but why did they gave them the fairy 'fonisa' name when it's already given a killer name

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @itravelarts, I am glad you liked it :)
I don't know how it come up with two so different names but the truth is that both reflect a side of the some thing!

Beautiful pictures, I'd love to take the family to Greece one day.

Thank you for stopping by!
If you do come to Greece, let me know. Maybe I can help with some tips as a local :)

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Thank you for your support, it is always more than welcome :)

Stunning pictures, the first and last one are really amazing the way they captured the flowing water.

Thank you @biglipsmama, I am so glad that you liked it!
I was lucky to find such an amazing place and to have my tripod with me :)

That last photograph is absolutely magical <3 @philippekiene let's add Greece to our must-visit list <3

Thank you @mumma-monza for your supportive words, I am really glad that you liked it!
As I said to @philippekiene let me know if I can help to plan a trip to Greece. I am thinking of a visit to the part of the world you are living, though :)

NO problem, if you get to Siem Reap, Cambodia hit us up and we will shout a few rounds out our bar Picass Bar, Siem Reap <3 We would love to connect with a fellow Steamian in the "real world".

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
SteemFest³ - SteemitBoard support the Travel Reimbursement Fund.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

@fotostef how lucky you are, beautiful spot, amazing, I love it, congratulations

Thank you for your support @ladyfont!

Wow beautiful photography

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thanks, glad you liked it!

Looks like a beautiful waterfall to stop at and relax for a while. I would love to sail around Greece.

That is something worth trying!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99